The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   False Double Foul ??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60320-false-double-foul.html)

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:47pm

False Double Foul ???
 
Trail sounds whistle and charges personal foul on B1 who fouls A1 in the act of shooting a three point field goal. Ball does not go in. While the ball is in flight, lead sounds the whistle and charges A2 with a rebounding push against B2. False double foul. Penalize in the order that they occurred. Three free throws for A1 with the lane cleared. A1 is successful on the last free throw. We are not in the bonus for either team. Team B inbounds the ball on the endline, which is the spot closest to the foul. Team B gets to run the endline.

Did we do this correctly?

AKOFL Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:53pm

I believe it should be a spot throw-in from the end line. The rest of it sounds good though.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:02pm

Designated Spot ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 711204)
I believe it should be a spot throw-in from the end line. The rest of it sounds good though.

That was our biggest concern after we got together to discuss the play before reporting to the table. Maybe we blew it? Anybody got a citation?

After the game, we talked about how to handle this if both fouls occurred at exactly the same time? How do you penalize in the order that they occurred? Simultaneous fouls? No free throws? Go to the arrow? Seems harsh not to award three free throws? We both forgot about it after a few adult beverages.

deecee Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:10pm

in this stich why not go with poi which would be the arrow?

Welpe Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 711208)
in this stich why not go with poi which would be the arrow?

When do we ever go to the arrow after a common foul? This isn't a double foul.

Indianaref Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:18pm

4.19.9 Situation A. Sounds like you did it right.

Indianaref Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 711204)
I believe it should be a spot throw-in from the end line. The rest of it sounds good though.

Last free throw was good, which allows Team B the right to run the endline.

Indianaref Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 711208)
in this stich why not go with poi which would be the arrow?

4-36-1

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:37pm

4.19.9 situation a ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 711211)
4.19.9 Situation A. Sounds like you did it right.

A1 leaps high and is fouled by B1 as he/she taps the ball
which subsequently goes through A’s basket. A1 fouls B2 in returning to the floor.
RULING: This is a false double foul. The foul by B1 does not cause the ball to
become dead. However, the player-control foul by A1 does cause the ball to
become dead and also dictates that no goal can be scored. Since the goal is not
scored, A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul by B1. No players are allowed
along the lane as Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If
the last throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If
the last throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the
foul. (4-1; 4-11; 4-41-1; 6-7-7 Exception c: 6-7-4; 7-5-4a)

deecee Fri Dec 31, 2010 01:45pm

i know, just playing devils advocate.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 31, 2010 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 711208)
in this stich why not go with poi which would be the arrow?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 711210)
When do we ever go to the arrow after a common foul? This isn't a double foul.

On a simultaneous foul.

If they occurred at approximately the same time, even if not a double foul, we go with the POI.

deecee Fri Dec 31, 2010 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 711238)
On a simultaneous foul.

If they occurred at approximately the same time, even if not a double foul, we go with the POI.

Thanks camron that's what I was hinting at. The case play is wrong for this op. Correct procedure would have been ap arrow. If the basket scored correct procedure would be shoot the 1 shot with spaces occupied.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 03:18pm

Simultaneous Foul ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 711238)
On a simultaneous foul. If they occurred at approximately the same time, even if not a double foul, we go with the POI.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711206)
After the game, we talked about how to handle this if both fouls occurred at exactly the same time? How do you penalize in the order that they occurred? Simultaneous fouls? No free throws? Go to the arrow? Seems harsh not to award three free throws? We both forgot about it after a few adult beverages.

So in my hypothetical followup, we're not shooting three free throws? We're going to the arrow? Seems harsh, but correct.

deecee Fri Dec 31, 2010 03:57pm

In your situation the poi was the shot. So what happens next? Free throws with the lanes occupied of course.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 05:10pm

Simultaneous Fouls ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711245)
So in my hypothetical followup, we're not shooting three free throws? We're going to the arrow? Seems harsh, but correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 711258)
In your situation the poi was the shot. So what happens next? Free throws with the lanes occupied of course.

No free throws for simultaneous fouls? Right? What am I missing here? Too much nog?

deecee Fri Dec 31, 2010 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711271)
No free throws for simultaneous fouls? Right? What am I missing here? Too much nog?

Billy, I am saying you have free throws. except shoot them as you normally would with the lanes occupied.

if the other team was in teh bonus then the first set of ft's would be lane empty and the bonus fts would be with the lanes occupied on their side.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 31, 2010 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 711275)
Billy, I am saying you have free throws. except shoot them as you normally would with the lanes occupied.

if the other team was in teh bonus then the first set of ft's would be lane empty and the bonus fts would be with the lanes occupied on their side.

that's not the penalty for simultaneous fouls.

Welpe Fri Dec 31, 2010 07:40pm

Ok, I think we're getting our wires crossed. I was referring to the original play, not Billy's hypothetical.

Camron, I agree, that we would go to POI on a simultaneous foul. I had thought deecee was saying go to the arrow on a false double foul.

Billy, for your hypothetical those would be simultaneous fouls. Treat as double fouls and go to POI. Like a double foul, there are no shots for a simultaneous.

Adam Fri Dec 31, 2010 08:12pm

Someone help me out, how is this simultaneous? Shot and foul followed by a foul on the rebound. Obviously a false double.

Adam Fri Dec 31, 2010 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 711275)
Billy, I am saying you have free throws. except shoot them as you normally would with the lanes occupied.

if the other team was in teh bonus then the first set of ft's would be lane empty and the bonus fts would be with the lanes occupied on their side.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 711303)
that's not the penalty for simultaneous fouls.

Bob's right, if you deem this a simultaneous foul and use POI, you will not be shooting free throws. Go to the arrow if missed. B gets an endline throwin if made.

IOW, figure out which happened first and go false double if you can.

Adam Fri Dec 31, 2010 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711202)
Trail sounds whistle and charges personal foul on B1 who fouls A1 in the act of shooting a three point field goal. Ball does not go in. While the ball is in flight, lead sounds the whistle and charges A2 with a rebounding push against B2. False double foul. Penalize in the order that they occurred. Three free throws for A1 with the lane cleared. A1 is successful on the last free throw. We are not in the bonus for either team. Team B inbounds the ball on the endline, which is the spot closest to the foul. Team B gets to run the endline.

Did we do this correctly?

Yes, you did it correctly.

deecee Fri Dec 31, 2010 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711314)
Bob's right, if you deem this a simultaneous foul and use POI, you will not be shooting free throws. Go to the arrow if missed. B gets an endline throwin if made.

IOW, figure out which happened first and go false double if you can.

thats what i thought - for some reason i changed my mind mid discussion.

simultaneous fouls you go poi and no free throws.

BillyMac Fri Dec 31, 2010 08:45pm

I Gotta Stop Doing That ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 711313)
Someone help me out, how is this simultaneous? Shot and foul followed by a foul on the rebound. Obviously a false double.

Sorry Snaqwells. I swtiched it up a little, as a hypothetical, part way through the thread. Blame it on the nog.

Adam Fri Dec 31, 2010 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 711319)
Sorry Snaqwells. I swtiched it up a little, as a hypothetical, part way through the thread. Blame it on the nog.

Ah, I see it now. Did a lot of driving today, my brain is still seeing snow and slush.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1