The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Get it right? Double foul while shot in the air. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61944-get-right-double-foul-while-shot-air.html)

NoFussRef Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:19am

Get it right? Double foul while shot in the air.
 
A1 releases shot, A2 illegal screen -vs- B1 push foul on A2.

Shot sinks, we count bucket, report double foul (A2 and B1), and then went to AP for inbound. (NFHS)

Second guessing the AP, POI?

APG Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:22am

Incorrect.

For all double fouls we resume with the point of interruption. Sometimes the POI happens to be the AP. In this case, the POI will be an undesignated throw-in for Team B.

NoFussRef Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:31am

I knew something was bugging me about this one. No doubt about the double call, one of the easiest I've had to make. But something was nagging me.

POI (A1's bucket was good) B gets ball for throw in and can run endline.

Worked this game with a 3rd year Association ref (I am not). We conferenced to make sure we agreed shot had been released before double foul call. He seemed a lil unsure what to do, so I asked if he felt AP was correct and he agreed.

I will be sure to get with him and his book, find the rule and any case that applies so we can both get it right next time.

APG Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:38am

For some reason, some officials think of the AP and POI as two separate things. Some don't realize that the AP is simply one of the ways we resume with the POI.

BillyMac Mon Feb 07, 2011 06:31am

Maybe A Few Dog Years ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 727092)
For some reason, some officials think of the AP and POI as two separate things. Some don't realize that the AP is simply one of the ways we resume with the POI.

For old timers like me, it's because we used to go to the arrow, or toss a jump ball, for double fouls. The point of interruption has only been around for a few years.

jeffpea Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:32am

glad to hear that you talked w/ your partner about whether the shot was released prior to the double foul...

in my experience, the shot is almost always (99.5%) released AFTER the screen has taken place...the typical timeline is: screen, catch, shot...although it may happen, it is very unusual to have catch, shot, screen...

bainsey Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:09pm

FWIW, I had something like this last month, only it was on a free throw.

The same rules apply. A-1 released his shot, A-2 and B-2 commit a double foul ("quit it!" one of them yells), basket is good.

Foul on A-2, foul on B-2, basket is good, B's ball for an end-line throw in. Let's play.

GoodwillRef Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 727080)
A1 releases shot, A2 illegal screen -vs- B1 push foul on A2.

Shot sinks, we count bucket, report double foul (A2 and B1), and then went to AP for inbound. (NFHS)

Second guessing the AP, POI?


So B1 was pushing through and illegal screen by A1? I am just banging the illegal screen and be done with it.

SWMOzebra Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 727254)
So B1 was pushing through an illegal screen by A1? I am just banging the illegal screen and be done with it.

+1

Was the push so bad that you thought it necessary to penalize?

NoFussRef Mon Feb 07, 2011 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 727145)
For old timers like me, it's because we used to go to the arrow, or toss a jump ball, for double fouls. The point of interruption has only been around for a few years.

I think this is where I got the idea to go to the arrow. I've learned from working with "vets" every chance I get. Having not yet joined OSAA nor have I owned a copy of NFHS book since late 1990s, I have picked up rules and how to handle odd-sitchs through experience on the court.

Like to add that finding this forum has been a wealth of information and appreciate the way (most posters) seem to share my genuine love of the game and enthusiasm to always improve while helping less experienced grow.

(Plan to join Association before next season.)

NoFussRef Mon Feb 07, 2011 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWMOzebra (Post 727261)
+1

Was the push so bad that you thought it necessary to penalize?

Yeppers. I too tend to always go with first-come-first-served on sitchs like this, however this was an easy one for me, they both saw it coming, this was no "collision" and the push was at the exact same moment as the block.

I am far more likely to hand out doubles on the excessive bump-and-grind on the block than I am on a bad screen. It was B's decision to try and plow through while extending his arms into A's upper body. I had a great look at this one.

As for shot being long gone, the point-guard didn't wait for the screen to drive he stepped back and put up a jumper just as the offense was trying to set up.

