The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt count....to begin or not to begin (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62232-backcourt-count-begin-not-begin.html)

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 728927)
A1 has player control in the frontcourt, passes ball to A2. B1 deflects ball into backcourt. When do you start the backcourt count, when the ball touches the backcourt or when A1 secures control of ball? There is no specific rule reference I have found nor a case play.

For the record...as rwest pointed out...

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

See SITUATION #8 in the 2008-09 Interps. It's the exact same play.

just another ref Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728949)
Wrong rule, Jugs. The relevant rule for the OP is 9-9-1. The 10 second count starts as soon as the ball touches the back court because there was team control in the frontcourt and that team control was never lost. And yes, iirc there is a case play somewhere. I'll look it up.

9-9-1 has nothing to do with the ten second count, or the OP.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish (Post 728967)
When do you think the count starts?

Play: A1 has a BC throw-in. Pass to A2 is tipped by A2 and goes to A3, who then catches the ball. When do you start your count? On A2's tip or A3's catch? And why?

To answer both quotes, the definition of 10 count is when player or team is in control of ball in the backcourt. Just because the ball was batted by team B, does Team A lose team control of ball?

Jugref, my sit is not about a throw-in.

I know your situation isn't about a throw-in. But the principals still apply. It's about knowing to separate TC and BC status as independent events.

The belief is that A had TC and once the ball hits the BC, start the count - not waiting until A has PC in the BC.

reffish Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728972)
For the record...as rwest pointed out...

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

See SITUATION #8 in the 2008-09 Interps. It's the exact same play.

Holy Crap....:eek: I gotta read all that to find my sitch!!!! Alright...thanks guys.:o

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728972)
For the record...as rwest pointed out...

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

See SITUATION #8 in the 2008-09 Interps. It's the exact same play.

That situation quotes 9-8, which is the section that I quoted. ;)

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:53pm

Speaking of which, I haven't seen a Nevadaref post for quite some time. Is he ok?

reffish Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 728976)
I know your situation isn't about a throw-in. But the principals still apply. It's about knowing to separate TC and BC status as independent events.

The belief is that A had TC and once the ball hits the BC, start the count - not waiting until A has PC in the BC.

I see what you are saying, and that was part of the discussion to determining when to count. I initially ruled to wait to count for PC, I failed to recall the TC status of BC counting.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1