The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 09, 2002, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Question

Looking at 4-24 Art.7... "It is not legal to use the hand and/or forearm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble or when throwing for goal."

I have a hard time trying to interpet what the rule is trying to prevent as long as the forearm is not extended too far past the body or extended to push off a defender.

My wife, the coach, says if I ever called it on one of her players (theoretical, because I would never call one of her games) I had better be prepared to follow up with a "T" on her.

I see it most often at lower levels of play where I just drop the whistle and say "watch the arm".

I don't think I have ever called a foul on anybody for just protecting the ball as long as they didn't push off, but thats not what the rule as written says.

Have any of you ever had a discussion regarding this rule?

Ranjo
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1