![]() |
Team A is assessed a technical foul to start a high school basketball game. A non-starter is chosen to shoot the free-throws. The question now is when the ball is administered to team B for a throw-in following the free-throws, can the five original starters actually start the game?
|
Once you shoot the T, haven't you officially started the game?
|
I don't have my rulebook right here, but I believe the answer to your question is no. A6 replaces A1 in order to shoot the FTs for the technical foul. In order for A1 to re-enter the game, he/she must wait for the first opportunity to substitute after the clock has properly started. Since the clock doesn't run between the technical FTs and the awarded throw-in, I think A1 can't return.
Chuck |
Quote:
However, note that A6 may be replaced by A7 before the ball is inbounded on the throw-in, since the substitution restriction only applies to re-entry and thus only affects A1. |
Quote:
Chuck |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37pm. |