
Wed Mar 09, 2011, 08:39pm
|
Aleve Titles to Others
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef
Clearly, the rule as written (with the further clarification of the cases) does not permit a penalty in your case. I will submit to you that I would be fine with a modification of the rule, here. I have seen cases such as the one you describe, BUT since as you also noted the items necessary for the technical or basket inference are not present, the "disadvantage" to the offense cannot be penalized. The defender did NOT intentionally hit the backboard -- it was a byproduct of attempting to block the shot. The defender was not venting frustration. The defender did not get close to the basket/ring. Therefore, none of the illegalities are present. BUT, the offense did lose a basket.
|
Maybe, and maybe not. There is no way for sure to tell that a ball was going to go through the basket until it does.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
|