The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   pass to yourself (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61262-pass-yourself.html)

furlu55 Thu Jan 27, 2011 04:04am

pass to yourself
 
if an offensive player with ball control attempts a pass and it leaves his hands but never touches the floor, is it a travel???

APG Thu Jan 27, 2011 04:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by furlu55 (Post 722187)
if an offensive player with ball control attempts a pass and it leaves his hands but never touches the floor, is it a travel???

Couple of points:

1. By rule and definition, it is impossible to pass the ball to oneself. A pass by definition is movement by a player who by throwing, batting or rolling the ball goes to another player.

2. If a player throws the ball and touches it before it hits the floor, it would be a travel. If the player is just tossing the ball between his hands and maintaining his pivot foot, then play on. Case book play 4.44.3 Situation D.

SamIAm Thu Jan 27, 2011 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 722189)
Couple of points:

1. By rule and definition, it is impossible to pass the ball to oneself. A pass by definition is movement by a player who by throwing, batting or rolling the ball goes to another player.

2. If a player throws the ball and touches it before it hits the floor, it would be a travel. If the player is just tossing the ball between his hands and maintaining his pivot foot, then play on. Case book play 4.44.3 Situation D.

I hope you don't mind a little help on #2 above -

2. If a player, who has picked up his dribble, throws the ball, moves his pivot foot, then catches the thrown ball, it is a violation.

It used to be an illegal dribble violation, but I seem to remember it was changed to a travel violation, which doesn't matter so much as the penalty is the same.

Adam Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 722229)
I hope you don't mind a little help on #2 above -

2. If a player, who has picked up his dribble, throws the ball, moves his pivot foot, then catches the thrown ball, it is a violation.

It used to be an illegal dribble violation, but I seem to remember it was changed to a travel violation, which doesn't matter so much as the penalty is the same.

Please allow a slight correction.

2. If a player, who has picked up his dribble, throws the ball, moves his pivot foot beyond the prescribed limits, then catches the thrown ball, it is a violation.

It is possible to move the pivot (by lifting it) and not travel.

mbyron Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 722285)
It is possible to move the pivot (by lifting it) and not travel.

You're telling me! Must have had 5 times last night the girl lifted her pivot foot and passed, and the crowd is crying for a travel!

Adam Thu Jan 27, 2011 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 722312)
You're telling me! Must have had 5 times last night the girl lifted her pivot foot and passed, and the crowd is crying for a travel!

It's funny, cause if she'd have simply jumped off of both feet after establishing a pivot, no one would have said anything.

BktBallRef Thu Jan 27, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by furlu55 (Post 722187)
if an offensive player with ball control attempts a pass and it leaves his hands but never touches the floor, is it a travel???


Concerning "pass to yourself," there's no such thing. That would not be a pass by definition.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 27, 2011 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 722285)
Please allow a slight correction.

2. If a player, who has picked up his dribble, throws the ball, moves his pivot foot beyond the prescribed limits, then catches the thrown ball, it is a violation.

It is possible to move the pivot (by lifting it) and not travel.

I believe the commonly accepted meaning of "move the pivot foot" is "move the pivot foot to a new location on the floor", not "lift the pivot foot".

SamIAm Thu Jan 27, 2011 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 722285)
Please allow a slight correction.

2. If a player, who has picked up his dribble, throws the ball, moves his pivot foot beyond the prescribed limits, then catches the thrown ball, it is a violation.

It is possible to move the pivot (by lifting it) and not travel.

I don't mind at all as long as you allow Mr. C. Rust to correct your correction.:D

Adam Thu Jan 27, 2011 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 722365)
I believe the commonly accepted meaning of "move the pivot foot" is "move the pivot foot to a new location on the floor", not "lift the pivot foot".

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 722402)
I don't mind at all as long as you allow Mr. C. Rust to correct your correction.:D

Yeah, I was picking nits. :D

APG Thu Jan 27, 2011 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 722189)
Couple of points:

1. By rule and definition, it is impossible to pass the ball to oneself. A pass by definition is movement by a player who by throwing, batting or rolling the ball goes to another player.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 722328)
Concerning "pass to yourself," there's no such thing. That would not be a pass by definition.

So good, it had to be said twice. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1