The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's The Correct Call ??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61448-whats-correct-call.html)

bainsey Mon Jan 31, 2011 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 724312)
The point was a controlled bat does not equal player control, and that's why team control isn't an issue yet on that rebound.

We agree on that, but here's the difference between your sitch and Billy's:

Yours: Rebound (no control)- tip by A-1 (still no control) - ball goes into A's backcourt, A-2 holds the ball (player control) = legal, because there was no team control in the frontcourt after the shot.

Billy's: A-1 holds the ball (player control) - A-1 fumbles - A-1 bats the ball intentionally on the floor - A-1 picks up the ball (player control) = travelling.

More succinctly, the fact that Billy's sitch started with control, and yours did not, is the key difference. Again, I see intentionally moving the ball on the floor the same as moving the ball in the air, provided there was player control on both ends.

bainsey Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 724313)
I'm done, bainsey. I'm tired of repeating myself and it's obviously a waste of both our times.

Probably so. Suit yourself, sir. You wouldn't have to repeat yourself, anyway, if you aimed for understanding.

Adam Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 724314)
True, but isn't the primary way we determine if it was a dribble is if the batter (for the lack of a better term) is the next person to touch the ball? I don't know that I agree that batting the ball away from the opponent always means it's not a dribble. It's not like a normal dribble is always batting the ball towards the opponent.

I'm not sold on the idea I putting out here. I just don't think it's been examined enough.

I've stated before, my rule of thumb on a dribble is whether the "dribbler" is able to contact the ball between bounces. If it bounces more than once between touches, it's likely not a dribble.

This obviously can't apply to a rolled ball. It does seem pretty clear, though, that by "dribble" the rules mean a bouncing ball under the control of a player. Rolling it doesn't count, and playing keep-away doesn't seem to be enough of an unintented advantage to me to justify changing the rules.

Adam Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 724318)
We agree on that, but here's the difference between your sitch and Billy's:

Yours: Rebound (no control)- tip by A-1 (still no control) - ball goes into A's backcourt, A-2 holds the ball (player control) = legal, because there was no team control in the frontcourt after the shot.

Billy's: A-1 holds the ball (player control) - A-1 fumbles - A-1 bats the ball intentionally on the floor - A-1 picks up the ball (player control) = travelling.

More succinctly, the fact that Billy's sitch started with control, and yours did not, is the key difference. Again, I see intentionally moving the ball on the floor the same as moving the ball in the air, provided there was player control on both ends.

Player control is the only relevant issue here, and that was lost in Billy's play as well, not to be regained until he picks it up.

Let's change it slightly again. A1 fumbles the ball (already used his dribble) in the air. Runs to get it and bats it in the air. He runs to get it, and bats it again (outjumps a defender) before taking two more steps to retrieve the ball.

Call?

YooperRef Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 724328)
Player control is the only relevant issue here, and that was lost in Billy's play as well, not to be regained until he picks it up.

Let's change it slightly again. A1 fumbles the ball (already used his dribble) in the air. Runs to get it and bats it in the air. He runs to get it, and bats it again (outjumps a defender) before taking two more steps to retrieve the ball.

Call?

Play on in the OP and play on in the new sitch.

bainsey Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 724328)
Player control is the only relevant issue here...

It looks like that's the crux of our difference. I say team control is relevant, because if team control were lost (i.e. a try for goal), then a travel for recovering the ball would indeed be impossible. However, since team control remained throughout (i.e. the ball travelling through the air, not a shot), then travelling is still possible, IMO.

Quote:

Let's change it slightly again. A1 fumbles the ball (already used his dribble) in the air. Runs to get it and bats it in the air. He runs to get it, and bats it again (outjumps a defender) before taking two more steps to retrieve the ball. Call?
Good question. Assuming he's he holding the ball prior to the fumble, it would depend upon the bats. If he's batting to chase down the ball in any direction, then I'd let it go. If he's clearly intentionally trying to move the ball to a certain spot, then I'd equate that to the ball being thrown in the air and caught by the same player, so I'd have a travel.

I suppose the issue is whether you think a fumble gives a player carte blanche to move the ball as he sees fit. I don't think so.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 724311)
Soooooo.....

You would never agree with someone that said:
1) "The ref was writing his own rules on this one and deserved to be called on it."
2) "In the end I can only hope that OFC1 goes home and opens his rulebook so he doesn't invite that kind of trouble again by BS'ing his way through situations."
3) "OFC1 invited that grief upon himself being so off-base on so many rules."

