The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Stop game for injured player or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60760-stop-game-injured-player-not.html)

dacodee Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:52pm

Stop game for injured player or not?
 
Hello,

Boys Varsity game... Score is tied at 42, with just under 1 minute. White A1 attempts a 3. Teammate, A2 (with two left feet :rolleyes:) falls to the floor. Teammate, A3 attempts to box out opponent B1. Shot is missed and team B gets the rebound to attempt a fast break. Once the rebound is obtained by team B, I notice that A3 is continuing to back B1 down, so that B1 can fall over A2, who is still on the floor. B1 jumps over A2 and A3 falls over teammate, A2. Since I see that team B may have an opportunity to score on a fast break, I do not whistle for A3 pushing B1. For whatever reason, team B doesn't finish the fast break and pulls it out. Coach of team A yells, "stop the game, my player is hurt". I immediately blow my whistle to stop the game :eek:. I turn and ask the coach, "Who's injured?" He points to player A3, who fell over A2. Now I have coach of team B all over me. He's saying, "You can't do that!!! I'm making a move to the basket". I turn to team B coach and simply say, "Safety first, coach". Needless to say, team B won the game and it didn't come up since.

Here's the question... Would you have stopped the game when the coach tells you that someone is injured? Why/Why not???

Thanks

mbyron Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:57pm

See this post for a comprehensive approach:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post707181

Adam Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:57pm

Since B pulled out of their fast break and was no longer making an immediate move to the hoop, stop play. Had they been in the middle of their fast break, hold your whistle unless A3 is either bleeding profusely or unconscious.

That's my take.

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 19, 2011 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dacodee (Post 719133)
Hello,

Boys Varsity game... Score is tied at 42, with just under 1 minute. White A1 attempts a 3. Teammate, A2 (with two left feet :rolleyes:) falls to the floor. Teammate, A3 attempts to box out opponent B1. Shot is missed and team B gets the rebound to attempt a fast break. Once the rebound is obtained by team B, I notice that A3 is continuing to back B1 down, so that B1 can fall over A2, who is still on the floor. B1 jumps over A2 and A3 falls over teammate, A2. Since I see that team B may have an opportunity to score on a fast break, I do not whistle for A3 pushing B1. For whatever reason, team B doesn't finish the fast break and pulls it out. Coach of team A yells, "stop the game, my player is hurt". I immediately blow my whistle to stop the game :eek:. I turn and ask the coach, "Who's injured?" He points to player A3, who fell over A2. Now I have coach of team B all over me. He's saying, "You can't do that!!! I'm making a move to the basket". I turn to team B coach and simply say, "Safety first, coach". Needless to say, team B won the game and it didn't come up since.

Here's the question... Would you have stopped the game when the coach tells you that someone is injured? Why/Why not???

Thanks

Tie game with under a minute. I'm not blowing that one down until Team B "pulled the ball back out". If they wanted the advantage, they should have went straight for the basket on the fast break.

It is our decision when to stop by game, not the coaches. He also tells me when the other team fouls, but that doesn't mean we actually call a foul. :cool:

GoodwillRef Wed Jan 19, 2011 01:37pm

On your play player A3 was by himself and you were not putting him in any addition danger...play on until Team B pulls the ball back out.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 19, 2011 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719136)
Since B pulled out of their fast break and was no longer making an immediate move to the hoop, stop play. Had they been in the middle of their fast break, hold your whistle unless A3 is either bleeding profusely or unconscious.

Correct. It has nothing to do with Coach A yelling anything.

jdw3018 Thu Jan 20, 2011 03:13pm

I agree with all above, but would add - I'm taking a look back for the injured player, now hitting my whistle because the coach says he has an injured player.

Also, as the new trail in this situation, since you had players go down, I'd keep an eye to make sure everyone got up okay. Tough to do when you've got a break to officiate as well, but that's part of officiating all 10 players. In a 3-man game this is much easier as C and L would be able to officiate the break while T keeps an eye on players on the floor.

BktBallRef Thu Jan 20, 2011 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 719595)
Also, as the new trail in this situation, since you had players go down, I'd keep an eye to make sure everyone got up okay. Tough to do when you've got a break to officiate as well, but that's part of officiating all 10 players. In a 3-man game this is much easier as C and L would be able to officiate the break while T keeps an eye on players on the floor.