(This was 8th grade Quad-A Boys. Even both coaches liked the double call. AP happened to be B's ball so I guess it might have looked right, even though we should've gone POI and they shouldn't have lost the next AP.)

Thanks again to this forum for helping new and old improve.

BillyMac Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:10pm

My Favorite Scrimmage Call ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 727286)
I am far more likely to hand out doubles on the excessive bump-and-grind on the block than I am on a bad screen.

Agree. And I am far more likely to hand out such double fouls early in the season, as well as early in the game.

GoodwillRef Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 727286)
Yeppers. I too tend to always go with first-come-first-served on sitchs like this, however this was an easy one for me, they both saw it coming, this was no "collision" and the push was at the exact same moment as the block.

I am far more likely to hand out doubles on the excessive bump-and-grind on the block than I am on a bad screen. It was B's decision to try and plow through while extending his arms into A's upper body. I had a great look at this one.

As for shot being long gone, the point-guard didn't wait for the screen to drive he stepped back and put up a jumper just as the offense was trying to set up.

(This was 8th grade Quad-A Boys. Even both coaches liked the double call. AP happened to be B's ball so I guess it might have looked right, even though we should've gone POI and they shouldn't have lost the next AP.)

Thanks again to this forum for helping new and old improve.

If the push was as bad as you say maybe just go with the foul on Team B if that was the one that everyone say.

Adam Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 727307)
If the push was as bad as you say maybe just go with the foul on Team B if that was the one that everyone say.

He said it was an easy call to go DF, why are we questioning this as if he's calling a DF on a screen every game?

Rich Mon Feb 07, 2011 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 727318)
He said it was an easy call to go DF, why are we questioning this as if he's calling a DF on a screen every game?

Because a DF on an illegal screen is a cop-out 99.9% of the time. Hell, a DF itself is a cop-out at least 95% of the time.

Either call the screen or call the push, don't call both. It would be just like calling a DF on a block/charge because the defender didn't have LGP but the offensive player lowered his shoulder.

NoFussRef Mon Feb 07, 2011 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 727321)
Because a DF on an illegal screen is a cop-out 99.9% of the time. Hell, a DF itself is a cop-out at least 95% of the time.

Either call the screen or call the push, don't call both. It would be just like calling a DF on a block/charge because the defender didn't have LGP but the offensive player lowered his shoulder.

I think a cop-out would have been going no-call. Rewarding either player with a call on the other would also be a travesty. Yes this is a HTBT sitch, but since I was there and can tell you with absolute certainty that even though this is a "white-buffalo" it is what it is.

We can debate in circles about the use of a DF in any sitch, and you can statisticize when a DF is/is not a cop-out, however the original post was in regards to whether going to the AP arrow or POI is the correct procedure.

Rich Mon Feb 07, 2011 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFussRef (Post 727332)
Rewarding either player with a call on the other would also be a travesty.

Eh, I'd like to see the video before agreeing with you on this. Since I won't, I'll simply withhold further comment.

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 07:50am

I am One and for good reason
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 727092)
For some reason, some officials think of the AP and POI as two separate things. Some don't realize that the AP is simply one of the ways we resume with the POI.

The term point of interruption means to resume play where the play was interrupted. Was the play interrupted duirng an AP Throw-in? No. It was interrupted during a shot attempt. The AP is just one way we make a dead ball live. It is the way we put a ball in play when there is no other way to do so. It is not the point of interruption. In this case we don't use the AP because the shot was good. If the shot had missed we go with the AP because we have no idea who would have got the rebound, not because the AP was the point of interruption. The POI was the shot attempt. What happens after determines how we put the ball in play. If the AP was the POI it wouldn't matter what happened with the shot. We would have gone with the AP Throw-in. But it does matter and that's why we have two different ways of putting the ball in play.

It is when the point of interruption can not be determined that we go with the AP. They are mutually exclusive.

