The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Pivot-Cheek" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6230-pivot-cheek.html)

rainmaker Sun Nov 10, 2002 02:22am

Kid secures ball while lying on her back. She sits up, and then pivots on her rear. Is this legal? I can't remember what we decided, the last time we discussed it. I didn't call it....

JRutledge Sun Nov 10, 2002 03:05am

Legal
 
Legal if I understand what you just discribed. It is only a travel if the ball handler tries to get up without a dribble. Setting up off a ball handlers back is not illegal.

Peace

Nevadaref Sun Nov 10, 2002 03:08am

The play you describe is legal in high school.
Take a look at the casebook 4.43.5B
Also note that the concept of a pivot is only defined with regard to a foot. There is no such thing as a pivot butt, knee, elbow, head, etc.
I believe you must look at the player's feet to determine traveling. In your case, if the player is spinning on her butt, consider how is she generating the power for the spin. Is she pushing off on the floor with her hands or feet? If she is using her feet to turn in circles I would call a travel if her foot movements violate the traveling restrictions in 4-43. ie pick up and put back down.
To support this claim I cite the definition of traveling in 4-43 and the definition of pivot in 4-33:
"Traveling is moving a FOOT OR FEET in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball."
"A pivot takes place when a player who is holding the ball steps once, or more than once, in any direction with the same foot while the other foot, called the pivot foot, is kept at its point of contact with the floor."
These rules say nothing about moving your butt! Therefore, we must consider butt movements as unrestricted and legal. So, I say that if the girl sits up, then picks up both feet and holds them in the air, she may push on the floor with her hands and cause herself to spin on her butt like a top if she so desires!!! I would allow it as a legal play. Of course, one of my partners would probably call a travel, so my whistle is a moot point.
Also remember that if a player dives for a ball on the floor, obtains possession, and then slides, it is not traveling. Sliding is legal until the player's momentum stops.
Lastly, I will concede that this is definitely a gray area in the rules and that different officials will have different opinions on the play.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Nov 10th, 2002 at 04:01 AM]

Jay R Sun Nov 10, 2002 09:22am

In FIBA, rolling on the floor is considered travelling. Is that the same in NF and NCAA?

Having said that, I don't know that pivoting on your butt constitutes a travel.

Nevadaref Sun Nov 10, 2002 09:27am

Yes, Jay,
In HS rolling from front to back or from back to front is a travel.
I believe it is the same in NCAA, but we will have to get a definitive another from an NCAA official as I am not one.
But (no pun intended) having a clear understanding of the rolling interpretation doesn't seem to help one bit with the butt question, now does it!

rainmaker Sun Nov 10, 2002 07:10pm

We talked about it here six months or a year ago. I just cant remember what we decided, and I can't find the thread.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 10, 2002 07:28pm

If he/she doesn't make any further attempt to get up, I've got nothing.

rainmaker Sun Nov 10, 2002 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
If he/she doesn't make any further attempt to get up, I've got nothing.
Even if she uses here feet to propel herself as NevadaRef pointed out?

BktBallRef Sun Nov 10, 2002 07:59pm

The question is is she trying to get up or is she moving to avoid being tied up by an opponent? If she simply lifts a cheek in the process of making a pass, I have nothing.

Jay R Sun Nov 10, 2002 08:15pm

We had our zone meeting tonight and discussed this type of situation.

Our presenter's point of view was to treat the butt as a
pivot area. Thus with that definition, the player would be pivoting on their butt.

On a related topic, A1 is holding the ball with both knees on the floor. A1 lifts one knee. Travel?

BktBallRef Sun Nov 10, 2002 08:37pm

Well, according to your presenter, wouldn't that be a pivot knee?

Jay R Sun Nov 10, 2002 09:07pm

That was exactly his interpretation. I'm not sure that I agree though.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 10, 2002 09:46pm

Nor do I. As I wrote previously, if you believe the player is attempting to get up or moving to prevent the defense from getting the ball, call the travel. JMHO

RookieDude Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The question is is she trying to get up or is she moving to avoid being tied up by an opponent? If she simply lifts a cheek in the process of making a pass, I have nothing.
That was one question...then another question arose..."Can she use her feet to propel her in circles?"

