The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Spot throw-in violation in playoff game. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/63452-spot-throw-violation-playoff-game.html)

BillyMac Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:34pm

Designated Spot Throw In Violation ...
 
Right foot started to the far right of the "N" and the same foot ended up halfway to the "S". Certainly more than three feet, not by much, but definitely more than three feet.

26 Year Gap Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 734747)
Right foot started to the far right of the "N" and the same foot ended up halfway to the "S". Certainly more than three feet from the original position of the right foot, not by much, but definitely more than three feet.

The inbounder cracked under pressure. Plain and simple.

Mark Padgett Sun Feb 27, 2011 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 734740)
They had a FC throw-in. Spot.

You are correct. You can see they are inbounding near their own bench so they must be in their frontcourt. They must have been granted the timeout not immediately after the basket, but after they inbounded and moved the ball into their frontcourt. Of course, not only did the announcer quote a rule incorrectly, but the rule he was quoting was irrelevant anyway. So what's new?

Freddy Sun Feb 27, 2011 03:54pm

Gotta Do It
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 734760)
You are correct. You can see they are inbounding near their own bench so they must be in their frontcourt. They must have been granted the timeout not immediately after the basket, but after they inbounded and moved the ball into their frontcourt. Of course, not only did the announcer quote a rule incorrectly, but the rule he was quoting was irrelevant anyway. So what's new?

Accurate call that had to be made, both in spite of and regardless the circumstances. No brainer.
Two weeks ago in an intense girls' v matchup a girl for the visitors' team, to avoid a defender, chose to run out of bounds to try to break free for the AP throwin to begin the third quarter. I banged it. They lost the throwin and also the arrow. Ended up losing by one. A good friend and veteran official who also happened to have been a twenty-plus year retired head coach for that same team asked me about it this week, commenting, "Well, I guess if that was your interpretation..." Interpretation?????? It happened, and, by rule, the proper call was made accordingly.
The official in the situation above noted a vioilation that happened, and made the proper call accordingly. Good job, in spite of and regardless the unfortunate outcome for the violating team.
It wasn't his fault it happened to have such a major impact at the end of the game. I bet he'd have called it the same had it occurred in the first quarter of the game.

ref2coach Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 734742)
I know very little about soccer rules, and have always questioned this. How far away from the place where the ball went out of bounds are they legally allowed to move?

FIFA Laws of the game: 1 meter, any direction, from the point the ball exits the field of play.

The Violation of the TI provisions are usually considered "trifling" unless play is in the attacking third of the field and the thrower in capable of delivering the ball into a dangerous attacking position.

cmhjordan23 Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:12am

In soccer, at least in Wisconsin me personally if a player happens to creep further up or runs more than 5 yards I will blow my whistle to back him up or re-throw.

ref2coach Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 (Post 734907)
In soccer, at least in Wisconsin me personally if a player happens to creep further up or runs more than 5 yards I will blow my whistle to back him up or re-throw.

If you draw attention to it you should then enforce the penalty the laws or rules call for. Attempting a TI from an illegal position is to be punished with loss of the throw-in.

Eastshire Mon Feb 28, 2011 06:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach (Post 734911)
If you draw attention to it you should then enforce the penalty the laws or rules call for. Attempting a TI from an illegal position is to be punished with loss of the throw-in.

When did this become the soccer board? :D Law 15 requires the throw be taken from the point where it left the field. There is actually no allowance in the law for any variance let alone a full meter (and if there was an allowance it would be a yard not a meter as the measurements are all imperial with metric conversions). Also the thrower has not violated the law until he has come to the "moment of delivering the ball." Until then, the referee can, and should, correct the thrower's position if the referee is unhappy with the position.

Regardless, soccer has a large allowance for trifling violations provided the offender is not gaining an advantage. Generally, no advantage is gained for an improper spot on a throw-in unless in the attacking third.

26 Year Gap Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 734951)
When did this become the soccer board? :D Law 15 requires the throw be taken from the point where it left the field. There is actually no allowance in the law for any variance let alone a full meter (and if there was an allowance it would be a yard not a meter as the measurements are all imperial with metric conversions). Also the thrower has not violated the law until he has come to the "moment of delivering the ball." Until then, the referee can, and should, correct the thrower's position if the referee is unhappy with the position.

Regardless, soccer has a large allowance for trifling violations provided the offender is not gaining an advantage. Generally, no advantage is gained for an improper spot on a throw-in unless in the attacking third.

Unless you are Rory Delap.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1