APG Tue Feb 08, 2011 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727565)
The term point of interruption means to resume play where the play was interrupted. Was the play interrupted duirng an AP Throw-in? No. It was interrupted during a shot attempt. The AP is just one way we make a dead ball live. It is the way we put a ball in play when there is no other way to do so. It is not the point of interruption. In this case we don't use the AP because the shot was good. If the shot had missed we go with the AP because we have no idea who would have got the rebound, not because the AP was the point of interruption. The POI was the shot attempt. What happens after determines how we put the ball in play. If the AP was the POI it wouldn't matter what happened with the shot. We would have gone with the AP Throw-in. But it does matter and that's why we have two different ways of putting the ball in play.

It is when the point of interruption can not be determined that we go with the AP. They are mutually exclusive.

Umm...what? :confused:

I'm looking at 4-36 right in front of me. The point of interruption is a method used to resume play. It'll either be resumed with:

1. Throw to team in control
2. Free throw or throw-in if play was stopped during such activity or if a team will be entitled to such activity.
3. Alternating possesion when a stopping occurs and there is no team control and there's no infraction, goal, or end of period/quarter.

So how is the AP not a POI? Unless you're trying to say that not all AP throw-ins are a result of having to use the POI?

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 08:26am

What I'm saying is...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 727568)
Umm...what? :confused:

I'm looking at 4-36 right in front of me. The point of interruption is a method used to resume play. It'll either be resumed with:

1. Throw to team in control
2. Free throw or throw-in if play was stopped during such activity or if a team will be entitled to such activity.
3. Alternating possesion when a stopping occurs and there is no team control and there's no infraction, goal, or end of period/quarter.

So how is the AP not a POI? Unless you're trying to say that not all AP throw-ins are a result of having to use the POI?

I agree the AP is a method of resuming play, but it is used when we have no other way of putting the ball in play. Number 1 is used when the POI is when one team has control of the ball. This could be a foul while team A is holding, dribbling or passing the ball. The POI is team control. Number 2 the POI is free throw or throw-in, so we know how to put the ball in play. We resume with what we were doing at the time. What were we doing when the ball was in the air on a shot attempt? It wasn't an AP throw-in was it? No, we were waiting for the shot to either enter the basket or miss. If the shot was no good we go with the AP because we have no way of knowing who would get the ball. The POI was not the AP. POI is a method of resuming play as the rule says. Play will be resumed with an AP throw-in not because it was the POI but that's how we resume play when there was no team control, throw-in, free throw or end of period.

It is semantics. We are splitting hairs. If you want to think of AP as the POI, I can live with it, not that that matters to you. :) It just doesn't make sense to me. In order for the AP to be the POI we would have to be administering an AP Throw-in at the time of the interruption. I prefer to think of the POI as being no team control and therefore we go with AP for the throwin.

APG Tue Feb 08, 2011 08:30am

You're thinking of the POI in terms of what action was occurring when play was stopped. 4-36 tells us that the POI is just the method in which we'll resume play based on what was happening when play was stopped.

Simple semantics. Doesn't matter as long as we're getting the play correct.

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 08:35am

I agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 727571)
You're thinking of the POI in terms of what action was occurring when play was stopped. 4-36 tells us that the POI is just the method in which we'll resume play based on what was happening when play was stopped.

Simple semantics. Doesn't matter as long as we're getting the play correct.

Both of us will get the play correct and for the same reason. We have no team control when the double foul was called and therefore we go with AP.

Welpe Tue Feb 08, 2011 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727572)
We have no team control when the double foul was called and therefore we go with AP.

Unless the shot is made of course. ;)

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 09:13am

I said that
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 727576)
Unless the shot is made of course. ;)

In a previous post, I made this same point! :)

Adam Tue Feb 08, 2011 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727572)
Both of us will get the play correct and for the same reason. We have no team control when the double foul was called and therefore we go with AP.

You already know this, but this isn't completely accurate. There are several situations where team control doesn't exist but a double foul will not go to AP.

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 09:36am

Correct
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 727581)
You already know this, but this isn't completely accurate. There are several situations where team control doesn't exist but a double foul will not go to AP.

