The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 14, 2002, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Ogg
We've all agreed that on a throw-in, if the inbounder steps over the line it is a violation.

Yesterday I attended the rules interpretation meeting for Northern California, and now I'm not so sure. At that meeting we discussed players who never quite get OOB before throwing the ball. This will be called a violation. However, the only requirement for a legit throw-in is the player be officially OOB. That means if they step on the line, they are good-to-go.

Now I'm thinking about the inbounder that steps over the line, but their other foot is still on the floor OOB. I suspect there is something about breaking the plane, but will have to look in the book later. Thoughts?
Yes, a player who picks up the ball inbounds, then steps out-of-bounds with only one foot (other foot still on the floor inbounds) is OOB. The player meets the (new) requirement for a throw-in.

But, if the player never lifts the inbounds foot, the player will violate 9-2-11 NOTE. It's still a throw-in violation; the rule editorial change doesn't affect this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1