I say sure, as long as she dosen't try to get up.
Even though her feet are being lifted and pushed back on the floor to propel her...she still has her butt as the "pivot".

RD

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Kid secures ball while lying on her back. She sits up, and then pivots on her rear. Is this legal? I can't remember what we decided, the last time we discussed it. I didn't call it....

By pivoting on her tuckus, do you mean that she rotated her entire body using her tuckus as the center of the circle and her feet described the circle?

Dan_ref Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:21pm

I had a scrimmage Saturday where a player was flat on his back & raised himself off the floor with his feet & shoulders. Very athletic move, sadly he came beack down
before he could get the pass off.

RookieDude Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
I had a scrimmage Saturday where a player was flat on his back & raised himself off the floor with his feet & shoulders. Very athletic move, sadly he came beack down
before he could get the pass off.

I believe in gymnastics terminology that is called a "kip up"! (Sp)
Very athletic move! But, I'm not sure that it wouldn't have been a travel anyway...unless he passed the ball while laying on his back and then performed the "kip up".

RD

Dan_ref Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
I had a scrimmage Saturday where a player was flat on his back & raised himself off the floor with his feet & shoulders. Very athletic move, sadly he came beack down
before he could get the pass off.

I believe in gymnastics terminology that is called a "kip up"! (Sp)
Very athletic move! But, I'm not sure that it wouldn't have been a travel anyway...unless he passed the ball while laying on his back and then performed the "kip up".

RD


mmmm, I don't know, I think I would have given it to him just because of the "geeze" factor.

"Geeze, what a great move....hey wait! Is that allowed??!" ;)

Anyway, got a reference for your ruling? I seriously doubt
it's a travel...

Mark Dexter Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:47pm

How about the rule which states you can't attempt to stand up without dribbling the ball?

(Sorry - I'm exhausted, and not moving from my chair to find the rule reference.)

RookieDude Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:48pm

Hmmmmm, you could be right...I was just refering to the rule 4-43-5b...A player holding the ball: "After gaining possession while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand."

My question was/is...Is "kipping up" attempting to get up or stand.?

RD

Dan_ref Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:51pm

maybe, but I believe if he passes the ball he's ok.
like picking up the pivot foot before passing/shooting.

anyway, my philosophy is any demonstration of athleticism
that I am completely incapable of is legal :)

rainmaker Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Kid secures ball while lying on her back. She sits up, and then pivots on her rear. Is this legal? I can't remember what we decided, the last time we discussed it. I didn't call it....

By pivoting on her tuckus, do you mean that she rotated her entire body using her tuckus as the center of the circle and her feet described the circle?

Yes, this is the question.

mick Mon Nov 11, 2002 08:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude

My question was/is...Is "kipping up" attempting to get up or stand.?

RD

That's exactly the singular objective of a "kip up". :)

Ref in PA Mon Nov 11, 2002 09:20am

my two cents
 
In NFHS, a player on the floor is not allowed to roll. The question I need an answer for is: "Is the person rolling from cheek to cheek?" When a player is standing up, the pivot is usually done on the ball of the foot. On occaision, I have seen players pivot on the heel, then on the ball of the foot, then on the heel again. In essense, the original pivot spot was moved because of the heel/toe action. I have called a travel in those cases - mostly under the explanation of dragging the pivot foot. So, in the case above, if I determine movement from the pivot area, for whatever reason, I would call a travel violation. If the player more or less stays in the same spot, I would allow the pivot action.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 11, 2002 01:52pm

I've got travelling. On the back, a player may sit up. No other movement of the body is allowed. They can't turn around, they are stuck with the direction they are facing. It is essentially the same as rolling over (independent of momentum).

mick Mon Nov 11, 2002 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
I've got travelling. On the back, a player may sit up. No other movement of the body is allowed. They can't turn around, they are stuck with the direction they are facing. It is essentially the same as rolling over (independent of momentum).

Me too, Camron,
I will let them pivot from the waist; but lift/twist/contort the body below the waist while holding the ball, and I have movement outside the prescribed limits.

mick

Ron Pilo Mon Nov 11, 2002 01:59pm

I believe the situation in the case book (page34) says that the only thing he/she can do in this situation is sit up. If the player once sitting up makes movements in an attempt to avoid a defensive player that causes a "Cheek" to be moved I have a travel.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 11, 2002 02:04pm

I guess that calling travelling in this case would really be a bum call then!

mick Mon Nov 11, 2002 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I guess that calling travelling in this case would really be a bum call then!