But they are covered under different parts of the rule. I was specifically talking about this scenario, so my comments should be taken in context. But you already know this. ;)

mbyron Tue Feb 08, 2011 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727570)
In order for the AP to be the POI we would have to be administering an AP Throw-in at the time of the interruption. I prefer to think of the POI as being no team control and therefore we go with AP for the throwin.

This is incorrect. We use the AP arrow as the POI when there is no team control and no infraction, goal, or end of the period. That could be a missed shot, any kind of throw-in, rebounding action, or any other time there's no team control.

This is misleading. You seem to be suggesting that the POI always involves lack of team control, which is false.

Adam Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727582)
But they are covered under different parts of the rule. I was specifically talking about this scenario, so my comments should be taken in context. But you already know this. ;)

Honestly, I think you're overthinking this to a degree. The fact is, AP is included in the definition of POI. You can use whatever semantic method you want to try to understand it, but the problem is by trying to teach it that way, you're potentially confusing someone who doesn't think like you.

To me, it's best to think of it as one rule with a series of steps to take to determine exactly what POI is in a given situation. And team control is only the first of those steps.

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:23am

No I don't mean that
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 727584)
This is incorrect. We use the AP arrow as the POI when there is no team control and no infraction, goal, or end of the period. That could be a missed shot, any kind of throw-in, rebounding action, or any other time there's no team control.

This is misleading. You seem to be suggesting that the POI always involves lack of team control, which is false.

What I am saying is the rule book is wrong logically in saying that POI is the arrow. In the scenario we are talking about the event that is taking place is a shot attempt, not an AP Throw-in. Logically, the AP is not the POI but the method which we use to put the ball in play when there is no team control. Are you saying we would use the AP if a double foul occurred while administering a throw-in? If so, then I disagree. We would simply report the fouls and resume the throw-in. I didn't mean to say that in all cases where there is no team control we use the AP on a double foul. Read my statements in the context of a double foul on a shot attempt.

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:25am

Maybe so, but I don't think so
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 727589)
Honestly, I think you're overthinking this to a degree. The fact is, AP is included in the definition of POI. You can use whatever semantic method you want to try to understand it, but the problem is by trying to teach it that way, you're potentially confusing someone who doesn't think like you.

To me, it's best to think of it as one rule with a series of steps to take to determine exactly what POI is in a given situation. And team control is only the first of those steps.

I'm a logical person. It's part of my character. I'm not saying anyone else on this board isn't logical. It's just that I'm a software engineer by training and I think very analytically.

bainsey Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:26am

It appears we have different ways of thinking that will lead to the same result.

If I'm reading Mr. West's words correctly, he's emphasizing the word POINT in "point of interruption." In other words, at what point was the game interrupted? Was there team control?

That would be fine, but as others pointed out, 4-36-1 clearly states that POI is a method of resuming play, not just a point in the game. In other words, POI is the effect, not just the cause.

(Aside: I'm an I.T. guy, too. I enjoy these analyses, but when there's a dispute, I find that the written definition supersedes all.)

APG Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 727603)
It appears we have different ways of thinking that will lead to the same result.

If I'm reading Mr. West's words correctly, he's emphasizing the word POINT in "point of interruption." In other words, at what point was the game interrupted? Was there team control?

That would be fine, but as others pointed out, 4-36-1 clearly states that POI is a method of resuming play, not just a point in the game. In other words, POI is the effect, not just the cause.

It's almost as if I said that a bit earlier than you. ;)

Adam Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727601)
I'm a logical person. It's part of my character. I'm not saying anyone else on this board isn't logical. It's just that I'm a software engineer by training and I think very analytically.

And I'm an analyst by trade, and it's easier for me to actually think of it in terms of the way the rule is worded rather than my opinion of what "point of interruption" would mean without the rules.

The thing is, unless you go through them in succession, an official could simply go to 4-36-2c and go to AP when it's not appropriate.

bainsey Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 727605)
It's almost as if I said that a bit earlier than you. ;)

Fair enough. I didn't read all the posts, merely reacted to a few.

