![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
From the 2001-2002 NFHS Case Book 6.3.1 SITUATION C Following the jump between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter, the jump ball: (a) is touched by A2 and it then goes out of bounds; or (b) is touched simultaneously by A2 and B2 and it then goes out of bounds; or (c) is simultaneously controlled by A2 and B2; or (d) is caught by A1. Ruling: In (a), Team B will have a throw-in. The alternating-possession procedure is established and the arrow is set toward A's basket when a player of Team B has the ball for the throw-in. Team A will have the first opportunity to throw-in when the procedure is used. In (b) and (c), A2 and B2 will jump in the center restraining circle regardless of where the ball went out or where the held ball occurred. In (d), Team B will have a throw-in because of the violation and also the arrow for the first alternating-possession throw-in as A1 had control when he/she caught the ball. (4-28-1) The rule states that when the ball is touched on the court, the clock starts. It does not say that it starts when the ball is legally touched. That's why I drew the comparison to the kicking violation. Now, if you can provide a rule reference that disproves this, please do. I can't find anything that does.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
Bookmarks |
|
|