The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6190-travel-not.html)

Bchill24 Thu Nov 07, 2002 08:31am

A-1 catches the ball while in the air, lands on one foot, jumps and lands simultaneously on both feet. A-1 then pivots. Travel or not?

PAULK1 Thu Nov 07, 2002 08:38am

Travel

Nevadaref Thu Nov 07, 2002 09:19am

Yes, it is a travel.
Once you execute a jump stop (which is what you describe in the land on one, jump to two) you may not pivot with either foot. You may however, pick up either or both feet and pass or shoot before returning the foot/feet to the floor.
Rule ref: 4-43-2a(3)

firedoc Thu Nov 07, 2002 04:55pm

NevadaRef is correct. A pivot foot can always be lifted, but not placed back on the floor. An easy way to remember it is that a player after dribbling can always jump into the air (with one or both feet) in order to shoot or pass.

dblref Fri Nov 08, 2002 06:44am

Why is this different than the play discussed in the other thread about A1 "alighting", jump stop, and then shooting. Is is because of the "pivot"?

bob jenkins Fri Nov 08, 2002 09:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by dblref
Why is this different than the play discussed in the other thread about A1 "alighting", jump stop, and then shooting. Is is because of the "pivot"?
I'm not sure what's in the other thread, but after a jump stop (as used by officials; not necessarily as used by coaches), a player cannot pivot. It becomes traveling when the pivot foot (either foot) is lifted and returned to the floor, or lifted and a dribble is started. It's not traveling to lift the pivot foot and shoot or pass (which, I'm guessing, is what's in the other thread).

dblref Fri Nov 08, 2002 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by dblref
Why is this different than the play discussed in the other thread about A1 "alighting", jump stop, and then shooting. Is is because of the "pivot"?
I'm not sure what's in the other thread, but after a jump stop (as used by officials; not necessarily as used by coaches), a player cannot pivot. It becomes traveling when the pivot foot (either foot) is lifted and returned to the floor, or lifted and a dribble is started. It's not traveling to lift the pivot foot and shoot or pass (which, I'm guessing, is what's in the other thread).

Thanks Bob. The other thread is "Casebook 4.33" and Chuck Elias answered my question over there.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1