So, we'll go with, "I got your back." ;)

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:43am

True
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 727603)
It appears we have different ways of thinking that will lead to the same result.

If I'm reading Mr. West's words correctly, he's emphasizing the word POINT in "point of interruption." In other words, at what point was the game interrupted? Was there team control?

That would be fine, but as others pointed out, 4-36-1 clearly states that POI is a method of resuming play, not just a point in the game. In other words, POI is the effect, not just the cause.

(Aside: I'm an I.T. guy, too. I enjoy these analyses, but when there's a dispute, I find that the written definition supersedes all.)

But so is AP. The AP is a method of putting the ball in play under a certain set of circumstance one of which the POI is no team control. The POI is not the Arrow in my opinion. It is the method of putting the ball in play when the POI is no team control and we have no other way of putting the ball in play like a throw-in or free throw.

Guys part of being an engineer is seeing things in terms of black and white and not so much gray. It is an occupational hazard of mine to be very analytical. I can't help it. We all get to the same result. I just look at it differently. It makes more sense to me to think of it in terms of POI in the case being no team control. And since we were not in the process of administering a throw-in or free throw we go with the arrow.

And if you haven't figured out by now, I love a good debate. I enjoy my time on this board!

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:44am

Except when
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 727610)
And I'm an analyst by trade, and it's easier for me to actually think of it in terms of the way the rule is worded rather than my opinion of what "point of interruption" would mean without the rules.

The thing is, unless you go through them in succession, an official could simply go to 4-36-2c and go to AP when it's not appropriate.

Except when an official interpretation disagrees with your interpretation. ;)

Adam Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727617)
Except when an official interpretation disagrees with your interpretation. ;)

I didn't say they'd be right. But I've seen it happen. "There's no team control, infraction, or goal involved in this play so we're going AP."

Or when the rule disagrees with your statement that AP is not POI. 4-36-2c

It's all one rule, 4-36, which is the definition of POI.

I'm all for a good debate, even one on semantics and logic.

My issue is that more people come to the wrong conclusion by not thinking AP is one portion of the POI rule. "Do we go AP or POI?" It's a question based on an incorrect understanding of the rule.

APG Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:00am

The POI is defined as a "method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical, or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10," per 4-36.

So rwest, a statment that would read, "The AP is the POI when...(correct critera for using the arrow)," if you replaced POI with the definition of POI, it would read, "The AP is the method of resuming play due to...(rest of definition)."

Is that more black and white for you?

bainsey Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727614)
Guys part of being an engineer is seeing things in terms of black and white and not so much gray. It is an occupational hazard of mine to be very analytical. I can't help it.

Sure you can, and that's coming from a black-and-white thinker, too. Try officiating soccer; that'll help you use your "gray matter."

APG is right on, though. The definition supersedes your opinion. While I find there are indeed some flaws in the rule book's wording, this isn't one of them. It appears you'll have to adjust accordingly.

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:12am

We will just have to agree to disagree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 727622)
I didn't say they'd be right. But I've seen it happen. "There's no team control, infraction, or goal involved in this play so we're going AP."

Or when the rule disagrees with your statement that AP is not POI. 4-36-2c

It's all one rule, 4-36, which is the definition of POI.

I'm all for a good debate, even one on semantics and logic.

My issue is that more people come to the wrong conclusion by not thinking AP is one portion of the POI rule. "Do we go AP or POI?" It's a question based on an incorrect understanding of the rule.

I believe that if you follow a logical progression of thought you will always come to the correct conclusion. Here's how I think of it. Shot goes up and we have a double foul. What is the point of interruption? A shot attempt. Do we have team control on a shot attempt? No. Did the shot go in? Yes, then we give the ball to the other team and let them run the endline. No, then how do we put a ball in play when we have no team control and we are not already administering a throw-in or free throw and a team is not entitled to such? We go with the arrow. This line of reasoning works for every case I can think of. I think in these terms and have never and do not believe I ever will come to the wrong conclusion.

rwest Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:13am

As does an official interpretation
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 727635)
Sure you can, and that's coming from a black-and-white thinker, too. Try officiating soccer; that'll help you use your "gray matter."

