The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 06, 2002, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust

Yes. A1 still gets two tries.
Why does he get two tries, when this is the second of two shots?
He gets two attempts to make one because of the violation. When the official blows the whistle, it does not cancel B's violation. When the ball is handed to A, the official will immediately indicate a deleyed violation. If missed, A gets one more.
Camron, perhaps this is just a vocabulary thing, perhaps not, I'm so confused, I'm not sure what I'm confused about. Are you saying that A1 already had her first shot, and then on the second shot B1 violated before the ball was released, and the ref blew the whistle before the ball was released, and now, A1 gets a new shot, but if it's missed, she gets yet another try? So the first "replacement" shot has a built-in violation, giving another try if missed? In a sense, we're giving three to make one? My tone may sound a little argumentative, but it's not, I'm just trying to clarify.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1