![]() |
Over and Back Rule
Lets say a ball handler has the ball and dribbles toward their basket and sees a trap defense of some kind. Can they put two feet in the front court and the ball in the back court and straddle the mid court line? While straddling can they retreat to the back court if the defense runs at them?
|
Quote:
The answer is yes, a player can do this. When a dribbler is moving from BC to FC, he maintains BC status until both feet and the ball have entered (by touching) the FC, consecutively in <strike>consecutive</strike> any order. |
But while he is doing this, you continue with your 10 second count.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I think you were really trying to say simultaneously as opposed to consecutively? Then, I would agree with your example. |
Chicken or the egg?
It really doesn't matter if the ball enters the FC first or the feet first or boht at the same time, you don't have FC status until the feet and the ball are all in the FC at the same time. Guess I don't understand the debate here |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That's clearly not true. |
Quote:
Quote:
I'll go back and add "in any order" to make it correct. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'm not sure why you're going to the mat for the sake of the word 'consecutively'. It's not that great a word. :rolleyes: |
Quote:
Now I concede. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19am. |