The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical foul Overtime (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60430-technical-foul-overtime.html)

Zoochy Mon Jan 10, 2011 09:52am

Technical foul Overtime
 
What are the NCAA and NFHS rulings?

A1 scores a basket just as time expires to tie the game. The Ball travels through the basket and B1 grabs the ball and SLAMS it to the ground. B1 is assessed a Technical foul. When do you shoot the Free Throws? Are they part of the 4th quarter? Or does OT begin with shooting the Free throws? Is there a jump Ball?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:03am

NFHS...see case book play 5.6COMMENT B.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 714023)
What are the NCAA and NFHS rulings?

A1 scores a basket just as time expires to tie the game. The Ball travels through the basket and B1 grabs the ball and SLAMS it to the ground. B1 is assessed a Technical foul. When do you shoot the Free Throws? Are they part of the 4th quarter? Or does OT begin with shooting the Free throws? Is there a jump Ball?


Zoochy:

JR referenced NFHS Casebook Play 5.6 Comment B: If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws. This applies even when the foul occurs after the first half has ended. It also applies when the foul occurs after the second half has ended, provided the score is tied. If the score is not tied, the free throws are administered unless the outcome of the game will not be affected. If the outcome is not already decided, the free throws are attempted immediately as if the foul had been a part of the fourth quarter. In this case, if any overtime period is necessary, it will start with a jump ball. The division line throw-in following the technical foul cannot be carried over
to the overtime as the fourth quarter ended with the last free throw. (R5-S6-A4)

I have a couple of questions. (1) When B1 slammed the ball to the floor, did the ball go from his hands to the floor and then directly back to his hands or did it go into the stratosphere after making contact with the floor? (2) Was B1's slamming the ball to the floor, one of frustration due to the fact that Team A had sent the game into overtime or because he was upset with the officiating.

I am sure that this is a play where one HTBT, but it sounds like it could have been overlooked.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 714023)
What are the NCAA and NFHS rulings?

A1 scores a basket just as time expires to tie the game. The Ball travels through the basket and B1 grabs the ball and SLAMS it to the ground. B1 is assessed a Technical foul. When do you shoot the Free Throws? Are they part of the 4th quarter? Or does OT begin with shooting the Free throws? Is there a jump Ball?


Zooch, the 4th qtr. ended when the horn sounded. The score is tied, so OT is required.

The T came after the horn, so the OT is started with the FTs and A gets the ball for the throw-in. No jump ball.

Zoochy Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:26am

This play did happen, but not in my game. I am guessing the ball bounced really high. Even I asked the question, could the Technical been overlooked. I did find the NFHS case play. Since the people involved did not believe my ruling, I am using this site as a vehicle for my support.
Also, I am would like to know if NCAA, men or women, have a different ruling?

deecee Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:11pm

this sounds like a bad T. Kid is unhappy that their defense failed, no harm or intent meant.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 714054)
This play did happen, but not in my game. I am guessing the ball bounced really high. Even I asked the question, could the Technical been overlooked. I did find the NFHS case play. Since the people involved did not believe my ruling, I am using this site as a vehicle for my support.
Also, I am would like to know if NCAA, men or women, have a different ruling?

This site is "more believable" than the case book?

In NCAA, the T is still shot as part of the OT. In NCAAW, we would then go to the POI, which is the jump ball to resume the OT.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714069)
this sounds like a bad T. Kid is unhappy that their defense failed, no harm or intent meant.

Kid has a right to be unhappy. S/he needs to learn to express it appropriately.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 714054)
Since the people involved did not believe my ruling, I am using this site as a vehicle for my support.

Uh-oh...how did they handle it?

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714069)
this sounds like a bad T. Kid is unhappy that their defense failed, no harm or intent meant.

It makes no difference plus, we have no idea why the kid's mad. He may be steamed over a call that was made before the tying shot. Kids have to learn to control their emotions. Had he just slammed the ball and caught it, no biggie. But when he slams it and it bounces high into mthe air for everyone to see, WHACK!

deecee Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 714072)
Kid has a right to be unhappy. S/he needs to learn to express it appropriately.

