The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
My two cents

By rule, there is nothing wrong with the original play. The rules allow it. If anyone calls this a violation, they are making up their own rules. By definition the ball bouncing off your own backboard is a rebound - even if you deem the carom not a try. The player may begin a new dribble at that point. It is not a pass to self because it hit the player's backboard. Again, those who would call a violation are making up their own rules.

I see this differently than not calling a 3, 5, or 10 second violation. There the ref is choosing not to enforce an existing rule. But to call a violation on a legal play is making up a rule that just isn't there.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1