Quote:
Originally Posted by rsl
What if ... a defensive player goes for a block and instead strikes the backboard, the shot does not go in, and (in the referee's opinion) the inadvertent slap to the backboard moved the basket enough to cause the try to be unsuccessful.
I still have a no call here, but some colleagues think that either a T or a basket interference is in order. Basket interference requires contact with the ball, ring or net, and I think a T requires some intent to gain an advantage, as in the comment below.
What do you say?
|
I say that "some colleagues" don't know the proper application of the rule. I also think that you shouldn't really worry about your idea of "intent to gain an advantage" and just use the intent outlined by the rulesmakers. Their intent is that we have to judge whether a player is really trying to block a shot or not. If so...no "T". If not..."T:. Don't make it any harder than it needs to be.
JMO