The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60598-time-out.html)

ttt Sun Jan 16, 2011 01:55pm

Time out
 
Glad I found this site, as a coach I always like to learn and possibly somebody could answer this for me. This happened a couple of years back in a game that i was scouting.

Team A is at the line shooting a FT. When the shooter was handed the ball the opposing coach called time-out, I believe that it was kind of a slime ball play to be honest. This caused kind of a mess.

First thing that happened was the shooter stopped and passed the ball to the official. Players then started walking towards the benches.

Next the ref granted the time-out.

Turns out the coach did not have a time-out and stated to the ref "The player had the ball, you can't grant me a time-out."....as I said slime ball move.

What should have happened in this situation? If I recall the they allowed the player to take the shots and a T was given to the coach.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 02:00pm

A coach cannot call a timeout, he can only make a request, which must subsequently be granted by the official. In this situation, the ball is live, and in control of the opponent, so, by rule, the timeout should not be granted. If the shooter passed the ball to the official, this should have been a violation. If the coach has no timeout but requested one anyway, if the official granted it, properly or not, he gets his timeout, along with a technical foul.

ttt Sun Jan 16, 2011 02:04pm

So the correct call should have been that Team B recieves the ball because the shooter failed to hit the Cylinder?

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 16, 2011 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 716837)
If the shooter passed the ball to the official, this should have been a violation.

Nowayinhell I'm ever calling a violation in that situation. That's an unfair advantage not intended by rule. I'm doing exactly what it sounds like the officials actually did. Tell 'em you granted the TO by mistake but once you granted it, it must be taken. The ball was dead on your granting of the TO before any FT violations occurred. Give the calling team a "T" for the excess TO and penalize everything in order of occurence.

We have rules backing for all of that.

Classic false multiple foul.:)

bob jenkins Sun Jan 16, 2011 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 716845)
Nowayinhell I'm ever calling a violation in that situation. That's an unfair advantage not intended by rule. I'm doing exactly what it sounds like the officials actually did. Tell 'em you granted the TO by mistake but once you granted it, it must be taken. The ball was dead on your granting of the TO before any FT violations occurred. Give the calling team a "T" for the excess TO and penalize everything in order of occurence.

We have rules backing for all of that.

Classic false multiple foul.:)

Exactly.

If the coach further objects, I'll tell him he can have a T for unsporting conduct or a T for excess TO. And, I might even have a disconcertion violation if the first FT turns out to be missed.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 716845)
Nowayinhell I'm ever calling a violation in that situation. That's an unfair advantage not intended by rule. I'm doing exactly what it sounds like the officials actually did. Tell 'em you granted the TO by mistake but once you granted it, it must be taken. The ball was dead on your granting of the TO before any FT violations occurred. Give the calling team a "T" for the excess TO and penalize everything in order of occurence.

We have rules backing for all of that.

Classic false multiple foul.:)

Actually, according to the sequence of events as given in the OP, request was made, ball tossed to the official, (violation) timeout was granted. (T) By rule, everything here is correct.

BktBallRef Sun Jan 16, 2011 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ttt (Post 716834)
When the shooter was handed the ball the opposing coach called time-out, I believe that it was kind of a slime ball play to be honest.

Sounds like a classic case of disconcertion to me.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 716837)
A coach cannot call a timeout, he can only make a request, which must subsequently be granted by the official.

Okay, no offense JAR, but I think it's time we get rid of this one. :)

Only an official can grant a timeout.

But a player or a coach can definitely CALL timeout.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 716860)
Sounds like a classic case of disconcertion to me.



Okay, no offense JAR, but I think it's time we get rid of this one. :)

Only an official can grant a timeout.

But a player or a coach can definitely CALL timeout.

