The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timeout (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6193-timeout.html)

Bchill24 Thu Nov 07, 2002 11:51am

New rule states that an injured or bleeding player can stay in the game if the team calls a timeout. Here is a situation. A-1 is injured and the official informs the coach to come on the court. After attending A-1, he is okay and coach allows him to stay in the game. Can you as an official charge a timeout to the coach of A-1?

zebraman Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:11pm

Once the player has been attended to, the <b> only </b> way that A1 can stay in the game is if team A takes a timeout. "Coach, do you want to take a time-out to keep him/her in the game or are you going to substitute?"

If sub, tell timer to start the 30-second timer.

If no sub, ask the coach if the time-out is a full or a 30 and then grant it.

Z

rainmaker Thu Nov 07, 2002 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bchill24
.....he is okay and coach allows him to stay in the game.
The point is, the coach is not authorized to allow it. Only you have the authority, and you must not allow it. You can't grant a time-out if it isn't requested, unlike volleyball.

Pirate Thu Nov 07, 2002 01:43pm

Zebra:

I had a question on this response in your previous post.

"If sub, tell timer to start the 30-second timer."

I wasn't aware of a 30 second provision for a substitution in this case. I was always under the assumption that the coach was to substitute for the injured player as soon as possible. Can you (someone) direct me to the section of the rule book where I can find this? Thanks ahead of time for the info.

Pirate

zebraman Thu Nov 07, 2002 05:05pm

See Rule 10-5-1.D

"The head coach must remain seated on the bench at all times while the clock is running or is stopped except to:
d. Replace or remove a disqualified/injured player, or a player directed to leave the game, <b> within 30 seconds </b> when a substitute is availalbe, while withink the confines of his/her bench."

Z

Camron Rust Thu Nov 07, 2002 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
Once the player has been attended to, the <b> only </b> way that A1 can stay in the game is if team A takes a timeout. "Coach, do you want to take a time-out to keep him/her in the game or are you going to substitute?"

If sub, tell timer to start the 30-second timer.

If no sub, ask the coach if the time-out is a full or a 30 and then grant it.

Z

Don't have my new books yet, but I believe that only a full timeout can be used to keep the player in the game.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 07, 2002 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
Once the player has been attended to, the <b> only </b> way that A1 can stay in the game is if team A takes a timeout. "Coach, do you want to take a time-out to keep him/her in the game or are you going to substitute?"

If sub, tell timer to start the 30-second timer.

If no sub, ask the coach if the time-out is a full or a 30 and then grant it.

Z

Don't have my new books yet, but I believe that only a full timeout can be used to keep the player in the game.

They can use either a 30 or 60 second time-out,Camron.See "comments on rules revisions" on NFHS.org.

Mark Padgett Thu Nov 07, 2002 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust

Don't have my new books yet, but I believe that only a full timeout can be used to keep the player in the game.

Camron - as JR says below, either a full or 30 can be used. However, the rule also states that the situation must be able to be corrected within the allotted time. In my opinion, if a 30 is given and the player cannot continue at that time (still bleeding, etc) then either you change it to a full (not my first choice) or the player stays out and you resume play (my first choice). I think the choice of the player staying out makes sense since if he isn't able to come in after 60 seconds (in the case of a full being granted), you wouldn't extend the time.

I haven't checked the NF site yet, but maybe we should.

BTW - why don't you have your books yet? I got mine in early Oct.

OK - I checked the site and it said a team may be granted successive timeouts (as long as they have any remaining) until the player is ready to play.

[Edited by Mark Padgett on Nov 7th, 2002 at 06:37 PM]

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 07, 2002 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
[/B]
Camron - as JR says below, either a full or 30 can be used. However, the rule also states that the situation must be able to be corrected within the allotted time. In my opinion, if a 30 is given and the player cannot continue at that time (still bleeding, etc) then either you change it to a full (not my first choice) or the player stays out and you resume play (my first choice). [/B][/QUOTE]Mark,I don't think that you can change the called 30 to a 60sec. timeout if the player isn't ready.I think that they have to call another,separate TO(either 30 or 60) rather than being allowed to change the one that they were originally granted.

zebraman Fri Nov 08, 2002 01:24am

Jurassic Referee is correct, you cannot change the time-out to a full once it's been granted as a 30. A team can call a successive time-out to keep the player in the game.

Z

JRutledge Fri Nov 08, 2002 01:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
See Rule 10-5-1.D

"The head coach must remain seated on the bench at all times while the clock is running or is stopped except to:
d. Replace or remove a disqualified/injured player, or a player directed to leave the game, <b> within 30 seconds </b> when a substitute is availalbe, while withink the confines of his/her bench."

Z

The first part of that does not apply if your state has adopted the coaching box rule. They can stand as long as they do not have a Direct T or a Indirect T. Rule 1-13.

Peace

RookieDude Fri Nov 08, 2002 06:58am

....and, as stated in previous posts, if a sub is not ready nor is the injured player ready at the end of the time-out...i.e. no player has reported before the 45 second horn on a full time-out or the 20 second horn on a 30 second time-out....just tell the coach to get a player in the game.
No technical fouls called for not having a sub report in time when an injury is involved.

