The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rebound - Back Court? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60906-rebound-back-court.html)

Terrapins Fan Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:47pm

Rebound - Back Court?
 
I had this the other day, Shot by Home team A1, A2 jumps in a crowd a taps the rebound into BC. A1 runs back and retrieves it.

Back court or not? A2 knew he was throwing it back toward the 3-point line, but he never held onto the ball, but he did control where it went.

I didn't call BC because it was on a rebound.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 719978)
I had this the other day, Shot by Home team A1, A2 jumps in a crowd a taps the rebound into BC. A1 runs back and retrieves it.

Back court or not? A2 knew he was throwing it back toward the 3-point line, but he never held onto the ball, but he did control where it went.

I didn't call BC because it was on a rebound.

Did he THROW the ball (PC ==> BC violation) or BAT the ball (No PC ==> no BC violation)?

Would you have granted a TO at the moment A2 had the ball (if the coach was quick enough to request it and you were quick enough get the message and assess the situation)?

tref Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 719978)
I had this the other day, Shot by Home team A1, A2 jumps in a crowd a taps the rebound into BC. A1 runs back and retrieves it.

Back court or not? A2 knew he was throwing it back toward the 3-point line, but he never held onto the ball, but he did control where it went.

I didn't call BC because it was on a rebound.

Judgment call... those facts lead me to believe t/c was re-established JMO

Adam Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:50pm

Player control is required at this point to establish TC. PC is obtained by holding or dribbling; if he held it, even briefly, it's a violation. If he did not, it's not.

Adam Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 719981)
Judgment call... those facts lead me to believe t/c was re-established JMO

Controlling where it went isn't relevant, but if indeed he "threw" it rather than "batted" it, you're correct that it's a violation.

JRutledge Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:51pm

Unless you deemed there was control before the ball got into the backcourt, then you cannot have a violation. Based on your description it seems like you got it right. Then again I did not see the play to judge for sure. But if the ball is being tapped around that cannot be a BC violation unless you clearly think control was first established somewhere.

Peace

tref Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719982)
Player control is required at this point to establish TC. PC is obtained by holding or dribbling; if he held it, even briefly, it's a violation. If he did not, it's not.

A1s attempt is unsuccessful, A5 taps the ball into the basket. Did A5 have p/c (Team A t/c) on the put back?

Nevermind a tap on a try & a tap during a rebound are two entirely different plays. My badd.

just another ref Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 719978)
I had this the other day, Shot by Home team A1, A2 jumps in a crowd a taps the rebound into BC. A1 runs back and retrieves it.

Back court or not? A2 knew he was throwing it back toward the 3-point line, but he never held onto the ball, but he did control where it went.

I didn't call BC because it was on a rebound.

Controlling where the ball goes and having player/team control are not the same. It's your call. Did he have control or not? Your description of the play says no.

Terrapins Fan Fri Jan 21, 2011 01:00pm

I would not have granted a TO on the rebound/tip/tap.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 21, 2011 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 719991)
I would not have granted a TO on the rebound/tip/tap.

Then there was no PC, so no BC violation.

Jay R Fri Jan 21, 2011 01:18pm

Had that situation last night. I would describe my play as a tap towards midcourt. I considered it no control and thus I had no violation. My partner did have to explain the rule to the coach at the next dead ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1