The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Iron City, TN
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to reffish
Rich,

The call was made in the BC. So, the shot clock has not bearing on BC CG calls, just that they shouldn't be made in the BC for a men's game.

tref, getting it right is good, but calling the wrong violation, can we "correct it" and keep going or is the correct call stick with call or go inadvertent whistle and arrow? We "corrected the call" and gave it back to original team.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by reffish View Post
Rich,

The call was made in the BC. So, the shot clock has not bearing on BC CG calls, just that they shouldn't be made in the BC for a men's game.

tref, getting it right is good, but calling the wrong violation, can we "correct it" and keep going or is the correct call stick with call or go inadvertent whistle and arrow? We "corrected the call" and gave it back to original team.
The calling official can correct this, as long as it's done quickly. This is a rule mistake, not a judgment error. I wouldn't go to him and ask, "are you sure you got to 5?" But you can certainly go and make sure he's applying the correct rules.

Similar to the erroneous BC dilemma.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:49pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by reffish View Post
Rich,

The call was made in the BC. So, the shot clock has not bearing on BC CG calls, just that they shouldn't be made in the BC for a men's game.

tref, getting it right is good, but calling the wrong violation, can we "correct it" and keep going or is the correct call stick with call or go inadvertent whistle and arrow? We "corrected the call" and gave it back to original team.
Fine, but read your post again. The first situation it wasn't clear you were talking about the backcourt and you threw in the non-sequitur of playing with a shot clock (in NFHS and NCAAM rules the presence or absence of a shot clock is irrelevant -- there's no CG count in the backcourt either way).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2011, 06:55pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Perhaps your partner does some NCAA-W games? Doesn't NCAA-W have no backcourt count but allows for a closely guarded count in the backcourt (if holding and the defender is within three feet)?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1