I agree this one has been beat to death. The point I was making, which I thought needed to be said in this case, was that nothing the coach said or did could kill the play, this has to be done by the official.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 04:43pm

tough situation. Sounds like the officials tried to ignore the request initially, but decided to grant him the TO when the shooter obviously got confused.
I like how they dealt with it.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 716869)
I agree this one has been beat to death. The point I was making, which I thought needed to be said in this case, was that nothing the coach said or did could kill the play, this has to be done by the official.

The coach's time-out request came while A1 still had the ball and since his request was granted the ball became immediately dead when he made his request. Not possible for A1 to violate since the ball was dead.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 16, 2011 05:14pm

There is a case book play stating to penalize a verbal fake with a violation, such as one player telling an opponent to switch lane spaces after the shooter has the ball. That seems similar to what the coach did.
I have no problem with the answer of JR, and believe that there is rules support.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 716954)
The coach's time-out request came while A1 still had the ball and since his request was granted the ball became immediately dead when he made his request. Not possible for A1 to violate since the ball was dead.

An improperly made request does not cause the ball to be immediately dead.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 716994)
An improperly made request does not cause the ball to be immediately dead.

If the request is recognized why wouldn't it?








You know, similar to "improper throw-in, coach's comment, 3-point shot taken, basket made, then a whistle."

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 716998)
If the request is recognized why wouldn't it?

You know, similar to "improper throw-in, coach's comment, 3-point shot taken, basket made, then a whistle."

A foul causes the ball to be dead, a timeout request does not. When was the request granted? According to the OP, the player heard the request, threw the ball to the official, then the timeout was granted. I took this to mean the official originally intended to ignore the request.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717002)
A foul causes the ball to be dead, a timeout request does not. When was the request granted? ...


In this case it made the ball dead b/c it was disconcertion.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 06:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 717008)
In this case it made the ball dead b/c it was disconcertion.

Nope, not immediately. Disconcertion is a delayed violation.

I was thinking I'd seen a case play or interp that indicated disconcertion by the bench was a technical foul; but I can't find it.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717013)
Nope, not immediately. Disconcertion is a delayed violation.
.

I'll amend. If the disconcertion causes the free-thrower to violate the ball becomes dead, the violation is ignored, and the free-thrower gets their shot.

And in this particular case I'm ignoring the time-out request b/c it was not a legal request and I did not recognize it.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:06pm

I have a hard time calling this disconcertion.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717025)
I have a hard time calling this disconcertion.

Why? You either have to do that or call the violation. Or, I guess, consider the TO request to have been granted.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717025)
I have a hard time calling this disconcertion.

I'm only going with 1 of 2 things here:

1.) Disconcertion on Coach B, ignore the violation, and A1 getting 2 free throws.

or

2.) Unsporting T on Coach B, which means ball became dead immediately, A1 gets 2 free throws, any A player gets 2 more free throws, Team A gets a throw-in at half court.

In either situation I'm not penalizing for an excess time-out as I would never have recognized the time-out request since there was Team A control.

I'm thinking all parties and my supervisors would live with #1.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717029)
Why? You either have to do that or call the violation. Or, I guess, consider the TO request to have been granted.

It is ultimately the responsibility of the player to know what makes the ball dead.

Team A is holding the ball, sitting on a small lead late in the game. Coach B yells "Time out!" A1 tosses you the ball. You gonna somehow give it back to him here?

BillyMac Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:52pm

Hey Man, You’re In My Personal Space ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 716956)
There is a case book play stating to penalize a verbal fake with a violation, such as one player telling an opponent to switch lane spaces after the shooter has the ball.