In 3 man, as the trail, I move toward the player and stay with him until play can be stopped. That tells everyone, "Stay calm. See him. We're not gonna let anything happen to him."

jdw3018 Thu Jan 20, 2011 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 719603)
In 3 man, as the trail, I move toward the player and stay with him until play can be stopped. That tells everyone, "Stay calm. See him. We're not gonna let anything happen to him."

Agree. I have always stayed in the backcourt with a player down as T in 3-man, near enough to see if he/she is getting up and able to see the action to know when to hit the whistle.

Forksref Thu Jan 20, 2011 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snaqwells (Post 719136)
since b pulled out of their fast break and was no longer making an immediate move to the hoop, stop play. Had they been in the middle of their fast break, hold your whistle unless a3 is either bleeding profusely or unconscious.

That's my take.

agreed!

BillyMac Thu Jan 20, 2011 08:50pm

True Team Player ...
 
Tonight. B1 and B2 bump into each other with B1 going down. Team A gets the ball and is moving upcourt with a five on three break. I stay with downed B1, as does B2. B1 yells at B2, "Don't worry about me. Get back and play defense". Really happened.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dacodee (Post 719133)
Hello,

Boys Varsity game... Score is tied at 42, with just under 1 minute. White A1 attempts a 3. Teammate, A2 (with two left feet :rolleyes:) falls to the floor. Teammate, A3 attempts to box out opponent B1. Shot is missed and team B gets the rebound to attempt a fast break. Once the rebound is obtained by team B, I notice that A3 is continuing to back B1 down, so that B1 can fall over A2, who is still on the floor. B1 jumps over A2 and A3 falls over teammate, A2. Since I see that team B may have an opportunity to score on a fast break, I do not whistle for A3 pushing B1. For whatever reason, team B doesn't finish the fast break and pulls it out. Coach of team A yells, "stop the game, my player is hurt". I immediately blow my whistle to stop the game :eek:. I turn and ask the coach, "Who's injured?" He points to player A3, who fell over A2. Now I have coach of team B all over me. He's saying, "You can't do that!!! I'm making a move to the basket". I turn to team B coach and simply say, "Safety first, coach". Needless to say, team B won the game and it didn't come up since.

Here's the question... Would you have stopped the game when the coach tells you that someone is injured? Why/Why not???

Thanks


dacodee:

A2 falling to the floor does not mean he is injured. Unless I have misread your post, I get the impression that you did not think that A2 was injured. And, if that was your first impression, then I would have had a foul on A3 for pushing B1.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 719727)
dacodee:

A2 falling to the floor does not mean he is injured. Unless I have misread your post, I get the impression that you did not think that A2 was injured. And, if that was your first impression, then I would have had a foul on A3 for pushing B1.

MTD, Sr.

1. What does A2's injury have to do with whether you call a foul on A3 or not?

2. You're going to break up a fast break for B due to a foul that has nothing to do with the actual play?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 21, 2011 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 719733)
1. What does A2's injury have to do with whether you call a foul on A3 or not?

2. You're going to break up a fast break for B due to a foul that has nothing to do with the actual play?


Snaqs:

Read the OP. Look at the order of events:

1) A1 attempts 3-point FG.

2) Klutzy A2 falls down.

3) A3 attempts to box out B1.

4) A1's FG attempt is unsuccessful.

5) B2 secures rebound and passes to B3 to attempt a fastbreak.

6) A3 pushes B1.

7) B1 avoids falling over A2.

8) A3 falls over A2 and is injured.


First: A2 was not the injured player; A3 was the injured player. I misread the OP as to whther A2 was injured also.

Second: I agree, that A2 falling down does not prevent A3 being charged with a pushing foul against B1.

Third: To be honest, I do not believe there is enough information as to where on the court Team B had the ball when A3 pushed B1. I understand one's hesitation to call a foul on A3 during a Team B fastbreak situation, but unless Team B has an uncontested fastbreak, I would find it hard not to call the foul on A3. The only Casebook Play dealing with a foul by Team A behind a Team B fastbreak has to do with A-HC committing a Unsportsmanlike TF during an uncontested fastbreak. Casebook Play, states that the official can delay stopping the game for A-HC's TF until after Team B has attempted its uncontested layup. But a PF is a different situation, that does not lend itself to a delayed whistle.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Fri Jan 21, 2011 08:28am

By the time A3 pushes B1, B already has the rebound and is moving down the court. Just like most fouls after rebounding action is over, unless the displacement was significant or dangerous, I'm not calling the foul here. Now, you can argue it was dangerous because B1 had to jump over A2; but I probably wouldn't call this unless B1 actually tripped over A2.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1