Bob I do agree with you about the right and that they need to express it differently but I do not think that this is a warranted T. However i quick 5 second chat once things calm down a bit will help and teach them more than a T here will.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714077)
Bob I do agree with you about the right and that they need to express it differently but I do not think that this is a warranted T.

Ah! So you were there?

deecee Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 714079)
Ah! So you were there?

No I wasn't I was going by the OP and 1 assumption based on years of playing, coaching and officiating. Albeit my assumption does have margin for error but how the question was posed and from past experiences I came to my assumption that it was player frustration that they lost their 2 point lead at the buzzer. If its for an unsporting act then I am wrong in my assumption.

tref Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714077)
Bob I do agree with you about the right and that they need to express it differently but I do not think that this is a warranted T. However i quick 5 second chat once things calm down a bit will help and teach them more than a T here will.

Coaches teach... officials enforce rules.

Adam Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 714079)
Ah! So you were there?

so maybe he could tell us just how he screwed up the administration.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714084)
No I wasn't I was going by the OP and 1 assumption based on years of playing, coaching and officiating. Albeit my assumption does have margin for error but how the question was posed and from past experiences I came to my assumption that it was player frustration that they lost their 2 point lead at the buzzer. If its for an unsporting act then I am wrong in my assumption.

I agree that it's possible that the T wasn't warranted. But, it's at least equally likely that it was.

The questions to ask are those that Mark D. asked in post #3, and until they are answered I would give the benefit of the doubt to the official.

Besides, the question was about "what to do" not "whether to issue the T."

Adam Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714077)
Bob I do agree with you about the right and that they need to express it differently but I do not think that this is a warranted T. However i quick 5 second chat once things calm down a bit will help and teach them more than a T here will.

Oh, I don't know. A T is a pretty teachable moment, too.

I don't know whether I'd have called it or not, but I'm certainly not going to sh1t on an official who decided it was worthy of a T.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714084)
No I wasn't I was going by the OP and 1 assumption based on years of playing, coaching and officiating. Albeit my assumption does have margin for error but how the question was posed and from past experiences I came to my assumption that it was player frustration that they lost their 2 point lead at the buzzer. If its for an unsporting act then I am wrong in my assumption.

The questions I read were:

When do you shoot the Free Throws?
Are they part of the 4th quarter?
Or does OT begin with shooting the Free throws?
Is there a jump Ball?

:)

deecee Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:54pm

I agree with whats been said and I didn't mean to crap on the officials decision, i believe the OP's questions were answered and I didn't intend on my opinion of the call to stir up such a discussion.

shoot em in OT and the T determines who starts with the ball and the possession arrow.

Zoochy Mon Jan 10, 2011 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 714072)
This site is "more believable" than the case book?

In NCAA, the T is still shot as part of the OT. In NCAAW, we would then go to the POI, which is the jump ball to resume the OT.



Kid has a right to be unhappy. S/he needs to learn to express it appropriately.

This play was a discussion amongst a few officials. To DeeCee, the official did believe that the action was worth a 'T'. So, while we are in discussion, I get out the case book and read the words from the book. An official responds back, 'I'll have to read the rule book, because there is a rule that contradicts this case play':confused:
YES! This site can be more believable, as well as it supports the Rule and Case book.

A Pennsylvania Coach Mon Jan 10, 2011 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 714036)
Zooch, the 4th qtr. ended when the horn sounded. The score is tied, so OT is required.

The T came after the horn, so the OT is started with the FTs and A gets the ball for the throw-in. No jump ball.

Nitpick: I believe the 4th quarter ended when try ended, which was when the ball passed completely through the ring and net.

26 Year Gap Mon Jan 10, 2011 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 714191)
Nitpick: I believe the 4th quarter ended when try ended, which was when the ball passed completely through the ring and net.

Or the ball remained 'live' until it passed through the net completely. The period ended on the horn. Otherwise, any fouls that occurred after the horn, but before the ball became dead, would need to be considered.

Back In The Saddle Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 714198)
Or the ball remained 'live' until it passed through the net completely. The period ended on the horn. Otherwise, any fouls that occurred after the horn, but before the ball became dead, would need to be considered.

Why wouldn't you consider such fouls at the end of a period. You'd consider them on any other shot. Wouldn't you?

