|  | 
| 
 Going to the 'toes'. When a player has a pivot foot established and, in a failed attempt to pass the ball, rolls onto the 'point' of the shoe, (the tip toes), shouldn't this be called a travel violation? I have seen this called as a violation and let go. Thank you for the help. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Actually, the pivot may be lifted (how else can players attempt a jump shot or layup) its not a violation until it returns to the floor, before releasing the ball.  In your sitch it never came off the floor. | 
| 
 Did the entire foot ever actaully leave the playing surface? | 
| 
 I didn't descibe a player shooting.  I described the player attempting a pass. So no violation as long as the pivot foot is maintained within it limits. Once the foot is drug, we have a violaion. Thanks again, just want to get it correct. | 
| 
 The title of this thread is grossly misleading. :mad: | 
| 
 Quote: 
 Dragging the pivot foot constitutes "moving it in excess of prescribed limits." Rule 4-44. | 
| 
 Exactly.  If the pivot foot drags before a pass/shot, it's a travel for moving it beyond the prescribed limits.  If the pivot foot is lifted, it's not a travel unless it's returned to the floor before the pass/shot. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 got ya. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38pm. |