Got it. Personally you'd always back up an official that thought they understood the spirit and intent of a rule and were intelligently applying the rule, and not just blindly following the letter of the rule. I'm sure that official will be just so happy to hear of your support. :)

Now I know exactly where you're coming from.

You can't debate the merits of the situation so you go and pull completely unrelated stuff out of the past...Intelligent, very intelligent. Keep showing your true colors.

You've yet to tell me why the two case plays I've referenced where a player NOT holding the ball is called for traveling despite your insistence that it can't be. You're the one off-base and ignoring the precedent that is in black and white in the rule/case book that considers a player to be holding the ball when they deliberately do something to circumvent the travel rule.

In the thread you're pulling that stuff from, the official in question wasn't anywhere close and they weren't unusual situations....he just totally messed up. No one has disputed that....the only issue was the behavior of the coach....which we (including me) all agree was not acceptable and deserved a T. My comments that the official deserved the grief he got also stand....he showed a complete lack of basic rules knowledge and made stuff up with no basis on anything. It wasn't like he was taking an unusual play and extrapolating from existing rulings that were close to the same thing. Regardless of your desire to back officials blindly, it is possible for both of them to be wrong.

Adam Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 724337)
It looks like that's the crux of our difference. I say team control is relevant, because if team control were lost (i.e. a try for goal), then a travel for recovering the ball would indeed be impossible. However, since team control remained throughout (i.e. the ball travelling through the air, not a shot), then travelling is still possible, IMO.

I say you have no rules basis for this distinction. Player control is required to travel, and batting the ball very specifically does not constitute player control.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 724337)
Good question. Assuming he's he holding the ball prior to the fumble, it would depend upon the bats. If he's batting to chase down the ball in any direction, then I'd let it go. If he's clearly intentionally trying to move the ball to a certain spot, then I'd equate that to the ball being thrown in the air and caught by the same player, so I'd have a travel.

I suppose the issue is whether you think a fumble gives a player carte blanche to move the ball as he sees fit. I don't think so.

No, the issue is whether you can add stuff to the rules to distinguish between different plays that really, in the end, use the same rules. There is no rule-based distinction between the rebound-bat and the fumble-bat plays.

Again, a controlled bat does not equal player control no matter how much you want it to.

bainsey Mon Jan 31, 2011 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 724346)
Player control is required to travel, and batting the ball very specifically does not constitute player control.

Very well, then.

We've established that holding a ball, throwing it (not a try), running several steps, and catching it is travelling.

Let's say A-1 holds the ball, tosses it in the air, BATS IT, runs several steps, and catches it. Is this legal?

Adam Mon Jan 31, 2011 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 724353)
Very well, then.

We've established that holding a ball, throwing it (not a try), running several steps, and catching it is travelling.

Let's say A-1 holds the ball, tosses it in the air, BATS IT, runs several steps, and catches it. Is this legal?

Nope. That's an illegal dribble that has recently been unceremoniously changed to a travel. The key to the play in the OP is the fact that the player traveled and thus ended player control.

bainsey Mon Jan 31, 2011 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 724356)
That's an illegal dribble that has recently been unceremoniously changed to a travel.

Then, it's a travel. What it used to be is irrelevant.

Adam Mon Jan 31, 2011 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 724359)
Then, it's a travel. What it used to be is irrelevant.

No, it's not irrelevant. It's a violation because it's a dribble that fails to hit the floor between consecutive touches by the hands of the player in control.

But we're diverging from the point. The point is, without the fumble, the same rules don't apply.

BillyMac Mon Jan 31, 2011 05:31pm

Let's Be Accurate ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 724318)
Billy's: A-1 holds the ball (player control) - A-1 fumbles - A-1 bats the ball intentionally on the floor - A-1 picks up the ball (player control) = traveling.

For accuracy's sake, I blew the whistle before A1 picked up the ball. I blew it after the third tap and roll (actually after the second intentional tap and roll, I judged the first tap and roll to be a fumble).

Adam Mon Jan 31, 2011 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 724372)
I judged the first tap and roll to be a fumble).

He'd already fumbled at this point, right? You can't fumble a ball you don't control.

bainsey Mon Jan 31, 2011 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 724372)
For accuracy's sake, I blew the whistle before A1 picked up the ball.

Swell. I'm basing my entire point on the whistling the play on the pick up, not the bats.

Indeed the bats are not control, so I have nothing until the ball is picked up on this play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1