9.1.3 SITUATION B: While A1’s free-throw attempt is in flight toward the basket:
(a) B1; or (b) A2, in a marked lane space, fakes by rocking forward causing
an opponent to enter the lane prematurely. RULING: In (a), the official will use the
proper signal indicating a violation by B1 and a substitute free throw is awarded
if A1’s attempt is unsuccessful. If it is successful, the violation is ignored. In (b),
the official will sound his/her whistle immediately when A2 violates. The violation
cancels A1’s attempt and it is B’s ball for a throw-in, unless an additional free
throw(s) is involved. COMMENT: If a player uses verbal tactics like “you’re in my space”
or a time-out request to fake an opponent into violations, only the fake is
penalized. (9-1-3b Penalty 1, 4d)

Nevadaref Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 717054)
9.1.3 SITUATION B: While A1’s free-throw attempt is in flight toward the basket:
(a) B1; or (b) A2, in a marked lane space, fakes by rocking forward causing
an opponent to enter the lane prematurely. RULING: In (a), the official will use the
proper signal indicating a violation by B1 and a substitute free throw is awarded
if A1’s attempt is unsuccessful. If it is successful, the violation is ignored. In (b),
the official will sound his/her whistle immediately when A2 violates. The violation
cancels A1’s attempt and it is B’s ball for a throw-in, unless an additional free
throw(s) is involved. COMMENT: If a player uses verbal tactics like “you’re in my space”
or a time-out request to fake an opponent into violations, only the fake is
penalized.
(9-1-3b Penalty 1, 4d)

That's the one and provides clear rules direction on how to handle this situation. That is exactly what the coach did in the OP.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 717054)
9.1.3 SITUATION B: While A1’s free-throw attempt is in flight toward the basket:
(a) B1; or (b) A2, in a marked lane space, fakes by rocking forward causing
an opponent to enter the lane prematurely. RULING: In (a), the official will use the
proper signal indicating a violation by B1 and a substitute free throw is awarded
if A1’s attempt is unsuccessful. If it is successful, the violation is ignored. In (b),
the official will sound his/her whistle immediately when A2 violates. The violation
cancels A1’s attempt and it is B’s ball for a throw-in, unless an additional free
throw(s) is involved. COMMENT: If a player uses verbal tactics like “you’re in my space”
or a time-out request to fake an opponent into violations, only the fake is
penalized.
(9-1-3b Penalty 1, 4d)

To use the words of another esteemed member, doesn't exactly cover the OP but it's close enough for me to use.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717033)
It is ultimately the responsibility of the player to know what makes the ball dead.

Team A is holding the ball, sitting on a small lead late in the game. Coach B yells "Time out!" A1 tosses you the ball. You gonna somehow give it back to him here?

Yep. Every time. Knowing the coach has no timeouts left would only make me more likely to give it to him here. The case play seems pretty clear on this. And if I don't grant the TO and the shooter takes the shot and misses, I'll give him another one.

Raymond Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717033)
It is ultimately the responsibility of the player to know what makes the ball dead.

Team A is holding the ball, sitting on a small lead late in the game. Coach B yells "Time out!" A1 tosses you the ball. You gonna somehow give it back to him here?

If you rule the Coach's action to be unsporting, then yes, at the division line after 2 free throws.

Or not.

But it's not the same as causing a free thrower to violate. There are different rules for free throws then there are for other live play.

APG Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717025)
I have a hard time calling this disconcertion.

Really? I'd have a real easy time calling disconcertion here. There's no reason for the coach to be calling timeout here.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 716994)
An improperly made request does not cause the ball to be immediately dead.

No, but the granting of it does. And you have no idea when the TO was really granted from the confused description we're being given from a non-official.

ttt Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:18pm

What would have happened if he actually did have a time-out? My impression is that some refs that see through the BS would either call disconcertion or un-sportsman like conduct. Its scary to think, depending on the official and the "interpratation" of the rule that a coach could possibly get away with this. More than likely not with an experienced crew, but I can tell you that as a coach I would go nuts if this happened to me!

BktBallRef Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ttt (Post 717081)
What would have happened if he actually did have a time-out? My impression is that some refs that see through the BS would either call disconcertion or un-sportsman like conduct. Its scary to think, depending on the official and the "interpratation" of the rule that a coach could possibly get away with this. More than likely not with an experienced crew, but I can tell you that as a coach I would go nuts if this happened to me!

