The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 15, 2002, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Ogg
We've all agreed that on a throw-in, if the inbounder steps over the line it is a violation.

Snip

Now I'm thinking about the inbounder that steps over the line, but their other foot is still on the floor OOB. I suspect there is something about breaking the plane, but will have to look in the book later. Thoughts?
No, there is no plane violation to this. 9.2.5 RB states that the ball can not be “Carried Onto” the court. In the CB it states “steps through the plane of the boundry line ‘And Touches’ the court.” You are not on the court until you touch it.

If someone has a copy of the Simplified and Illustrated I believe that there is a illustration that shows that there is no violation.


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1