The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul, Whistle, Shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62926-foul-whistle-shot.html)

Terrapins Fan Sun Feb 20, 2011 02:13pm

Foul, Whistle, Shot
 
Help me out here.

I had a foul yesterday and my partner says I got it wrong.

Here's what I saw.


A1 is fouled in the act of shooting, B1 comes across her arm and prevents A1 from shooting, I blew the whistle, B1 stops and then A1 continues the act of shooting BUT only because I blew and B1 stopped.

Basket goes and I disallow it.

Partner says, because I called it in the act of shooting, I got to count the basket. I disagree. A1 made the basket AFTER I blew on the shooting foul and AFTER B1 backed off. There was a delay from the shot, foul, whistle and continuation.

Can you see what I am saying?

Thanks,

JRutledge Sun Feb 20, 2011 02:20pm

Sounds like your partner was right. If A1 starts their motion to the basket, they are allowed to finish it. The only way you would not count the basket is if A1 stopped his motion on his own. But once he/she starts, they are allowed to finish.

I am also not seeing the significance of B1 backing off either. What does that have to do with the motion of the shooter?

Peace

Terrapins Fan Sun Feb 20, 2011 02:36pm

That's what I think happened, she was stopped by B1.

shot attempt, foul, whistle, B1 stops on the whistle, I move toward the table and A1 then finishes the shot.

The was a delay of about a second and a half. I didn't see it as continuation.

I had already signaled 2 shoots before she finished her shot.

It was like when you call a foul on a missed basket and another player shoots the ball and makes the basket, makes you wonder....

JRutledge Sun Feb 20, 2011 02:44pm

Maybe I am understanding this a little better. You are saying that the shooter was completely stopped from shooting and started again and shot the basket?

I can then agree with you on some level if that is the case. Then again, you were there at that is your judgment. But I am going to do everything to count the basket in this case. But I have had similar plays in my career if I am understanding your explanation better.

Peace

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 20, 2011 03:23pm

Imho, A's habitual shooting motion continues until they release, violate, or request a TO. Count the basket in your case.

Raymond Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 732247)
Imho, A's habitual shooting motion continues until they release, violate, or request a TO. Count the basket in your case.

Based on the discription I'm envisioning the play having stopped and then A1 all of a sudden flips the ball in the basket after the play is dead.

bob jenkins Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:21pm

Did she "finish her attempt and start another" or "just take a long time to finish her initial attempt?"

You need to decide -- that's why we get the big bucks.

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 732261)
Did she "finish her attempt and start another" or "just take a long time to finish her initial attempt?"

You need to decide -- that's why we get the big bucks.

Agree.

It's a HTBT and so far we've had 2 different explanations of what happened. In the first, it was stated "A1 continues the act of shooting...". In the second, we're told "I didn't see it as continuation." There's nowayinhell any of us can help out with descriptions like that.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:41pm

After she was fouled:

Did she travel?

Was she airborne?

Did she return to the floor?

Terrapins Fan Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 732260)
Based on the discription I'm envisioning the play having stopped and then A1 all of a sudden flips the ball in the basket after the play is dead.

That's the way I saw it.

She was on the floor attempting a shot. Did not jump ( 8th grade girls )

JRutledge Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 732267)
That's the way I saw it.

She was on the floor attempting a shot. Did not jump ( 8th grade girls )

I hope you did not make a call simply because a player was still on the floor. Nothing you have said makes it clear this shot should not have counted. Actually I am more confused every time you try to justify your position.

Peace

Terrapins Fan Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 732263)
Agree.

It's a HTBT and so far we've had 2 different explanations of what happened. In the first, it was stated "A1 continues the act of shooting...". In the second, we're told "I didn't see it as continuation." There's nowayinhell any of us can help out with descriptions like that.