Once the ball is dead (after it's passed back to the official), the timeout is granted, whether he wants it or not.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717064)
Yep. Every time. Knowing the coach has no timeouts left would only make me more likely to give it to him here. The case play seems pretty clear on this. And if I don't grant the TO and the shooter takes the shot and misses, I'll give him another one.

You know we're not talking about free throws any more?

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ttt (Post 717081)
What would have happened if he actually did have a time-out? My impression is that some refs that see through the BS would either call disconcertion or un-sportsman like conduct. Its scary to think, depending on the official and the "interpratation" of the rule that a coach could possibly get away with this. More than likely not with an experienced crew, but I can tell you that as a coach I would go nuts if this happened to me!

If he did have a timeout, then it gets used in your situation. It's almost as satisfying, because 9 times out of 10 he's going to try to tell you that you can't charge it to him. He won't want to actually burn that timeout. Your shooter gets his free throw back (no harm really). Why would you go nuts?

Do you go nuts every time a timeout is granted to the coach when it shouldn't be (your team has the ball, for example)?

ttt Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:24pm

Just to be clear. The ball was passed to the player to attempt a FT. After this happened the opposing coach called Time Out. Next, the confused player passed the ball back to the official and players then started leaving the lane. The official then granted the time out. Then everything went down the tubes.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717085)
You know we're not talking about free throws any more?

Ah, you didn't specify that (although I see how it's all but obvious from your post now), so I didn't make the switch.

No, I wouldn't in that case. Chances are, I'd let it hit me and drop. Lower level ball, I'd tap it back to him and tell him to play on. But as somone else noted, free throws have different rules of conduct.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717092)
Ah, you didn't specify that (although I see how it's all but obvious from your post now), so I didn't make the switch.

No, I wouldn't in that case. Chances are, I'd let it hit me and drop. Lower level ball, I'd tap it back to him and tell him to play on. But as somone else noted, free throws have different rules of conduct.

The bottom line is, in my opinion, there are circumstances in which a coach may yell for a timeout, either when he has none, or when it would not be properly granted, or both, and it may still be neither illegal nor unsporting. The coach may start yelling intentionally early to make sure he gets it as soon as possible. Even the case play has slack in it. It specifies verbal tactics by a player. The coach may yell "Timeout" to get the attention of an official, then when he gets it, says, "After the free throw." The shooter hears timeout, tosses the ball away, then what?

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ttt (Post 717091)
Just to be clear. The ball was passed to the player to attempt a FT. After this happened the opposing coach called Time Out. Next, the confused player passed the ball back to the official and players then started leaving the lane. The official then granted the time out. Then everything went down the tubes.

At the very least, I have disconcertion on the coach. New shots for the shooter. Coach would likely try to get a violation called against the shooter, which would likely result in an unsporting T for trying "to influence an official's decision." (10-4-1b)

Making the coach burn (or buy) a TO is icing, AFAIC.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ttt (Post 717091)
Just to be clear. The ball was passed to the player to attempt a FT. After this happened the opposing coach called Time Out. Next, the confused player passed the ball back to the official and players then started leaving the lane. <font color = red>The official then granted the time out.</font> Then everything went down the tubes.

How do you know the official granted the time-out <font color = red>then</font>? He may have granted the timeout request while the free throw shooter still held the ball. He administered the subsequent play that way according to your description. By rule the time-out is granted not when the whistle goes but when the official recognizes and grants the time-out request. There's always some kind of time lag...usually small...between granting the timeout and blowing the whistle to signify that granting.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ttt (Post 717091)
Just to be clear. The ball was passed to the player to attempt a FT. After this happened the opposing coach called Time Out. Next, the confused player passed the ball back to the official and players then started leaving the lane. The official then granted the time out. Then everything went down the tubes.

In this case, I think if the timeout was not granted until after the shooter threw the ball away, it should not be granted unless he asked for it again. It's disconcertion or an improperly granted timeout, not both. If it comes to light afterward that it was all a tactic and was intentionally done and you want to T the coach for that, that's different.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717099)
Even the case play has slack in it.

