![]() |
Mid-Season Review
I just received my IAABO Sportorial. I want to talk about the 'Mid-Season' article and refer it to a post some time ago. The article states "The ball being pinned to the floor by one or two hands IS NOT player control". The post I am refering to is the one involving the Celtics player Rashon Rondo and the 'non-traveling' call. I made that same statement in my response in the posts. Just because a prone player is reaching out an pinnes the ball to the floor does not mean he is in control. Even though this article come at the end of this season, we need to practice ALL the concepts from this article in our future contests. Snaqwells, this article is my reference.
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...g-its-nbe.html |
There was some great stuff in there! I LOVE how they capitalized the information in regards to the act of shooting & when it begins. Hopefully we as officials READ & APPLY it!!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
First, this is obviously not what you referenced in that post, unless this sportorial is a year old. Second, as JR notes, it's not an authoritative document from the NFHS. You may as well have referenced an article from referee magazine. |
When I was in VT, an IAABO state, the interpreter stated that pinning the ball to the floor does not constitute player control. What often happened was a request to Peter Webb and sometimes to Mary Struckhoff. From which source this interpretation came from, I am not sure. But, it makes sense to me that a player is not controlling a ball that is not being held or dribbled.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Unless an interpretation comes from the FED rulesmakers or a state association office, it is only an opinion. And this particular play isn't definitively covered afaik. And that makes it a judgment call as to whether there was player control. Unfortunately, as per the linked old thread, the judgments differ. |
Quote:
4-12-1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble. 4-12-4 While the ball remains live, a loose ball always remains in control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal. It appears that a ball being pinned is like a platypus. |
Well, I didn't bother with the original thread, and not sure why I'm bothering now, but I don't have player control if the ball is pinned to the floor without being held.
|
Quote:
If it's held up until the pin, I think it's continuous control just like setting the ball down to stand up. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28am. |