APG is right on, though. The definition supersedes your opinion. While I find there are indeed some flaws in the rule book's wording, this isn't one of them. It appears you'll have to adjust accordingly.

Official interpretations also supersedes our opinions but that doesn't prevent some from disregarding them when they don't like the interpretation.

Adam Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727637)
I believe that if you follow a logical progression of thought you will always come to the correct conclusion. Here's how I think of it. Shot goes up and we have a double foul. What is the point of interruption? A shot attempt. Do we have team control on a shot attempt? No. Did the shot go in? Yes, then we give the ball to the other team and let them run the endline. No, then how do we put a ball in play when we have no team control and we are not already administering a throw-in or free throw and a team is not entitled to such? We go with the arrow. This line of reasoning works for every case I can think of. I think in these terms and have never and do not believe I ever will come to the wrong conclusion.

I'm just not sure why you think a different line of reasoning is required when the rule itself is very clear and basic. AP is one method, the last method, in the progression of the POI rule.

bainsey Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 727641)
Official interpretations also supersedes our opinions but that doesn't prevent some from disregarding them when they don't like the interpretation.

That can be problematic, chief.

"I don't like the interpretation, so I'm going to enforce it my way." Such attitudes only lead to inconsistencies among us, and that doesn't make it better for the masses. It's better to adjust yourself to what everyone agreed upon (and remember, rules and interpretations are ultimately agreements).

Granted, in this case, your alternative viewpoint is merely a different means to the same end. Just be careful with disregarding things that have already been agreed upon. You can disagree, just keep on enforcing.

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 08:25am

Because the case book backs me up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 727650)
I'm just not sure why you think a different line of reasoning is required when the rule itself is very clear and basic. AP is one method, the last method, in the progression of the POI rule.

Case Play 4.19.8 Situation C

A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful.

Ruling: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a TRY IN FLIGHT; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used.

The writer of the case book believes the POI is not the AP but the TRY IN FLIGHT!

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 08:30am

That's my point
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 727652)
That can be problematic, chief.

"I don't like the interpretation, so I'm going to enforce it my way." Such attitudes only lead to inconsistencies among us, and that doesn't make it better for the masses. It's better to adjust yourself to what everyone agreed upon (and remember, rules and interpretations are ultimately agreements).

Granted, in this case, your alternative viewpoint is merely a different means to the same end. Just be careful with disregarding things that have already been agreed upon. You can disagree, just keep on enforcing.

I don't disregard official interpretations. Others on this board do when it doesn't fit with how they have interpreted the rule. You and I can't arbitrarily agree to disregard an official interpretation. You and I can have different interps but it is the official interp that carries the most weight! Otherwise, we can have utter chaos if we all interp the rules differently and disregard the governing body.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 09, 2011 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728052)
The writer of the case book believes the POI is not the AP but the TRY IN FLIGHT!

And the writer is completely correct as per NFHS rule 4-36. The POI is the try in flight. And some of the POI's end up being AP's, and this is one of them.

And for the record, I'm not sure exactly whatinthehell you two are arguing about. The rules are very clear imo. Rule 4-36-1 lays out when you go to the POI. Rule 4-36-2 lays out how you resume play at the POI is in different situations. And in the play being discussed, you use 4-36-2(c) because neither team was in control.

It's straightforward to me.

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 09:13am

And to me as well
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728063)
And the writer is completely correct as per NFHS rule 4-36. The POI is the try in flight. And some of the POI's end up being AP's, and this is one of them.

And for the record, I'm not sure exactly whatinthehell you two are arguing about. The rules are very clear imo. Rule 4-36-1 lays out when you go to the POI. Rule 4-36-2 lays out how you resume play at the POI is in different situations. And in the play being discussed, you use 4-36-2(c) because neither team was in control.

It's straightforward to me.

