The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Delay After Halftime (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6376-delay-after-halftime.html)

mj Mon Nov 25, 2002 08:16pm

Watching a game this weekend where this happened. Team A is not out on the court when the halftime horn sounds. The possession arrow is Team A.

Should the ball have been put down and the throw-in count start for Team A? If so, then Team B gets the next throw-in? Then it's a technical foul on Team A for delay? Correct?

BTW, the official in this game waited for Team A to come onto the court. I believe he told Team B's coach that he waited because no one properly notified them at 3 minutes.

Thanks,
MJ

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 25, 2002 08:25pm

You're correct on everything,MJ.That includes the referee not using the "resuming play" procedure because the timer never warned him more than 3 minutes before the half ended,like he was supposed to.

ChuckElias Mon Nov 25, 2002 09:13pm

Even if the team had been informed at the 3 minute mark, the resuming play procedure would not be used. It is a team technical to consume more than one minute due to not being ready to start either half. (10-1-5a)

Chuck

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 25, 2002 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Even if the team had been informed at the 3 minute mark, the resuming play procedure would not be used. It is a team technical to consume more than one minute due to not being ready to start either half. (10-1-5a)

Chuck

Correctamundo!You don't use the "resuming play" procedure if either team is not on the court.If they're both there,you do use it(R7-5-1).
What would you do in this sitch,Chuck,if the timer hadn't given you the 3-minute warning to pass along to A?

ChuckElias Mon Nov 25, 2002 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
What would you do in this sitch,Chuck,if the timer hadn't given you the 3-minute warning to pass along to A?
Absolutely nothing. I would wait at the table with my partner(s) until A came out. Blame it on game management. But I'm not throwing T's around unless it's an OBVIOUS disregard for resuming the game.

Chuck

mick Mon Nov 25, 2002 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Even if the team had been informed at the 3 minute mark, the resuming play procedure would not be used. It is a team technical to consume more than one minute due to not being ready to start either half. (10-1-5a)

Chuck

Correctamundo!You don't use the "resuming play" procedure if either team is not on the court.If they're both there,you do use it(R7-5-1).
What would you do in this sitch,Chuck,if the timer hadn't given you the 3-minute warning to pass along to A?

JR,
If the team was not notified and they wanted some warm up time, I'd give it to them. :cool:
mick

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 25, 2002 10:18pm

Somehow I thought that both you guys would say that.;)

-corrected after I saw mick's post!:D

Johnny Ringo Sun Feb 28, 2010 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj (Post 60865)
Watching a game this weekend where this happened. Team A is not out on the court when the halftime horn sounds. The possession arrow is Team A.

Should the ball have been put down and the throw-in count start for Team A? If so, then Team B gets the next throw-in? Then it's a technical foul on Team A for delay? Correct?

BTW, the official in this game waited for Team A to come onto the court. I believe he told Team B's coach that he waited because no one properly notified them at 3 minutes.

Thanks,
MJ

What if it was Team B ball?

APG Sun Feb 28, 2010 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 665439)
What if it was Team B ball?

Seven years ago...had to do a double take seeing a chuck post haha :eek:

BillyMac Sun Feb 28, 2010 09:42pm

It's Like His Spring Training ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckElias (Post 60871)
Absolutely nothing. I would wait at the table with my partner(s) until A came out. Blame it on game management. But I'm not throwing T's around unless it's an OBVIOUS disregard for resuming the game.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 665452)
Had to do a double take seeing a chuck post.

He's just warming up for his annual off topic baseball thread. Making sure he remembers how to use various tools on the Forum correctly.

Lets check out the image tool:

http://thm-a01.yimg.com/nimage/b20d50464b83c72c

Yeah. It works fine.

Adam Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 665439)
What if it was Team B ball?

You could have started a new thread. :)

Doesn't matter, assuming the team was notified, and assuming they still don't get onto the court within a minute of the clock expiring, it's a T on that team. Shoot the shots, and the ball to the shooting team; the arrow will not switch regardless of who gets the throw in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1