Where's the slack in case book play 5.8.3SitE(a)? In both cases, you have a TO request erroneously granted during a live ball.

We don't know for sure if the calling official granted that TO request while the FT shooter was still holding the ball, but we do know he administered the subsequent play as if he did. If it happened that way, I'm giving the TO-calling team a "T".

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 717115)
Where's the slack in case book play 5.8.3SitE(a)? In both cases, you have a TO request erroneously granted during a live ball.

We don't know for sure if the calling official granted that TO request while the FT shooter was still holding the ball, but we do know he administered the subsequent play as if he did. If it happened that way, I'm giving the TO-calling team a "T".


As you said yourself, you don't know when the official granted the timeout. According to the description, the request was made, after which the player threw the ball to the official, after which players "started leaving the lane," after which the whistle blew. I think it is fair to assume the timeout was not (improperly) granted while the shooter was still holding the ball.

By the way, exactly when a timeout is granted is not defined in the rules. An editorial revision is needed.

BktBallRef Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ttt (Post 717091)
Just to be clear. The ball was passed to the player to attempt a FT. After this happened the opposing coach called Time Out. Next, the confused player passed the ball back to the official and players then started leaving the lane. The official then granted the time out. Then everything went down the tubes.


Just to be clear, I don't know how much clearer we can be.

The timeout is granted to the coach, whether he has one or not.

If he doesn't, it's a technical foul as well.

The FT shooter will still get both FTs.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 717107)
How do you know the official granted the time-out <font color = red>then</font>? He may have granted the timeout request while the free throw shooter still held the ball. He administered the subsequent play that way according to your description. By rule the time-out is granted not when the whistle goes but when the official recognizes and grants the time-out request. There's always some kind of time lag...usually small...between granting the timeout and blowing the whistle to signify that granting.

+1, and his internal debate (who called that) may have been interrupted and sped up by the players leaving the lane.

As quickly as this all likely happened, I'm happy with the resolution.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717099)
The bottom line is, in my opinion, there are circumstances in which a coach may yell for a timeout, either when he has none, or when it would not be properly granted, or both, and it may still be neither illegal nor unsporting. The coach may start yelling intentionally early to make sure he gets it as soon as possible. Even the case play has slack in it. It specifies verbal tactics by a player. The coach may yell "Timeout" to get the attention of an official, then when he gets it, says, "After the free throw." The shooter hears timeout, tosses the ball away, then what?

Benefit to the shooter, and not to the coach, whose reaction indicated (not proved) he knew exactly what he was doing.

Adam Sun Jan 16, 2011 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717111)
In this case, I think if the timeout was not granted until after the shooter threw the ball away, it should not be granted unless he asked for it again. It's disconcertion or an improperly granted timeout, not both. If it comes to light afterward that it was all a tactic and was intentionally done and you want to T the coach for that, that's different.

If you do the timeout, the disconcertion is moot. It can, however, be unsporting and disconcertion.

They could conceivably have gone with two Ts here. One for unsporting, the other for excessive TO; although that goes against the philosophy of one foul for one act.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 16, 2011 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717127)
Benefit to the shooter, and not to the coach, whose reaction indicated (not proved) he knew exactly what he was doing.

And +1 back at ya.....:D

The Golden Rule is always penalize the azzholes who are giving you problems( aka penalize whomever might try to get an unfair advantage not intended by rule in any situations like this).

Nevadaref Sun Jan 16, 2011 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717121)
By the way, exactly when a timeout is granted is not defined in the rules. An editorial revision is needed.

It when the whistle is sounded. That is the only logical reason for the timer to stop the clock and the players to cease action. It is also the only one of the rules under 6-7 for making the ball dead which applies to time-out requests during a live ball.

just another ref Sun Jan 16, 2011 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 717142)
It when the whistle is sounded. That is the only logical reason for the timer to stop the clock and the players to cease action. It is also the only one of the rules under 6-7 for making the ball dead which applies to time-out requests during a live ball.

