The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kansas/Baylor Throw-in Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60647-kansas-baylor-throw-question.html)

JohnDorian37 Mon Jan 17, 2011 09:58pm

Kansas/Baylor Throw-in Question
 
First minute of game, Baylor makes basket. Ref calls back throw-in for Kansas and lets them do it again.

Is that the proper protocol there, assuming he was whistling it because the Kansas player had a foot inbounds?

BktBallRef Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 717800)
First minute of game, Baylor makes basket. Ref calls back throw-in for Kansas and lets them do it again.

Is that the proper protocol there, assuming he was whistling it because the Kansas player had a foot inbounds?

Pretty difficult to answer such a question when you're assuming.

JohnDorian37 Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 717804)
Pretty difficult to answer such a question when you're assuming.

I was hoping someone else saw the play. Otherwise it's impossible for me to explain it, not knowing what the ref might have seen.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:10pm

Nope, sorry, didn't see it.

JohnDorian37 Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 717814)
Nope, sorry, didn't see it.

So what is the protocol if after a made basket by Team A, Team B throws in with one foot in bounds? Give the ball to A right away? Let B try to correct it but keep the 5-second count running? Do we tell B if they're running up the court?

Adam Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 717818)
So what is the protocol if after a made basket by Team A, Team B throws in with one foot in bounds? Give the ball to A right away? Let B try to correct it but keep the 5-second count running? Do we tell B if they're running up the court?

Immediate violation in NFHS. Not sure about NCAA.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 18, 2011 06:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717824)
Immediate violation in NFHS. Not sure about NCAA.

Immediate violation under NCAA rules also.

GoodwillRef Tue Jan 18, 2011 06:57am

I also saw the play and was also a little confused...maybe the player wasn't out of bounds at all.

Adam Tue Jan 18, 2011 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 718035)
I also saw the play and was also a little confused...maybe the player wasn't out of bounds at all.

Still should have been called a violation. My guess is the official will get a nice chat with the supervisor over that one.

Welpe Tue Jan 18, 2011 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 718082)
Still should have been called a violation. My guess is the official will get a nice chat with the supervisor over that one.

"Game management" call. ;)

Adam Tue Jan 18, 2011 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 718084)
"Game management" call. ;)

Sadly, probably right.

rockchalk jhawk Tue Jan 18, 2011 09:18am

Having listened just yesterday to Curtis Shaw's conference call from December, "game management" calls in the NCAA are becoming less of a thing and may go away entirely eventually. He simply wants EVERYTHING called by the rules and threatens to take games away from officials that don't comply, even for uniform violations. Things are changing at the top, and will trickle down to all levels eventually, at least in the college level. Based on what we've seen over the years I think the philosophy will also trickle down to NFHS, but it will take a while. Overall though, I think it's a positive thing.

I saw the play last night too (Rock Chalk!) and where I was going with all of this is that I kind of doubt it was game management as was suggested earlier. I couldn't see if he was clearly OOB for the throw in or not, but I wonder if there was something going on out of frame like something on the court that they needed to stop the game momentarily to address. Just my $.02.

referee99 Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:31am

I had this call this weekend!
 
Great game. B-V, 3-person. Overtime game, under a minute, home team A1 nails a shot to go up 4 with 25 seconds left or so.

B2 with body language of disappointment and confusion picks up ball, and with foot partially on court, partially out-of-bounds passes the ball to teammate. I whistle violation.

Not a call I want to be making at the end of a great game, but I didn't see another option. The kid violated.

Adam Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:55am

I have to admit I've let this call go; at the end of a 50 point blowout. Winning team, right behind me, started to say something when their coach shut them down. He knew why I passed. Would I pass on it now? Probably, because it's the expected route in this part of Rome.

referee99 Tue Jan 18, 2011 01:03pm

Agreed...
 
big lead late, i just didn't see it.

SamIAm Tue Jan 18, 2011 01:37pm

It was a throw-in violation after the first Baylor basket. Referee chose to have Morriss ( I don't remember which one ) re-administer the throw-in, instead of calling the violation. It happened again, the second time was around the 8 minute mark in the game, right after Baylor made a 3-pointer. It was not Morriss on the second occurrence (I am pretty sure). The referee also consulted the replay after the second occurence. It was very loud when the official whistled for the Jayhawks to try again on the in-bounding event. I think the clock was not stopped properly.

Interesting, but pointless fact.
The Jayhwaks had a throw-in violation 2 years ago when the Jayhawks last came to Waco in which the officials handled it the same way.

It was a pretty good game if you are a Jayhawk fan. 20 point lead at the half. Baylor got a little steam going in the 2nd half and closed the Jayhwak lead to 13 points, but couldn't maintain their momentum.

Funny occurrence when I picked up our tickets at will call. I had told Mrs. SamIAm that our tickets were not together, 3 in one section and the fourth in the next section over, but we would make the most of it. I tell her where are seats are at, one in row 24, another in row 25 and another in row 26 and she says, "The three in the one section are not together?". SamIAm says, "Honey, I told you our seats are not toghether.". We exchanged looks and went to our seats. Everything worked out as a few no shows left us setting together in two rows.

This concludes my bi-yearly report of the Kansas at Baylor baskteball game for 2011. Please look forward to my next report in 2013 (and I will be watching for the repeating throw-in violation).

SamIAm

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 18, 2011 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 718272)
big lead late, i just didn't see it.

If the thrower passed the ball to a teammate standing on a boundary line, would you not see that? Or if the dribbler then went up court and stepped on a boundary line, would you not see that either?

Think about it, guys. Slippery slope imo. It's 10/15 seconds usually to just call it and administer another throw-in. If not calling the violation doesn't affect the game, calling it sureasheck won't either.

JMO.

fullor30 Tue Jan 18, 2011 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 717800)
First minute of game, Baylor makes basket. Ref calls back throw-in for Kansas and lets them do it again.

Is that the proper protocol there, assuming he was whistling it because the Kansas player had a foot inbounds?

Violation. As Rooster Cogburn says in True Grit promo "can't help ya son"

Adam Tue Jan 18, 2011 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 718324)
If the thrower passed the ball to a teammate standing on a boundary line, would you not see that? Or if the dribbler then went up court and stepped on a boundary line, would you not see that either?

Think about it, guys. Slippery slope imo. It's 10/15 seconds usually to just call it and administer another throw-in. If not calling the violation doesn't affect the game, calling it sureasheck won't either.

JMO.

I would call the OOB violations, and I agree with you that the call should be made in a perfect world. But I'm not in a position to argue the prevailing "game management" theory around here. Nor do I think it's really all that cancerous to the game.
I can tell you I've had evaluators tell me I could have let some late travels go against the losing team in blowouts. "Was it a travel? Yes. Could you have let it go?"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1