The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   over and back??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61334-over-back.html)

hawkeyegb Fri Jan 28, 2011 09:08am

over and back???
 
Ball is being inbounded underneath in the frontcourt. Long/high pass gets tipped in the frontcourt by the offensive team and then recovered by the same person in the backcourt.

just another ref Fri Jan 28, 2011 09:12am

No team control in frontcourt. No violation.

BEAREF Fri Jan 28, 2011 09:12am

Nope

BktBallRef Fri Jan 28, 2011 09:57am

Congratulations! You are the 1000th person to post this question on the forum!!! :D

GoodwillRef Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bktballref (Post 722654)
congratulations! You are the 1000th person to post this question on the forum!!! :d

+1

RookieDude Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 722654)
Congratulations! You are the 1000th person to post this question on the forum!!! :D

So? What's that's suppose to mean?

Oh wait...I see your big smiley face. I guess you are laughing at the question. My bad...I should have known.:rolleyes:

TimTaylor Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:18pm

And just for the record, there is no such thing as "over and back" - the correct term is back court violation...:D

Raymond Fri Jan 28, 2011 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hawkeyegb (Post 722626)
Ball is being inbounded underneath in the frontcourt. Long/high pass gets tipped in the frontcourt by the offensive team and then recovered by the same person in the backcourt.

I believe this play is easily found somewhere in the case book.

BillyMac Fri Jan 28, 2011 06:16pm

Looks Like Another Job For The ...
 
Mythbusters.

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

Mark Padgett Fri Jan 28, 2011 06:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 722941)
In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

BillyMac, while you are on the nose about there not being team control during a throw-in, I thought we should be incredibly nit-picky for the newbies. Your sentence above might be construed as meaning that team control is defined as occurring whenever a player is holding or dribbling the ball. Of course, what you mean is that during a time of no team control (such as a throw-in), team control is established when a player establishes player control, which is defined as a player holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

Again, just being nit-picky, probably because those damn nits have been running around my office all day! :eek:

BillyMac Fri Jan 28, 2011 07:13pm

Stoopid Tree Huggers ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 722950)
Just being nit-picky, probably because those damn nits have been running around my office all day!

I blame it on the banning of DDT.

BktBallRef Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 722711)
So? What's that's suppose to mean?

Oh wait...I see your big smiley face. I guess you are laughing at the question. My bad...I should have known.:rolleyes:

No, I wasn't laughing at the question. I was joking about it being the most commonly asked play situation on the forum. That's all. No need to be an a$$.

johnsonboys03 Sat Jan 29, 2011 01:25am

How about an inbound in the frontcourt (I know it doesn't matter but painting the picture) the ball gets batted before any team control was established. The ball is rolling on the floot towards the division line when A1 dives gains control in the front court but the momentum of his dive causes him to roll into the back court. No travel violation since his momentum caused the roll, but what about the back court violation. Does momentum prevent this as well?

referee99 Sat Jan 29, 2011 01:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 723051)
How about an inbound in the frontcourt (I know it doesn't matter but painting the picture) the ball gets batted before any team control was established. The ball is rolling on the floot towards the division line when A1 dives gains control in the front court but the momentum of his dive causes him to roll into the back court. No travel violation since his momentum caused the roll, but what about the back court violation. Does momentum prevent this as well?

If the player "rolls over" you get to display your judgment about whether they have traveled. Or, if you judge the player to have player control in the front court, and they <i>slide</i> and come in contact with the back court, then they have violated.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 29, 2011 06:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 723051)
How about an inbound in the frontcourt (I know it doesn't matter but painting the picture) the ball gets batted before any team control was established. The ball is rolling on the floot towards the division line when A1 dives <font color = red>gains control in the front court</font> but the momentum of his dive causes him to roll into the back court. No travel violation since his momentum caused the roll, but what about the back court violation. Does momentum prevent this as well?

No, his momentum didn't prevent the player from going into the backcourt; it caused the player to go into his backcourt. That's why it's a backcout violation.

This isn't the exception where the player gaining control in the air on a throw-in is allowed a normal landing into the backcourt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1