![]() |
reported two different fouls on same play
We had a situation in our district rescently that I'm not sure about.
The gym was extremely loud and it was a tight game. A1 drives to the basket and crashes into B1. Lead comes up with a whistle in his primary (well kinda the dual coverage area) and yells "BLOCK" BLOCK"... same time but not knowing it trail comes in with a charge yelling "THAT WAY".... Neither of them even realize there is a double whistle. Lead goes to table and reports his block then not seeing him trail goes to table and reports charge. Long story short they recorded both fouls and went to point of interuption. I'm guessing Lead didn't pause after his whistle and trail didn't close down on his call. Question: even though it was totaly botched by the officials did they report and administer everything correctly? |
Classic blarge situation.
Report both fouls. Edit: Damn Chrome. Where was the ball when the fouls were called? |
Quote:
This is what the case play was written for. I knew it. |
Quote:
2. Assuming they didn't know the other one reported a foul, how did they know to go to the POI? Mind reading? 3. If this was a 2-whistle game, they should have yielded to the Lead and let him have the first crack at the play since it was coming at him. The Trail didn't hold his preliminary it sounds like. It has nothing to do with "closing down". 4. Yes, they got it right in the end. It's a blarge and you go to the POI. I just don't understand how they could each have a foul and report them separately and never figure out that the other guy had been at the table, but somehow know to go to the POI? |
Quote:
I'm really not sure while trying to put myself in that situation how you wouldn't have seen each other but they didn't. I just heard some guys telling me about it 3rd party My question was if they got it right after the blarge |
I've been there, but fortunately, we both had the same call. I'm C, dribbler runs over defender on my block. I come up with a PC and close down (not enough). I see L start to (I think) transition down court. The long switch in 3 person was new to me then, so I was only slightly confused by this.
I turn, report my foul, and go back to administer the throw-in. What I didn't know, was L was not transitioning for the switch, he was going around the backside of the players (I was table side) to report his foul and then took his proper position as new C, opposite table. At the quarter break, the T comes up to us and asks if we realize we'd both reported the same foul. :eek: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
and yes that word is cencored so must be profane lol.....sorry couldn't resist |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Pre-game!!
This happened to me a couple years ago. We had to report both fouls. Now its well discussed in my pregame... If you're prepared for the situation, then chances are it won't happen, and it hasn't for me.
I do recall at the time it happened we came together as a crew and discussed coming out with only one foul, but couldn't by rule. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42am. |