When I suggested something to this effect once, an angry mob formed.

Rich Sun Jan 16, 2011 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 717142)
It when the whistle is sounded. That is the only logical reason for the timer to stop the clock and the players to cease action. It is also the only one of the rules under 6-7 for making the ball dead which applies to time-out requests during a live ball.

Here we go again. Can I just summarize the argument that will now ensue so we can all skip having it?

"No, it isn't."

"Yes, it is."

Thank you.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 717163)
Here we go again. Can I just summarize the argument that will now ensue so we can all skip having it?

"No, it isn't."

"Yes, it is."

Thank you.

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra.../smilielol.gif

Thanks for that, Rich.

BillyMac Mon Jan 17, 2011 07:33am

Here We Go Again ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 717163)
Here we go again. Can I just summarize the argument that will now ensue so we can all skip having it?

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/z_zDcQV6_6k?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/z_zDcQV6_6k?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2011 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 717163)
Here we go again. Can I just summarize the argument that will now ensue so we can all skip having it?

"No, it isn't."

"Yes, it is."

Thank you.

You're welcome.

Consider it skipped.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 17, 2011 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717128)
If you do the timeout, the disconcertion is moot. It can, however, be unsporting and disconcertion.

Not necessarily. If you have disconcertion (delayed) and have the timeout before A1 shoots, the delayed violation carries through the timeout and the first shot will resume with a delayed violation pending. A timeout doesn't erase a delayed violation.

Adam Mon Jan 17, 2011 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 717537)
Not necessarily. If you have disconcertion (delayed) and have the timeout before A1 shoots, the delayed violation carries through the timeout and the first shot will resume with a delayed violation pending. A timeout doesn't erase a delayed violation.

Good point, I'd forgotten about that.

just another ref Mon Jan 17, 2011 03:02pm

If you granted the timeout, there's no disconcertion, because there's no free throw.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2011 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717553)
If you granted the timeout, there's no disconcertion, because there's no free throw.

Soooooooo........

Case book play 9.1.3SitC doesn't exist, same as 4.19.8SitC?

Got it.

What color is the sky in your world, BITS?

just another ref Mon Jan 17, 2011 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 717564)
Soooooooo........

Case book play 9.1.3SitC doesn't exist, same as 4.19.8SitC?

Got it.

What color is the sky in your world, BITS?


If the timeout was granted when requested, the ball was dead, so there was no violation.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2011 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717567)
If the timeout was granted when requested, the ball was dead, so there was no violation.

Did you even bother to read that case play cited? The rules say that statement is wrong.

Adam Mon Jan 17, 2011 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717567)
If the timeout was granted when requested, the ball was dead, so there was no violation.

Wrong. There's nothing that prevents you from both granting the request and ruling the request itself to be disconcertion. As the case play states, the delayed violation would then carry over to the FT following the TO.

just another ref Mon Jan 17, 2011 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 717569)
Did you even bother to read that case play cited? The rules say that statement is wrong.

I'm not talking about the case play, I'm talking about the situation at hand, to which this case play does not apply. In the OP, if you consider the coach's timeout request to be disconcertion, (I don't) then when the shooter throws the ball to the official, the disconcertion is penalized. If you choose to (improperly) grant this bogus timeout request by the devious coach, then the ball is dead, so there is no violation by anybody.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2011 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717574)
I'm not talking about the case play, I'm talking about the situation at hand, to which this case play does not apply. In the OP, if you consider the coach's timeout request to be disconcertion, (I don't) then when the shooter throws the ball to the official, the disconcertion is penalized. If you choose to (improperly) grant this bogus timeout request by the devious coach, then the ball is dead, so there is no violation by anybody.

It's kinda hard to figure something like that out, BITS, when you don't point it out and you also respond directly to 2 posts by Snaqs and me talking about something different.