A 1/2-fast bum call.

Mark Dexter Mon Nov 11, 2002 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Hmmmmm, you could be right...I was just refering to the rule 4-43-5b...A player holding the ball: "After gaining possession while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand."

My question was/is...Is "kipping up" attempting to get up or stand.?

RD

Yes - that's the rule I was reference.

Just think - what is the (intended) end result of 'kipping up?'

BTW, guys and gals, please - no more discussion on momentum. I just took a physics test today dealing with that very issue, among others :(

RecRef Mon Nov 11, 2002 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I guess that calling travelling in this case would really be a bum call then!
Spent some time in England? :D

ChuckElias Mon Nov 11, 2002 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
please - no more discussion on momentum. I just took a physics test today dealing with that very issue, among others :(
So how did the organic chem test go? (I read your away messages every day) :)

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 11, 2002 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RecRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I guess that calling travelling in this case would really be a bum call then!
Spent some time in England? :D

AAMF,I did.They talk funny over there.

And they like their brownpop warm(shudder).Not very civilized.

Mark Dexter Mon Nov 11, 2002 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias

So how did the organic chem test go? (I read your away messages every day) :)

Well, I did fairly well, but not as well as I would have liked (considering I'm a chemistry major).

BTW, on the topic of away messages, are you writing a book?

Just Curious Tue Nov 12, 2002 12:49am

RD [/B][/QUOTE]
BTW, guys and gals, please - no more discussion on momentum. I just took a physics test today dealing with that very issue, among others :( [/B][/QUOTE]

Yeah... The motion thing.... Who was it that said.... "A butt in motion tends to stay in motion"? Some law or another....
BTW I have a travel... I would allow the sitting up, but under the advantage/disadvantage law (I believe it's the law just before the "motion" law), I see an unfair advantage being gained with the pivot....

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 12, 2002 03:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by Just Curious
[/B]
Yeah... The motion thing.... Who was it that said.... "A butt in motion tends to stay in motion"? Some law or another....
[/B][/QUOTE]The quote was probably by a young,single guy-because,unfortunately,it certainly ain't a Marriage Law!

Larry Tue Nov 12, 2002 03:57am

Pivot
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
The play you describe is legal in high school.
Take a look at the casebook 4.43.5B
Also note that the concept of a pivot is only defined with regard to a foot. There is no such thing as a pivot butt, knee, elbow, head, etc.
I believe you must look at the player's feet to determine traveling. In your case, if the player is spinning on her butt, consider how is she generating the power for the spin. Is she pushing off on the floor with her hands or feet? If she is using her feet to turn in circles I would call a travel if her foot movements violate the traveling restrictions in 4-43. ie pick up and put back down.
To support this claim I cite the definition of traveling in 4-43 and the definition of pivot in 4-33:
"Traveling is moving a FOOT OR FEET in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball."
"A pivot takes place when a player who is holding the ball steps once, or more than once, in any direction with the same foot while the other foot, called the pivot foot, is kept at its point of contact with the floor."
These rules say nothing about moving your butt! Therefore, we must consider butt movements as unrestricted and legal. So, I say that if the girl sits up, then picks up both feet and holds them in the air, she may push on the floor with her hands and cause herself to spin on her butt like a top if she so desires!!! I would allow it as a legal play. Of course, one of my partners would probably call a travel, so my whistle is a moot point.
Also remember that if a player dives for a ball on the floor, obtains possession, and then slides, it is not traveling. Sliding is legal until the player's momentum stops.
Lastly, I will concede that this is definitely a gray area in the rules and that different officials will have different opinions on the play.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Nov 10th, 2002 at 04:01 AM]

In ours area this is nothing, we permit a player to gain control of the ball, come to one knee and start a dribble or pass. If the player go from the floor to a direct standing position, then it's traveling.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 12, 2002 12:50pm

Re: Pivot
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Larry


In ours area this is nothing, we permit a player to gain control of the ball, come to one knee and start a dribble or pass. If the player go from the floor to a direct standing position, then it's traveling.

