The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Six on court, but... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61220-six-court-but.html)

Adam Wed Jan 26, 2011 05:32pm

It looks like I may have misread, but I can't tell exactly when the partner noticed the 6 players.
If he didn't notice until after he blew his whistle, give the TO; no T.
If he noticed as he blew his whistle, and he thinks quickly enough, he can give the T (IMO). Note, I could be wrong here, but like I said, in this situation I'm likely to hold my whistle a moment and count the players while I verify which team has the ball.
If, however, he noticed as he blew his whistle but goes ahead and signals/announces the TO. Go with the TO.

BillyMac Wed Jan 26, 2011 06:03pm

Still A Work In Progress ...
 
If a team has more than five team members participating simultaneously, then a team technical foul is charged. This infraction is penalized if it is discovered by the officials while being violated, in other words, while more than five team members are currently participating as players in the game.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 26, 2011 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 722054)
If he noticed <font color = red>as</font> he blew his whistle, and he thinks quickly enough, he can give the T (IMO).

That's true only if he actually blew the whistle to give the "T". If he blew the whistle to grant the TO request,by rule you then can't assess a "T". You can't blow your whistle for one reason and then change your mind later as to why you blew the whistle.

Why'd you blow your whistle, ref?"
"For either a timeout or a "T". Gotta think about it."
:D

It's a straight-forward play. There's no need to play games with it.

constable Wed Jan 26, 2011 09:06pm

This shouldn't happen. As an Official you should check each time the ball is inbounded to make sure they have the correct amount of players.

If somehow it does get missed, if the coach called the timeout you cannot call the T. The 6 players must be discovered while the ball is live.

Your partner kicked the call.

tref Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by constable (Post 722108)
This shouldn't happen. As an Official you should check each time the ball is inbounded to make sure they have the correct amount of players.

If somehow it does get missed, if the coach called the timeout you cannot call the T. The 6 players must be discovered while the ball is live.

Your partner kicked the call.

Thats why you whack first & ask questions later. Twweet T, coach you still want a t/o?

Seriously though, yeah, we have to do the small things correctly!!

Adam Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 722074)
That's true only if he actually blew the whistle to give the "T". If he blew the whistle to grant the TO request,by rule you then can't assess a "T". You can't blow your whistle for one reason and then change your mind later as to why you blew the whistle.

Why'd you blow your whistle, ref?"
"For either a timeout or a "T". Gotta think about it."
:D

It's a straight-forward play. There's no need to play games with it.

Fair enough.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1