Each quarter or extra period ends when the signal illuminates or sounds indicating time has expired, as in 1-14.
EXCEPTIONS:
1. If the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or extra period
ends when the try or tap ends.

The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.

Adam Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 714198)
Or the ball remained 'live' until it passed through the net completely. The period ended on the horn. Otherwise, any fouls that occurred after the horn, but before the ball became dead, would need to be considered.

5-6-2 exception 1
The quarter is over when the try ends.

Back In The Saddle Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 714208)
5-6-2 exception 1
The quarter is over when the try ends.

I'm surprised nobody posted that before now. :D

Adam Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 714210)
I'm surprised nobody posted that before now. :D

Someone plagiarist posted it, but failed to provide references.

Back In The Saddle Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:34pm

I hate when that happens. Where's JR and his 2x4 when you need him?

rockyroad Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 714220)
I hate when that happens. Where's JR and his 2x4 when you need him?

Last I saw of him, he was headed out to smack some jacka...errrr, "donkey" right between the eyes.:D

just another ref Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 714220)
I hate when that happens. Where's JR and his 2x4 when you need him?

One should exercise caution not to do damage in this situation. To the 2x4, I mean. It's worth more than the donkey.

Back In The Saddle Mon Jan 10, 2011 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 714223)
Last I saw of him, he was headed out to smack some jacka...errrr, "donkey" right between the eyes.:D

Oh no, not again! :eek:

BktBallRef Mon Jan 10, 2011 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 714191)
Nitpick: I believe the 4th quarter ended when try ended, which was when the ball passed completely through the ring and net.

Hard to believe some of the extraneous BS we're discussing in this thread.

Zoochy wrote, "A1 scores a basket just as time expires to tie the game."

Based on that, the try ending and the horn sounding were simultanoeus. Therefore, the T obviously came after the horn.

BillyMac Mon Jan 10, 2011 07:53pm

Mongo Referee ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 714223)
Last I saw of him, he was headed out to smack some jacka...errrr, "donkey" right between the eyes.

Wonder if Jurassic Referee looks like this?

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/D7ez7WYpk1A?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/D7ez7WYpk1A?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Judtech Mon Jan 10, 2011 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 714089)
Coaches teach... officials enforce rules.

Even I know THAT!!! An official should call the fouls and let the coach teach them how NOT to foul

deecee Tue Jan 11, 2011 01:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 714089)
Coaches teach... officials enforce rules.

talk about a more asinine and generic comment if ever. if you really think that this is an exclusive philosophy to the game and that only the coach's teach then you either don't know whats going on or simply want to make a generic statement that has very little weight.

I would say in a majority of games i either teach coaches or players a thing or on the rare occasion 2 when it comes to the rules. there are many games where coaches and players teach me things. the whole game is one cycle of inefficiencies where each group (coaches, players and officials) are trying to improve on past performances. To state "coaches teach...officals enforce rules" is a simple near sighted approach to officiating that i would suggest you re-evaluate.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 11, 2011 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714408)
talk about a more asinine and generic comment if ever. if you really think that this is an exclusive philosophy to the game and that only the coach's teach then you either don't know whats going on or simply want to make a generic statement that has very little weight.

<font color = red>I would say in a majority of games i either teach coaches or players a thing or on the rare occasion 2 when it comes to the rules.</font> there are many games where coaches and players teach me things. the whole game is one cycle of inefficiencies where each group (coaches, players and officials) are trying to improve on past performances. To state "coaches teach...officals enforce rules" is a simple near sighted approach to officiating that i would suggest you re-evaluate.

talk about a more asinine and generic comment if ever...one that has very little weight :rolleyes:

It's not your job to hold a rules clinic; just call the damn game.

I can believe though that there sureashell are many games where the coaches and players teach you things.

tref Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714408)
there are many games where coaches and players teach me things.

Really?? And you actually typed that out :eek:

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 714408)
To state "coaches teach...officals enforce rules" is a simple near sighted approach to officiating that i would suggest you re-evaluate.

Ummm thanks but no thanks...
My bosses prefer that I enforce the rules & let the coaches teach their own players how to play within the rules. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1