![]() |
Going to the 'toes'.
When a player has a pivot foot established and, in a failed attempt to pass the ball, rolls onto the 'point' of the shoe, (the tip toes), shouldn't this be called a travel violation?
I have seen this called as a violation and let go. Thank you for the help. |
Quote:
|
Actually, the pivot may be lifted (how else can players attempt a jump shot or layup) its not a violation until it returns to the floor, before releasing the ball.
In your sitch it never came off the floor. |
Did the entire foot ever actaully leave the playing surface?
|
I didn't descibe a player shooting. I described the player attempting a pass.
So no violation as long as the pivot foot is maintained within it limits. Once the foot is drug, we have a violaion. Thanks again, just want to get it correct. |
The title of this thread is grossly misleading. :mad:
|
Quote:
Dragging the pivot foot constitutes "moving it in excess of prescribed limits." Rule 4-44. |
Exactly. If the pivot foot drags before a pass/shot, it's a travel for moving it beyond the prescribed limits. If the pivot foot is lifted, it's not a travel unless it's returned to the floor before the pass/shot.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
got ya.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
haha, well played bob j.
welpe, surprised you never heard that rex ryan story...but maybe it wasn't front page news outside of new york and boston? what's the mark cuban reference? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Between basketball, the holidays and my wife being ~8 months pregnant, I've been pretty out of the loop. ;) |
Quote:
|
Welpe, if she's 8 mos pregnant, I'm quite sure you've been out of the loop.
|
We have a newborn now, so I am definitely out of the loop. :D
|
Quote:
|
Congratulations!
So how many games are you going to miss? haha. |
I missed a few weeks worth but I've been squeezing some in when I can. That is until "SNOWMAGEDDON 2011" hit Texas. :eek:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm. |