The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pass to himself (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/61044-pass-himself.html)

APG Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 720927)
What if a player where stuck in a trap situation or just a situation where he or she lost her dribble and he or she throw it over the heads of the defender and then goes and retrieves it on the other side?
what would be the difference?

I don't see how this play is even related to throwing the ball off the backboard. The difference in this play is that it's a travel. Case book play 4.44.3 Situation D covers this.

Look at case book play 9.5

9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each.

RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

BillyMac Mon Jan 24, 2011 07:27am

Down The Road Again ...
 
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post702131

Adam Mon Jan 24, 2011 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 720927)
What if a player where stuck in a trap situation or just a situation where he or she lost her dribble and he or she throw it over the heads of the defender and then goes and retrieves it on the other side?
what would be the difference?

If he throws it off the backboard, legal.
If he throws it in the vicinity of the rim, legal (I'll assume it was try).

If neither of the above apply, either travel or illegal dribble, depending on the circumstance.

Adam Mon Jan 24, 2011 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 720911)
I had a player get upset with me for calling a violation when he passed the ball off the glass to himself for a dunk. It was very obvious it was a pass not a missed shot. I thought for sure I got it right but not one hundred percent.

Exactly what violation did you call?

johnsonboys03 Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:43pm

I called a travel. Didn't realize there was a diff between opponentbackboard and there own. Thanks... I see I was wrong on this one.

VaTerp Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 721288)
I called a travel. Didn't realize there was a diff between opponentbackboard and there own. Thanks... I see I was wrong on this one.

Ouch.

This is why if I'm not sure about a call, I almost always err on the side of play-on. I would hate to be the guy that took away a highlight reel play simply because I thought I knew a rule and then find out I was completely wrong.

Not trying to be overly critical as we all make mistakes. But it is a reminder of why I think it's a good idea to err on the side of play on unless you're absolutely sure there's a violation there.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1