The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 22, 2002, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by just another ref
I agree with everything you say. It's like this rule was written just for the purpose of allowing this move. It's like there's no way this could all be legal but the crowd will like it, so let it go. 4-12-3 states that team control continues until: a. a try or tap b. an opponent secures control c. the ball becomes dead None of those things happened here, so why would team control have ended?
Not a pass, not a dribble, not a try, not a violation...I'm getting a headache.
I see it as being just like the pass from behind the arc that goes in...3 points. It is now a 3 just in case it really was a shot. The official doesn't have to judge it and no long can judge it any thing but a 3. The ball off the backboard, is probably the same type of rule. If it hit the board, it must have been a shot attempt, so treat it like one, even if it is not really an attempt.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1