And the biggest difference/problem in that discussion is that in the case play considering a player's wrongful TO request as disconcertion (9.1.3SIB COMMENT ), there was no TO granted. If you had granted the TO, you would also have to penalize that team for taking an excess TO. Instead, you don't grant the TO and call the disconcertion instead.

Two different case plays for two different situations iow....one with a timeout granted and one with no TO granted but disconcertion called instead of granting the TO.

just another ref Mon Jan 17, 2011 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 717597)
It's kinda hard to figure something like that out, BITS, when you don't point it out and you also respond directly to 2 posts by Snaqs and me talking about something different.

And the biggest difference/problem in that discussion is that in the case play considering a player's wrongful TO request as disconcertion (9.1.3SIB COMMENT ), there was no TO granted. If you had granted the TO, you would also have to penalize that team for taking an excess TO. Instead, you don't grant the TO and call the disconcertion instead.

Two different case plays for two different situations iow....one with a timeout granted and one with no TO granted but disconcertion called instead of granting the TO.

Okay, I may have wandered on one post or the other about what we were talking about.

Bottom line: The bogus timeout can either be ignored, considered to be disconcertion and penalized accordingly, or granted, and penalized with the T if that team had no timeouts.

But only one of those 3 options, agreed?

Adam Mon Jan 17, 2011 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717609)
Okay, I may have wandered on one post or the other about what we were talking about.

Bottom line: The bogus timeout can either be ignored, considered to be disconcertion an penalized accordingly, or granted, and penalized with the T if that team had no timeouts.

But only one of those 3 options, agreed?

I disagree. As stated before, I see no reason you can't rule the request to be disconcertion at the same time you grant the request.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2011 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 717609)
Bottom line: The bogus timeout can either be ignored, considered to be disconcertion and penalized accordingly, or granted, and penalized with the T if that team had no timeouts.

But only one of those 3 options, agreed?

Yup, I agree.

The TO request can be ignored in that situation because it's invalid by rule anyway. Or we can consider the TO request as disconcertion if it affected the FT, not grant that TO request and then penalize the request accordingly as disconcertion. Or if we granted the TO by mistake, we'd then penalize the excess TO with the thrower getting the FT's again anyway because the ball was dead on the request.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2011 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 717617)
I disagree. As stated before, I see no reason you can't rule the request to be disconcertion at the same time you grant the request.

I can. It is disconcertion if you don't grant the TO request and the free thrower violated because of that TO request. It isn't disconcertion if you wrongfully grant the TO request before the FT shooter violates. It's just a dead ball and the FT shooter then gets all of his merited FTs anyway.

Make sense?

Raymond Mon Jan 17, 2011 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 717627)
I can. It is disconcertion if you don't grant the TO request and the free thrower violated because of that TO request. It isn't disconcertion if you wrongfully grant the TO request before the FT shooter violates. It's just a dead ball and the FT shooter then gets all of his merited FTs anyway.

Make sense?

Sure makes sense to me :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 717031)
I'm only going with 1 of 2 things here:

1.) Disconcertion on Coach B, ignore the violation, and A1 getting 2 free throws.

or

2.) Unsporting T on Coach B, which means ball became dead immediately, A1 gets 2 free throws, any A player gets 2 more free throws, Team A gets a throw-in at half court.

In either situation I'm not penalizing for an excess time-out as I would never have recognized the time-out request since there was Team A control.

I'm thinking all parties and my supervisors would live with #1.


Adam Mon Jan 17, 2011 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 717627)
I can. It is disconcertion if you don't grant the TO request and the free thrower violated because of that TO request. It isn't disconcertion if you wrongfully grant the TO request before the FT shooter violates. It's just a dead ball and the FT shooter then gets all of his merited FTs anyway.

Make sense?

Yeah, I can see it. No common sense justification for calling disconcertion when the act that caused it caused the ball to become dead immediately.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1