The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in Reset (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60031-throw-reset.html)

Babyface Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:41am

Throw-in Reset
 
Situation: After timeout official fails to designate spot for throw in. Official hands ball to Thrower A1 which he/she proceeds to run the endline. Official sounds whistle and basiclly gives team A a mulligan and tells the thrower that it is a spot throw in. Is the official correct? I tend to think so because the Official's manual 2.2.2 A.2 states the "The spot should be designated by the administering official." Is this similar to when the official announces to the players during a free throw "1" or "2" shots or even fails to tell them?

Raymond Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:59am

Some may argue that the throw-in should be assumed to be a 'designated spot' throw-in unless otherwise stated by the official.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:10am

Personally, I would be inclined to call the violation on this. To me, it's more like failing to count the number of players before starting play.

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:17am

It certainly looks better if you tell them it's a designated spot. But they still violated.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrapper1 (Post 705828)
it certainly looks better if you tell them it's a designated spot. But they still violated.

+1

stiffler3492 Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:17pm

I've had a lot of players ask me this year whether or not they are allowed to run the end line on a throw in.

Would this be a "teaching moment" for lower level games?

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 705855)
I've had a lot of players ask me this year whether or not they are allowed to run the end line on a throw in.

Would this be a "teaching moment" for lower level games?

Depending on how "lower" you're talking, but perhaps. A quick "you only get that after they make a basket" might fit.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 705855)
I've had a lot of players ask me this year whether or not they are allowed to run the end line on a throw in.

Would this be a "teaching moment" for lower level games?

I always (well, assuming it's after a TO or similar and I'm administering the throw-in) answer that question, at every level.

Raymond Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 705862)
I always (well, assuming it's after a TO or similar and I'm administering the throw-in) answer that question, at every level.

I always communicate the type of throw-in to A1 on any endline throw-in from the backcourt.

Amesman Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 705862)
I always (well, assuming it's after a TO or similar and I'm administering the throw-in) answer that question, at every level.

+1 (especially if the kids has the wherewithal to ask)

stiffler3492 Tue Dec 07, 2010 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 705862)
I always (well, assuming it's after a TO or similar and I'm administering the throw-in) answer that question, at every level.

Right. Not saying I would ever ignore the question.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 705880)
I always communicate the type of throw-in to A1 on any endline throw-in from the backcourt.

Sounds like a good habit to get into.

APG Tue Dec 07, 2010 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 705855)
I've had a lot of players ask me this year whether or not they are allowed to run the end line on a throw in.

Would this be a "teaching moment" for lower level games?

I'll answer this each and every time regardless of what level. This assumes I haven't already informed the thrower to whether or not it is a designated spot throw-in.

What is the rationale for not answering this simple question? :confused:

stiffler3492 Tue Dec 07, 2010 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 705896)
I'll answer this each and every time regardless of what level. This assumes I haven't already informed the thrower to whether or not it is a designated spot throw-in.

What is the rationale for not answering this simple question? :confused:

I don't ignore the question. What I meant by a "teaching moment" was, if the violation happens at a lower level, would you stop the game, re-iterate the rule, and then go on? Or just call the violation, even after saying "Hold your spot"

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 07, 2010 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 705855)
I've had a lot of players ask me this year whether or not they are allowed to run the end line on a throw in.

Would this be a "teaching moment" for lower level games?

Naw, just answer them. It's a legitimate question...no more, no less...and it only takes a second to respond. But if they violate, as Scappy said, you do have to call it.

APG Tue Dec 07, 2010 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 705902)
I don't ignore the question. What I meant by a "teaching moment" was, if the violation happens at a lower level, would you stop the game, re-iterate the rule, and then go on? Or just call the violation, even after saying "Hold your spot"

Gotcha. I'd probably go ahead and call the violation, especially if I told the thrower what type of throw-in it was. You better believe they'll know the rule after you call the violation haha :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1