The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Yikes (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61462-yikes.html)

RookieDude Sun Jan 30, 2011 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 723997)
I know that RookieDude doesn't do FIBA and his state doesn't use a shot clock in high school games so I thought it had to be college rules.

Woddy...here in Washington State, the girls side (which I have never officiated) has had a 30 second shot clock for quite some time. (NFHS)

The boys side got a 35 second shot clock last year. Even though I did some small college ball years ago...I still feel like I could do a better job with shot clock management in the H.S. game.

Butterfly182310 Sun Jan 30, 2011 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 723773)
What do you do when a partner kicks a call? Not misses a call or sees it differently, if by rule he gets it wrong...
...But as a partner in this or any situation where I know my partner gets the call wrong by the book, but won't even discuss changing it: what do you do?

This is one issue where knowing who the "R" is on the game becomes important. We certainly don't want to have a protracted on-court discussion, but we also want to get the call correct. If you're the "R", it's your responsibility to "hear" your partner's interpretation and make a decision. If you're not the "R", it's your responsibility to state your interpretation as accurately and concisely as possible, then stand back and allow the "R" to make, and sell, his/her decision. In either case, it's "game on" and don't look back till you get into the locker room.

Adam Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 723997)
I know that RookieDude doesn't do FIBA and his state doesn't use a shot clock in high school games so I thought it had to be college rules.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 724010)
Woddy...here in Washington State, the girls side (which I have never officiated) has had a 30 second shot clock for quite some time. (NFHS)

The boys side got a 35 second shot clock last year. Even though I did some small college ball years ago...I still feel like I could do a better job with shot clock management in the H.S. game.

I won't say "I told you so."

I won't. I won't.

Adam Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 (Post 724015)
This is one issue where knowing who the "R" is on the game becomes important. We certainly don't want to have a protracted on-court discussion, but we also want to get the call correct. If you're the "R", it's your responsibility to "hear" your partner's interpretation and make a decision. If you're not the "R", it's your responsibility to state your interpretation as accurately and concisely as possible, then stand back and allow the "R" to make, and sell, his/her decision. In either case, it's "game on" and don't look back till you get into the locker room.

Where in the book is the R given permission to overrule a called violation?

NoFussRef Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:55pm

I thought FIBA was different rules....
 
I think in FIBA if your partner kicks a call you then get to kick him.

If a player brings a correctable kicked call to your attention I think he is then awarded two kicks and the ball.

If a coach brings a kicked call to your attention after the ball has become live then I believe the coach can only kick himself, his Assistant coach, or his stuttering captain. (coaches choice as per 10.99.556.7.62 articles 11-26)

eg-italy Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 723966)
So your shot clocks are always the same? Meaning when they say "1," it's actually between 0.0000001 and 1? There aren't any models for which "1" means between 1 and 1.99999999?

All that I have seen do this way: the horn sound when they change from 1 to 0.

Ciao

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 31, 2011 06:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 (Post 724015)
This is one issue where knowing who the "R" is on the game becomes important. We certainly don't want to have a protracted on-court discussion, but we also want to get the call correct. If you're the "R", it's your responsibility to "hear" your partner's interpretation and make a decision. If you're not the "R", it's your responsibility to state your interpretation as accurately and concisely as possible, then stand back and allow the "R" to make, and sell, his/her decision. In either case, it's "game on" and don't look back till you get into the locker room.

Oh my.......

That recommendation of yours goes directly against the rules. The R has never had the power to set aside a call made by another official.

Time to put in some serious rulebook reading time methinks.

Butterfly182310 Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 724021)
Where in the book is the R given permission to overrule a called violation?

Nowhere in the rule book is anyone given permission to overrule a partners' call, but go back to the original scenario of this discussion thread. Both officials made a call. One verbally to everyone to continue playing, no violation had occurred. One whistling a violation. Two officials with obviously two different interpretations, and everyone knows it. A discussion between the officials has to take place. The "R", as crew chief, has the tie breaking responsibility resting on his/her shoulders. Regardless which way it goes, one of the calls is being "overruled". In this case, the calling official overruled the "play on" official.

If only one official makes a call, and the other official knows it's incorrect, the most the other official can do, regardless who is "R" or "U", is bring the error to the calling official's attention, and allow him/her to correct the call if they choose to do so. That is not the case in the context of this discussion. Someone has to be in charge when there are obvious conflicting interpretations between officials.

just another ref Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 (Post 724498)
One verbally to everyone to continue playing, no violation had occurred. One whistling a violation. Two officials with obviously two different interpretations, and everyone knows it. A discussion between the officials has to take place. The "R", as crew chief, has the tie breaking responsibility resting on his/her shoulders. Regardless which way it goes, one of the calls is being "overruled". In this case, the calling official overruled the "play on" official.


"Play on" is not a call. No matter how wrong it may be, the whistle wins every time in this "tie."

Adam Tue Feb 01, 2011 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 (Post 724498)
Nowhere in the rule book is anyone given permission to overrule a partners' call, but go back to the original scenario of this discussion thread. Both officials made a call. One verbally to everyone to continue playing, no violation had occurred. One whistling a violation. Two officials with obviously two different interpretations, and everyone knows it. A discussion between the officials has to take place. The "R", as crew chief, has the tie breaking responsibility resting on his/her shoulders. Regardless which way it goes, one of the calls is being "overruled". In this case, the calling official overruled the "play on" official.

Show me. Reading 2-5, I don't see anything about tie-breaking authority; unless there is a goal involved.

Adam Tue Feb 01, 2011 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 724524)
"Play on" is not a call. No matter how wrong it may be, the whistle wins every time in this "tie."

Yep.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1