I can because, She was shooting, she was fouled and was stopped, I blew, Began to move toward the table and she then continued to go forward unimpeded by B1, because when I blew, B1 stopped her action. Imagine, as I said, about a 1 and 1/2 second between the time I blew and she finished the shot. I saw it as 2 different actions. 1st shot attempt and a 2nd. It didn't make a difference in the game. But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 20, 2011 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 732263)
Agree.

It's a HTBT and so far we've had 2 different explanations of what happened. In the first, it was stated "A1 continues the act of shooting...". In the second, we're told "I didn't see it as continuation." There's nowayinhell any of us can help out with descriptions like that.

The OP disallowed the basket because of the time factor involved - he incorrectly determined that the large delay after the foul ended the habitual shooting motion, but a shooter is afforded an infinite amount of time in the shooting motion after the foul, so long as s/he doesn't start a new habitual motion, violate or request a timeout. During this infinite time period, another B player could play legal defense again the shooter.

SNIPERBBB Sun Feb 20, 2011 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 732270)
I can because, She was shooting, she was fouled and was stopped, I blew, Began to move toward the table and she then continued to go forward unimpeded by B1, because when I blew, B1 stopped her action. Imagine, as I said, about a 1 and 1/2 second between the time I blew and she finished the shot. I saw it as 2 different actions. 1st shot attempt and a 2nd. It didn't make a difference in the game. But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.

Here's your problem...you need to stay with the play until the playing action stops.

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 20, 2011 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 732270)
But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.

Then you have to be honest and ask yourself if you can trust your partner or whether you're just trying to justify your call. It looks like your partner was just trying to help out.

There's really nothing that any of us can help you with on this imo because of the conflicting descriptions given.

just another ref Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 732270)
I saw it as 2 different actions.

This is what matters. If this is accurate, you made the right call. Based on the description: whistle, B1 noticeably stops, 1 to 1 1/2 second pause, then the shot is released, sounds right to me.

SAK Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 732270)
I can because, She was shooting, she was fouled and was stopped, I blew, Began to move toward the table and she then continued to go forward unimpeded by B1, because when I blew, B1 stopped her action. Imagine, as I said, about a 1 and 1/2 second between the time I blew and she finished the shot. I saw it as 2 different actions. 1st shot attempt and a 2nd. It didn't make a difference in the game. But I am looking to learn, if I made a mistake.

You need to determine if it was indeed 2 different shot attempts or if it was one attempt. I am unable to tell if it was was 2 attempts as you said "she finished the shot". That leads me to think that it was the same attempt and the basket should have counted. If the basket does not count and you have the girl in the act of shooting you need to sell the crap out of this call.

mbyron Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:50pm

It sounds as if your partner was giving you an either/or: either you had a shooting foul, in which case you must count the basket, or you did not, in which case you wouldn't count the basket. He's ruling out the possibility of a shooting foul that doesn't involve releasing the ball for a try.

He's wrong about that. You might rule that a foul prevents the release of the ball (4-41-2: "It is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.") So it is possible to rule that a foul is a "shooting foul" (not a rulebook term) even though no shot was released.

As to whether you got the call right: that's a judgment call, all the way. HTBT. If she was still moving toward the basket and did not "wind up" a second time, I probably would have counted it. With sufficient delay in time or obvious resetting of the shooting motion, I would have called it as you did.

Terrapins Fan Sun Feb 20, 2011 09:10pm

Thanks everyone.

As I was going to say in a previous post to this, it was like 2 actions, you've seen a foul called on a shot then someone else taps the ball into the net. When I moved toward the table I had already given my preliminary signal and said " Foul on 21 blue 2 shots, 15 shooter " I was about 3 steps past the play when the basket was shot and made....2 actions in my opinion.

As for my partner, he is very experienced. He did say, either or and I understood his point. I just saw the play differently.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 732338)
I was about 3 steps past the play...

You sure move fast in 1.5 seconds. :D

APG Mon Feb 21, 2011 01:42am

Either you have Usian Bolt speed or the player has the most amazing hang time known to man. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1