The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this a foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60793-foul.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 20, 2011 06:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 719392)
Based on the angles they show, I can live with what was called. The main issue I would like to see is if the arm was contacted before the ball. I cannot tell that the player from behind was not vertical. Actually it looked like the Georgia player might have backed up into the Tennessee player.

I took a closer look at the video, if anything the Georgia player grabbed the right arm of the Tennessee player. If anything was going to be called it should have been on the Georgia player.

Peace


Great minds think alike even if one of them is a Western Illinois and UMichigan fan. :D

MTD, Sr.

mbyron Thu Jan 20, 2011 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 719413)
As for the play/call. Looked right to me. The UT rebounder was jumping away from the basket.....not likely to be a foul on him unless he grabs the player in front and drags him back too.

That's what I saw too. White was surprised when a pair of arms reached around his head and rebounded the ball. Rather than grabbing the ball and getting a held ball, he started to grab the arm. The player shot through the contact and made the bucket. Good no call X 2.

Treeguy Thu Jan 20, 2011 08:32am

I went to a UG forum to see what they are saying and obviously they are 100% that was a bad call. I agree with you all that the Georgia player was pushing back and grabbed the arm of the Tenn player so either a no call or a foul on the Georgia player.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbyinTN (Post 719398)
True, in the rule book there is no "over the back" violation but there are times a push from behind during a rebound is an "over the back"/"through the back" foul; however, I have never reported a "over the back" foul at the table ;)

I did have a rookie U one night that called "over the back" and used some weird mechanic I had never seen before or since :eek: not only did he use the wrong mechanic I don't think he was correct but he was Lead.

No, it's not over-the-back. When fans scream for that, they want the taller player punished for reaching into space (90% of the time). To even state "there is such a thing as over the back" is just flat out wrong; especially when talking to someone who's admittedly new to basketball rules.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 08:44am

Love the Frankenstein mechanics being displayed by the crowd.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 20, 2011 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 719444)
That's what I saw too. White was surprised when a pair of arms reached around his head and rebounded the ball. Rather than grabbing the ball and getting a held ball, he started to grab the arm. The player shot through the contact and made the bucket. Good no call X 2.

What I can't see from the one time I watched this, is whether the Tenn player "held down" the GA player. If so, that could be a foul. But, I'll defer to the officials on the game on this.

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 20, 2011 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 719455)
What I can't see from the one time I watched this, is whether the Tenn player "held down" the GA player. If so, that could be a foul. But, I'll defer to the officials on the game on this.

The Tenn player definitely held down the GA player, by using his upper arm against B's shoulder.

In fact, that upper arm not only hindered B's desired movement, it was the cause of B moving backwards. B's initial jump was straight up. After the contact initiated by A, B was forced backwards a total of 3 steps. In addition, A's contact even forced B's body to the left.

Yes A got the ball legally, that is, without contact to B. But after he had control, he's still in B's vertical space, and used his upper arm which prevented B from performing any actions on his own accord.

I've got a player control foul, go to overtime.

RobbyinTN Thu Jan 20, 2011 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 719402)
Was it the Boris Karloff mechanic?

Yep - you got it. I told him at half time that "over the back" wasn't a valid call and his mechanic certainly wasn't in the book. I tried to explain the difference between going over teh top of someone to get the rebound without fouling and a push from behind to get to the ball. I am not sure he "got it" but at least there were no other weird mechnics that evening :rolleyes:

drofficial Thu Jan 20, 2011 09:26am

Actually the correct call, by rule, without a doubt would be 3 seconds. Williams enters the lane at :07 ... I know, I know, we would never call it in that situation. But still, that is clearly UGA's best argument

stir22 Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:07am

as a newer official, i have to ask...would this have been called differently if this play had occurred halfway through the first half, instead of at the end of the game?

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 719460)
Actually the correct call, by rule, without a doubt would be 3 seconds. Williams enters the lane at :07 ... I know, I know, we would never call it in that situation. But still, that is clearly UGA's best argument

I doubt that would be called in ANY situation ANYWHERE. Only a fanboy would ever dream of arguing that one.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stir22 (Post 719474)
as a newer official, i have to ask...would this have been called differently if this play had occurred halfway through the first half, instead of at the end of the game?

No.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stir22 (Post 719474)
as a newer official, i have to ask...would this have been called differently if this play had occurred halfway through the first half, instead of at the end of the game?

And what would you call 10:00 in that didn't get called here?

Welpe Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 719475)
I doubt that would be called in ANY situation ANYWHERE. Only a fanboy would ever dream of arguing that one.

Just asking to better understand in general...when should a 3 second violation be called? My general approach has been to give the players 4-5 seconds while verbally encouraging them out of the lane and only calling it if they stay camped out.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 719487)
Just asking to better understand in general...when should a 3 second violation be called? My general approach has been to give the players 4-5 seconds while verbally encouraging them out of the lane and only calling it if they stay camped out.

I generally agree with this approach and use it myself. In the video, about the point you get to around 4 in the count, the three point shot goes up. So, about the time you would start to think about blowing your whistle, team control ends. It wouldn't get called at the 10:00 minute mark of the first half, either.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1