The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How would this translate to Fed? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60029-how-would-translate-fed.html)

stiffler3492 Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:23pm

How would this translate to Fed?
 
Watching the Bulls play the Thunder tonight.

A1 drives to the basket and his fouled in the act of shooting. He was going up to dunk, and the foul caused him to lose the ball. Somehow the ball went up towards the rim, and A1 caught it and almost was able to dunk it.

Does the shot attempt end when he loses control of the ball after the foul? Or would this be considered continuous motion in NFHS?

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:07am

After a foul, once it's clear the initial shot attempt is unsuccessful, the ball is dead. That should give you the answer.

stiffler3492 Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705777)
After a foul, once it's clear the initial shot attempt is unsuccessful, the ball is dead. That should give you the answer.

It does. Obviously the NBA has different rules. They probably would have counted the basket if Gibson were able to finish the dunk.

APG Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 705778)
It does. Obviously the NBA has different rules. They probably would have counted the basket if Gibson were able to finish the dunk.

Yes, in the NBA, the basket would of counted. Snaqwell provided the correct interpretation for NFHS.

NBA Case Book (2010-2011)

45. Player A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and the ball becomes loose. Player A1 is able to continue his shooting motion after being fouled and the basket is successful. Should 2 points be scored?

Yes. Player A1 is credited with 2 points and will attempt one free throw. Any player who can score a basket in the same motion after being fouled and having the ball knocked loose shall be credited with the basket.

RULE 4 - SECTION X

JRutledge Tue Dec 07, 2010 01:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705777)
After a foul, once it's clear the initial shot attempt is unsuccessful, the ball is dead. That should give you the answer.

I do not know about that as it was asked. I think I get what you are saying, but in this case that might not completely apply to this situation. He said lose control of the ball, not sure that means he stopped his attempt to shoot the basket. In other words the ball comes out of his hand but continues to try to make a shot. I think I might allow that if what I am imagining is true.

Peace

bob jenkins Tue Dec 07, 2010 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 705781)
He said lose control of the ball,

The "act of shooting" (and, thus, "continuation") ends when the ball is clearly in flight. If that's what was meant by "lose control of the ball", then the subsequent grab and shoot is nothing but "practicing with a dead ball" -- issue the T. ;)

Indianaref Tue Dec 07, 2010 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 705794)
"practicing with a dead ball" -- issue the T. ;)

Nice

stiffler3492 Tue Dec 07, 2010 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 705781)
I do not know about that as it was asked. I think I get what you are saying, but in this case that might not completely apply to this situation. He said lose control of the ball, not sure that means he stopped his attempt to shoot the basket. In other words the ball comes out of his hand but continues to try to make a shot. I think I might allow that if what I am imagining is true.

Peace

It's hard to describe exactly what happened. A1 begins the habitual motion of shooting by bringing the ball in towards his body while jumping towards the rim (a la a layup or dunk). As he's going up, he gets hit on the arm, causing him to lose control of the ball. The ball's, and the player's momentum is still upwards, and the player is able to catch the ball and try to dunk it. He missed, but let's say he made it. Would you count it?

Hope that makes better sense.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 705801)
It's hard to describe exactly what happened. A1 begins the habitual motion of shooting by bringing the ball in towards his body while jumping towards the rim (a la a layup or dunk). As he's going up, he gets hit on the arm, causing him to lose control of the ball. The ball's, and the player's momentum is still upwards, and the player is able to catch the ball and try to dunk it. He missed, but let's say he made it. Would you count it?

No. See rule 4-41-4. By rule, a try ends when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful. As soon as A1 touched the ball after he lost contol in mid-air, his try was unsuccessful. And A1 was fouled on that try.The ball is now also dead as per rule 6-7-7 and EXCEPTION c. A1 subsequently is just catching and dunking a dead ball, not attempting another try. That's why you can't count that basket.

A1 gets 2 FT's for being fouled during his try. And Nevada agrees with Bob about also issuing a "T" for dunking a dead ball (even though Bob doesn't agree with Bob :D).

mbyron Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705806)
A1 gets 2 FT's for being fouled during his try. And Nevada agrees with Bob about also issuing a "T" for dunking a dead ball (even though Bob doesn't agree with Bob :D).

What are you trying to do, destroy the universe?!? Bob always agrees with Bob! Anything else would result in chaos!

Bob was just indulging in a rare facetious moment. Fitting that it would come at Rut's expense. :)

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 705807)
What are you trying to do, destroy the universe?!? Bob always agrees with Bob! Anything else would result in chaos!

Bob was just indulging in a rare facetious moment. Fitting that it would come at Rut's expense. :)

Bob is the only one who can disagree with bob.
Sort of like Chuck Norris fighting Walker Texas Ranger.
Or Clark Kent taking on Superman.

That may well exhaust the list of applicable metaphors here.

Rob1968 Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:28am

Airborne shooter vs act of shooting
 
It seems that some of the confusion and subsequent discussion on this play comes because the shooter is in the air when he/she looses control of the ball, and is considered to be an "airborne shooter" until he/she returns to the floor. If that is the focus, then logic may lead one to think that regaining control of the ball and shooting it is a completion of the play, and not a new play. Apparently, because of the foul, the attempt is considered to have ended, and the concept of the airborne shooter regaining sufficient control of the ball to try, again, is considered to be a new play/attempt (?)
I've seen that happen, when no foul was involved, and we all thought it was just a great play on the part of the shooter.

Adam Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 705810)
I've seen that happen, when no foul was involved, and we all thought it was just a great play on the part of the shooter.

And it is a great play on the part of the shooter; and without a foul it would count.

stiffler3492 Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705806)
No. See rule 4-41-4. By rule, a try ends when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful. As soon as A1 touched the ball after he lost contol in mid-air, his try was unsuccessful. And A1 was fouled on that try.The ball is now also dead as per rule 6-7-7 and EXCEPTION c. A1 subsequently is just catching and dunking a dead ball, not attempting another try. That's why you can't count that basket.

A1 gets 2 FT's for being fouled during his try. And Nevada agrees with Bob about also issuing a "T" for dunking a dead ball (even though Bob doesn't agree with Bob :D).

That makes sense. Thanks JR

JRutledge Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 705806)
No. See rule 4-41-4. By rule, a try ends when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful. As soon as A1 touched the ball after he lost contol in mid-air, his try was unsuccessful. And A1 was fouled on that try.The ball is now also dead as per rule 6-7-7 and EXCEPTION c. A1 subsequently is just catching and dunking a dead ball, not attempting another try. That's why you can't count that basket.

I am not sure about that as I am reading it. Again this is more of a what if, but I would have to see the play to say the attempt was simply over. Because if the player was making a dunk and was fouled and the ball slipped out of his hand, I probably going to give that player the benefit. Not saying that is what I would do in this specific situation, but I would not consider the play automatically over just because the ball is slightly out of the hand of the shooter for a very brief moment.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1