The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul Off Ball During Shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60298-foul-off-ball-during-shot.html)

cmcramer Wed Dec 29, 2010 09:00pm

Foul Off Ball During Shot
 
From an earlier thread, the respected Daryl H. Long wrote "The tricky part is if the foul occurs before ball is in flight on tap or try....A1 jumps to shoot. B2 fouls A2. Because of continuation rule it does not matter if ball has been relesed or not. A1 is allowed to continue the try and the goal will be counted if successful. Play will then resume with either a throw in by A at spot nearest B2's foul or by free throws (1 and 1 or 2)."

But....I am reading from from NCAA rule Book (old copy 2003) PLAY: A1 is in possesion of ball and in the act of shooting when A2 is fouled by B2. RULING: Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award ball to Team A at designated spot...

Question: If shot is good, does A2 shoot ONE bonus free throw?

Thanks!

APG Wed Dec 29, 2010 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer (Post 710785)
From an earlier thread, the respected Daryl H. Long wrote "The tricky part is if the foul occurs before ball is in flight on tap or try....A1 jumps to shoot. B2 fouls A2. Because of continuation rule it does not matter if ball has been relesed or not. A1 is allowed to continue the try and the goal will be counted if successful. Play will then resume with either a throw in by A at spot nearest B2's foul or by free throws (1 and 1 or 2)."

But....I am reading from from NCAA rule Book (old copy 2003) PLAY: A1 is in possesion of ball and in the act of shooting when A2 is fouled by B2. RULING: Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award ball to Team A at designated spot...

Question: If shot is good, does A2 shoot ONE bonus free throw?

Thanks!

If the shot is good, then A2 will shoot one-and-one or two shots depending on the bonus situation. If Team B is not in the penalty, Team A will have a throw in out of bounds.

cmcramer Wed Dec 29, 2010 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 710786)
If the shot is good, then A2 will shoot one-and-one or two shots depending on the bonus situation. If Team B is not in the penalty, Team A will have a throw in out of bounds.

Thanks for the input, AllPurposeGamer! But did I quote the rule book incorrectly? It says , "Administer the bonus free throw" ...singular....one free throw. What am I missing here?

APG Wed Dec 29, 2010 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer (Post 710787)
Thanks for the input, AllPurposeGamer! But did I quote the rule book incorrectly? It says , "Administer the bonus free throw" ...singular....one free throw. What am I missing here?

You have quoted the case book play correctly. I am not sure why it says that.

Zoochy Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:21am

This play should have happened in the Notre Dame vs Georgetown tonight. The officials ruled 'no shot'. The player was just starting the 'Act of shooting' when the whistle for the foul sounded. In real time you could not tell if the player had started the shooting motion. But they replayed the foul/shot. When it was in slow motion you could see that he was starting the motion to shoot. The amazing part is that the announcers had the correct interp of the continuation rule.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 30, 2010 01:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer (Post 710787)
Thanks for the input, AllPurposeGamer! But did I quote the rule book incorrectly? It says , "Administer the bonus free throw" ...singular....one free throw. What am I missing here?

You are reading correctly. Few people actually understand the real meaning of this terminology. The 2nd FT is actually the "bonus". It is awarded as a "bonus" for making the first. At 10 fouls, we're actually in the automatic bonus, not double bonus. The rule you cited is talking about bonus free throw situation...one where a player may earn the extra shot.

cmcramer Thu Dec 30, 2010 07:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 710831)
You are reading correctly. Few people actually understand the real meaning of this terminology. The 2nd FT is actually the "bonus". It is awarded as a "bonus" for making the first. At 10 fouls, we're actually in the automatic bonus, not double bonus. The rule you cited is talking about bonus free throw situation...one where a player may earn the extra shot.

Thank you for that clarification, Mr. Rust, I learned something today. Now, strictly speaking, is the rule book following its own definitions here? Could the wording be improved? Rule book says, "Bonus Free Throws Art. 1. One type of bonus free throw is a second free throw that is awarded for each common foul..... provided that the first free throw for the foul is successful. Art. 2. The other type of bonus free throw occurs starting with the offending team’s 10th team foul in a half..."

So the original interpretation I quoted says to, "Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award ball to Team A at designated spot" ... but and I know this is strictly speaking here... one cannot award a "bonus free throw" because that is defined as the second free throw... as defined above.

Let me ask it this way: If the second free throw is the "bonus"....what the heck is the first one called?

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 30, 2010 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer (Post 710843)
Let me ask it this way: If the second free throw is the "bonus"....what the heck is the first one called?

A free throw.

cmcramer Thu Dec 30, 2010 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 710846)
A free throw.

Right, and Thank You, Sir! So the original interpretation should read "Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the (bonus) free throw or award ball to Team A at designated spot""

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer (Post 710848)
So the original interpretation should read "Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the free throw(s) or award ball to Team A at designated spot""

Fixed it for ya.......:)

You administer a <font color = red>bonus</font> free throw only if:
1) the first free throw is successful after a team is charged with their seventh, eight and ninth fouls
2) a team has committed 10 fouls

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer (Post 710785)
From an earlier thread, the respected Daryl H. Long wrote "The tricky part is if the foul occurs before ball is in flight on tap or try....A1 jumps to shoot. B2 fouls A2. Because of continuation rule it does not matter if ball has been relesed or not. A1 is allowed to continue the try and the goal will be counted if successful. Play will then resume with either a throw in by A at spot nearest B2's foul or by free throws (1 and 1 or 2)."

But....I am reading from from NCAA rule Book (old copy 2003) PLAY: A1 is in possesion of ball and in the act of shooting when A2 is fouled by B2. RULING: Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award ball to Team A at designated spot...

Question: If shot is good, does A2 shoot ONE bonus free throw?

Thanks!


As soon as I finish this post I am emailing this thread to Daryl. There will be no living with him now. I will I ever be able to conduct one of our legendary 13 hour pre-games (he asks me a question when we leave Toledo, and I finish with my answer about the time we get to Hartford) as we drive from Toledo to Hartford, CT, for a AAU basketball tournament.

MTD, Sr.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer (Post 710787)
Thanks for the input, AllPurposeGamer! But did I quote the rule book incorrectly? It says , "Administer the bonus free throw" ...singular....one free throw. What am I missing here?

If they're in the bonus, you administer a bonus FT.

If it's 1 & 1, you administer a second bonus FT if the first is successful.

If they're in the double bonus, you administer a second bonus FT wheter the first is successful or not.

Adam Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 710917)
As soon as I finish this post I am emailing this thread to Daryl. There will be no living with him now. I will I ever be able to conduct one of our legendary 13 hour pre-games (he asks me a question when we leave Toledo, and I finish with my answer about the time we get to Hartford) as we drive from Toledo to Hartford, CT, for a AAU basketball tournament.

MTD, Sr.

That'll be your fault for emailing it to him.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 30, 2010 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 710925)
That'll be your fault for emailing it to him.


Tha's all right, Junior has to officiate with him next Tuesday not me. LOL

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1