RD

Another sitch that may happen when you have an injured/bloodied player:
Player A1 has blood on his uniform...Team B requests a time-out. The referee notices blood on A1 after he grants Team B the time-out.
Ruling: If Coach A wants player A1 to stay in the game he will have to "burn" a time out even though Team B has been granted a time-out. Therefore, in this sitch, you would have a time-out charged to each team.
(Insert She's where the He's are if you wish) ;)

[Edited by RookieDude on Nov 8th, 2002 at 06:07 AM]

Marty Rogers Fri Nov 08, 2002 07:51am

Another sitch that may happen when you have an injured/bloodied player:
Player A1 has blood on his uniform...Team B requests a time-out. The referee notices blood on A1 after he grants Team B the time-out.
Ruling: If Coach A wants player A1 to stay in the game he will have to "burn" a time out even though Team B has been granted a time-out. Therefore, in this sitch, you would have a time-out charged to each team.


Why can't Coach A get A1 ready to go back during team B's timeout (provided he is ready at 45 second horn)?

RookieDude Fri Nov 08, 2002 08:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by Marty Rogers
Another sitch that may happen when you have an injured/bloodied player:
Player A1 has blood on his uniform...Team B requests a time-out. The referee notices blood on A1 after he grants Team B the time-out.
Ruling: If Coach A wants player A1 to stay in the game he will have to "burn" a time out even though Team B has been granted a time-out. Therefore, in this sitch, you would have a time-out charged to each team.


Why can't Coach A get A1 ready to go back during team B's timeout (provided he is ready at 45 second horn)?

Because Rule 3-3-6 requires the bloodied player's team to request a time-out in order for him/her to be allowed to return to the game.

RD

zebraman Fri Nov 08, 2002 09:17am

<i>The first part of that does not apply if your state has adopted the coaching box rule. They can stand as long as they do not have a Direct T or a Indirect T. Rule 1-13. </i>

Rut, this post wasn't about the standing part, it was about the "blood or injury" part. I posted the whole rule so nothing would be taken out of context. Besides, even in states that allow a coaching box, a coach isn't allowed to be standing all the time. He/she has to be actively coaching or they sit.

Z


Nevadaref Fri Nov 08, 2002 09:21am

I believe the key is whether or not the official has directed the player to leave the game. If I haven't yet done so, as in the example you describe with team B being granted time-out, I see no problem with them handling his injury/bleeding during B's time-out. I agree with those that wrote the rule states his/her team requests time-out, but I wouldn't go sticking my nose over there amongst team A. Now if A1 comes back onto the court after the time-out and is not fixed to your satisfaction, then send him to the bench and now they must burn the TO.
Be a little flexible.
I also think this rule will be rewritten as it is so vague. See some of the earlier posts on this rule change.

[Edited by nevadaref on Nov 9th, 2002 at 02:06 AM]

ChuckElias Fri Nov 08, 2002 09:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
even in states that allow a coaching box, a coach isn't allowed to be standing all the time. He/she has to be actively coaching or they sit.
That's the theory. . . But in reality, I've got too many other things to worry about. As long as he's not screaming at me, I don't care if he's standing and coaching, or standing and watching.

Chuck

bob jenkins Fri Nov 08, 2002 09:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Because Rule 3-3-6 requires the bloodied player's team to request a time-out in order for him/her to be allowed to return to the game.

RD

But that's only when a player is directed to leave the game.

That didn't happen when the blood was discovered during the TO.

If this happened last year, we wouldn't require a sub, right? So, we don't require either a sub or a TO this year.

Nevadaref Fri Nov 08, 2002 09:46am

An example of how vague and poorly worded this new rule is:
Notice that the rule only requires the team to "request" a time-out. It says nothing about it actually having to be granted!
Does anyone out there have access to the people who write these rules?

[Edited by nevadaref on Nov 9th, 2002 at 02:06 AM]

Camron Rust Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
Once the player has been attended to, the <b> only </b> way that A1 can stay in the game is if team A takes a timeout. "Coach, do you want to take a time-out to keep him/her in the game or are you going to substitute?"

If sub, tell timer to start the 30-second timer.

If no sub, ask the coach if the time-out is a full or a 30 and then grant it.

Z

Don't have my new books yet, but I believe that only a full timeout can be used to keep the player in the game.

My above statement is incorrect. It can be either type of timeout. I was thinking of the correctable error timeout.

RookieDude Fri Nov 08, 2002 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Because Rule 3-3-6 requires the bloodied player's team to request a time-out in order for him/her to be allowed to return to the game.

RD

But that's only when a player is directed to leave the game.

That didn't happen when the blood was discovered during the TO.

If this happened last year, we wouldn't require a sub, right? So, we don't require either a sub or a TO this year.

In my sitch I used the example that A1 was discovered to have blood on his uniform after Team B had requested a time-out. This question arose at our State, WA state, rules meeting. The rules clinician stated that if both Teams had bloodied players, both teams would have to use a time-out to get their bloodied players back in the game.
A question was asked to the clinician about a Team calling time-out and then the other Team's player seen by an official leaving the floor to have blood on his uniform. The clinician stated that if the Team that had a bloodied player wanted him back in...then they would have to use a time-out, even though the other Team had already been charged with a time-out.
bob jenkins has a point though...we probably could have let the player in if he got the situation "fixed" during the other Team's time-out...
What's different this year?

RD


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1