You must be kidding!!! The only legal movement when laying on the floor is to sit up (and only if they are on their back to start with). Anything else is traveling, especially if they rise to one knee.

Jay R Tue Nov 12, 2002 03:36pm

I e-mailed our provincial interpreter and he said that lifting one knee would not constitute a travel. Only when he raises the second. That was not my point of view, but I will follow my interpreter's wishes.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 12, 2002 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
I e-mailed our provincial interpreter and he said that lifting one knee would not constitute a travel. Only when he raises the second. That was not my point of view, but I will follow my interpreter's wishes.

Jay,the problem is that getting to the knees in the first place from a laying or sitting position is a travel.What they do after they get there is irrelevant.I agree with Camron.

Jay R Tue Nov 12, 2002 07:39pm

JR
Gotcha!

camster Mon Nov 18, 2002 04:39pm

travel or not?
 
what if player is in front court sitting with ball, facing back court, does a 180 spin on butt,lifting both feet as spinning to pass to team mate running past them. travel?

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 18, 2002 04:41pm

Re: travel or not?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by camster
what if player is in front court sitting with ball, facing back court, does a 180 spin on butt,lifting both feet as spinning to pass to team mate running past them. travel?
Yes, this would be a travel. It would be considered the same as rolling to gain an advantage.

mary quinn Mon Nov 18, 2002 05:16pm

pivot cheek
 
We call that a travel. A player lying on the floor
can sit up only. They can't make any other movement
with their body. Since you can have a pivot foot--
you can't have a pivot cheek.

mick Mon Nov 18, 2002 05:28pm

Re: pivot cheek
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mary quinn
We call that a travel. A player lying on the floor
can sit up only. They can't make any other movement
with their body. Since you can have a pivot foot--
you can't have a pivot cheek.


Good call, mary quinn,
And welcome here!

The player may sit up, start dribbling, and then get busy, yes?
mick

joshlamerritt Mon Nov 18, 2002 06:54pm

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

The player may sit up, start dribbling, and then get busy, yes?
mick
Mick,
I would say "yes", but then again I am not sure.

Wednesday I was playing pick-up ball with a group of guys who call me "the ref" (wish they had never found out). I dove for loose ball, secured it while laying face down on the ground, began dribbling while my chest was still contacting the ground, then stood up and started down court. Everyone called for a travel, but I explained that it wasn't a travel because I never lifted my "pivot" prior to starting my dribble. Then, on my way home, I got to thinking "was that a legal play". I am less sure of myself now having read through this thread.

Josh

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 18, 2002 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by joshlamerritt
Originally posted by mick
Quote:

The player may sit up, start dribbling, and then get busy, yes?
mick
Mick,
I would say "yes", but then again I am not sure.

Wednesday I was playing pick-up ball with a group of guys who call me "the ref" (wish they had never found out). I dove for loose ball, secured it while laying face down on the ground, began dribbling while my chest was still contacting the ground, then stood up and started down court. Everyone called for a travel, but I explained that it wasn't a travel because I never lifted my "pivot" prior to starting my dribble. Then, on my way home, I got to thinking "was that a legal play". I am less sure of myself now having read through this thread.

Josh

Yes - that is legal the way you described it. Remember, it is a fundamental rule of basketball that you cannot travel while dribbling.

mick Mon Nov 18, 2002 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by joshlamerritt
Originally posted by mick
Quote:

The player may sit up, start dribbling, and then get busy, yes?
mick
... a group of guys who call me "the ref"

Josh <u>the Ref</u>,
What Mark Padgett said is gospel, as always.

When you are on the ground in any position, you may always pass; also, if you haven't already ended your dribble, you may always dribble and then get up, ... or just keep sitting there.

And you must be "the Ref", if you doubt yourself from time to time.

mick

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 18, 2002 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick

When you are on the ground in any position, you may always pass; also, if you haven't already ended your dribble, you may always dribble and then get up, ... or just keep sitting there.

mick

The four things you can do without committing a violation if you have the ball on the ground (assuming you haven't ended a dribble) are: dribble, pass, shoot, request a timeout.

Oh yeah, you can foul, too.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:18am

You can hold the ball,too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1