![]() |
A1 driving to the hoop leaves the floor and makes a pass to A2 (Definitely no shot intended).... In the air and clearly after the pass is released, A1 plows into B1 (Who has established a legal guarding position)... Do we have player control or simply an offensive foul?
|
IN HIGH SCHOOL:
Not a player control foul. For this the player must have control of the ball or be an airborne shooter. This is simply a charging foul. It is a common foul and if the other team is in the bonus, they will shoot one-and-one. Actually, I don't believe that in the HS rules book the term "Offensive foul" is ever defined or used. If someone could double check me on this statement, that would be great. Now in College they do have the concept of an offensive foul. I don't know all the particulars of this, ask an NCAA official. My understanding is that it is simply a foul by a player of the team in control, except a player with the ball. They do NOT shoot one-and-one in college on offensive fouls now. |
This can be confusing.
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Thanks Rut!
Beautifully explained. I don't do NCAA games, but my friends that do tell me that they now have a mechanic for indicating a "Team Control" foul and that this signal is exactly the same as the player control foul signal. That ought to be a little confusing! |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I've seen both the hand-behind-the head PC signal and the FIBA "punch" signal given in 2 different exhibition games. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08pm. |