The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 08, 2002, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,453
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by dblref
Why is this different than the play discussed in the other thread about A1 "alighting", jump stop, and then shooting. Is is because of the "pivot"?
I'm not sure what's in the other thread, but after a jump stop (as used by officials; not necessarily as used by coaches), a player cannot pivot. It becomes traveling when the pivot foot (either foot) is lifted and returned to the floor, or lifted and a dribble is started. It's not traveling to lift the pivot foot and shoot or pass (which, I'm guessing, is what's in the other thread).
Thanks Bob. The other thread is "Casebook 4.33" and Chuck Elias answered my question over there.
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. He will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1