Some believe the POI in this case is the AP Arrow. I say the POI is not the AP Arrow, but the AP is the way we resume play, just as you have said. But others disagreed and the argument began.

just another ref Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728066)
Some believe the POI in this case is the AP Arrow. I say the POI is not the AP Arrow, but the AP is the way we resume play, just as you have said. But others disagreed and the argument began.


This will hurt your argument, but I agree with you.


POI= Play is resumed at the point of interruption. We start over at the exact point where we would have been had there been no whistle. If this is not possible, play is resumed with an AP throwin.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728066)
Some believe the POI in this case is the AP Arrow. I say the POI is not the AP Arrow, but the AP is the way we resume play, just as you have said. But others disagreed and the argument began.

Semantics, guys. And semantics that do nothing but confuse.

The POI is the POI. Nothing more; nothing less. You resume play according to the play conditions at the time of the POI.

You both obviously know the rule and how to apply it correctly. Why argue about meaningless semantics?

JMO

Adam Wed Feb 09, 2011 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728141)
Semantics, guys. And semantics that do nothing but confuse.

The POI is the POI. Nothing more; nothing less. You resume play according to the play conditions at the time of the POI.

You both obviously know the rule and how to apply it correctly. Why argue about meaningless semantics?

JMO

Why did the scorpion sting the frog?

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 728163)
Why did the scorpion sting the frog?

To get to the other side?:confused:

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:09pm

Because
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728141)
Semantics, guys. And semantics that do nothing but confuse.

The POI is the POI. Nothing more; nothing less. You resume play according to the play conditions at the time of the POI.

You both obviously know the rule and how to apply it correctly. Why argue about meaningless semantics?

JMO

Semantics can't be meaningless because by definition it is the study of meaning! Sorry, I couldn't help myself! :)

Adam Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728188)
To get to the other side?:confused:

Because it's in his nature.

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:11pm

Because
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 728163)
Why did the scorpion sting the frog?

It's what scorpions do. I think this is a comment directed at my propensity for arguing semantics! :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728192)
It's what scorpions do. I think this is a comment directed at my propensity for arguing <font color = red>meaningless</font> semantics.

Fixed it for ya...

And with any luck I pissed off both you and bainsey while doing so. :D

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:23pm

Lol
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728203)
Fixed it for ya...

And with any luck I pissed off both you and bainsey while doing so. :D

Where you trying to piss us off? :D

mbyron Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728204)
Were you trying to piss us off? :D

Intent is not a factor.

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:40pm

Intentional Foul
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 728212)
Intent is not a factor.

Intentional Foul on mbyron. Two shots and the ball! :D

mbyron Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728218)
Intentional Foul on mbyron. Two shots and the ball! :D

Hmph. That's the thanks I get for fixing your spelling error? :p

Adam Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728192)
It's what scorpions do. I think this is a comment directed at my propensity for arguing semantics! :)

Nah, more about why I've engaged the argument for so long.

Adam Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728204)
Where you trying to piss us off? :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 728212)
Intent is not a factor.

Does location matter?

mbyron Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 728224)
Does location matter?

Location always matters.

Well, except for a missed 3-point shot.

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:44pm

Yep
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 728221)
Hmph. That's the thanks I get for fixing your spelling error? :p

No good deed goes unpunished! :p

Adam Wed Feb 09, 2011 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728203)
Fixed it for ya...

And with any luck I pissed off both you and bainsey while doing so. :D

Yeah, that's bad form (sic) where he comes from. It could lead to him being misquoted and brought before congress or something.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 09, 2011 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 728204)
Where you trying to piss us off?

Where?

Georgia and Maine respectively.

rwest Wed Feb 09, 2011 03:44pm

SmartJurassicReferee
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728271)
Where?

Georgia and Maine respectively.

LOL! You got me!

bainsey Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 728203)
And with any luck I pissed off both you and bainsey while doing so. :D

Nah. :)

Welpe Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 728229)
Yeah, that's bad form (sic) where he comes from. It could lead to him being misquoted and brought before congress or something.

Never touch another man's dangling participle! :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1