The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player starting to fall in anticipation of charge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59943-player-starting-fall-anticipation-charge.html)

drofficial Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:54pm

Player starting to fall in anticipation of charge
 
I've heard numerous partners say this type of thing regarding a block/charge situation: If a player is starting to fall/lean back before contact is made, I call that a block."

How does one defend this statement by rule?

If the defender has established legal guarding position and then leans back, starts to fall before contact (into the torso) is made by the offensive player, shouldn't this still be a charge?

26 Year Gap Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 704250)
I've heard numerous partners say this type of thing regarding a block/charge situation: If a player is starting to fall/lean back before contact is made, I call that a block."

How does one defend this statement by rule?

If the defender has established legal guarding position and then leans back, starts to fall before contact (into the torso) is made by the offensive player, shouldn't this still be a charge?

It could also be an unsporting T.

JohnDorian37 Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 704250)
I've heard numerous partners say this type of thing regarding a block/charge situation: If a player is starting to fall/lean back before contact is made, I call that a block."

How does one defend this statement by rule?

If the defender has established legal guarding position and then leans back, starts to fall before contact (into the torso) is made by the offensive player, shouldn't this still be a charge?

At some point he's no longer vertical and then it is certainly a block.

JRutledge Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 704254)
At some point he's no longer vertical and then it is certainly a block.

Unless you are vertical towards the opponent, then that is not illegal. A player can always absorb or brace themselves for contact.

Peace

Welpe Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:06pm

4-23-3-e

Art 3:

After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:

e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact.

JohnDorian:

How in the world would falling away from the A player violate the principle of verticality?

GoodwillRef Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:12pm

Turn or Duck...where does it say falling is still legal?

PG_Ref Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 704254)
At some point he's no longer vertical and then it is certainly a block.

4-23-3-c

The guard may move laterrally or obliquely (to include backwards) to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 704251)
It could also be an unsporting T.

Rules reference, please?

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 704254)
At some point he's no longer vertical and then it is certainly a block.

Help a brotha out...Rules reference, please?

JRutledge Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 704261)
Turn or Duck...where does it say falling is still legal?

Falling without any contact is very different than starting to fall before contact. Two different things.

Peace

PG_Ref Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 704265)
Help a brotha out...Rules reference, please?

I'm guessing the reference is to "faking" being fouled ... 10-3-6-f

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 704254)
At some point he's no longer vertical and then it is certainly a block.

Verticality is earned by virtue of obtaining, then maintaining LGP. It is not a requirement. You're definitely screwing over the defender by making this erroneous call. If B1 has earned a call when vertical and A1 intrudes even further into backward leaning B1's space while initiating contact, A1 is totally and thoroughly at fault. I am calling PC on this play every time.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 704261)
Turn or Duck...where does it say falling is still legal?

What is the intent of "turn or duck"? It's that the player is not required to "stand in there and take it" for this to be a foul. The purpose of turning or ducking is self-preservation. So is starting to fall before contact (setting aside any argument about faking being fouled).

But if you want something else to hang your hat on, then consider that a defender, planted in the ball handler's path has established LGP. And one provision of LGP is: "The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs."

Falling backward, as Jeff pointed out earlier, is not movement "toward the opponent".

26 Year Gap Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 704267)
I'm guessing the reference is to "faking" being fouled ... 10-3-6-f

That would be the one.

I have also had a 'no call' on this situation. And I had a play like this last night.

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 704270)
That would be the one.

I have also had a 'no call' on this situation. And I had a play like this last night.

Horse of quite a different color compared to the OP. The differences are obvious to the trained observer. Certainly not an 'automatic' in either circumstance

26 Year Gap Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 704273)
Horse of quite a different color compared to the OP. The differences are obvious to the trained observer. Certainly not an 'automatic' in either circumstance

In your judgment. All of these plays are 'had to be there' plays. One size doesn't fit all. Had the player just started to fall with immediate contact? Had he gone a good ways toward the floor? We don't know. But neither of us saw the play. And I also had the word 'could' in my first post.

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 704266)
Falling without any contact is very different than starting to fall before contact. Two different things.

Peace

Right on, Rut!!!
Never truer words spoken

mbyron Wed Dec 01, 2010 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 704268)
Verticality is earned by virtue of obtaining, then maintaining LGP.

Not true: your requirement implies that verticality applies only to the defense, since only defenders can have LGP!

Every player in a legal position on the court has verticality, regardless of whether the player (offense or defense) has LGP.

drofficial Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:13pm

In the OP I was not intending to describe a player faking a foul. It's a player who knows he is going to get run over and so starts to lean fall back. The problem, for the official, is that this lessens the contact. So the question then becomes was there enough contact to gain an advantage, or did the defender's starting to fall mean that no advantage was gained?

I had this play last night and had a no-call, but then the offensive player basically fell on top of the defender on the floor, so we have a "crash" under the basket and a no-call looks suspect...

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 704278)
Not true: your requirement implies that verticality applies only to the defense, since only defenders can have LGP!

Every player in a legal position on the court has verticality, regardless of whether the player (offense or defense) has LGP.

No argument as to your general recitation that "Every player in a legal..." and I understand it implicitly.
My reference to verticality was to absolve B1 of the requirement for remaining vertical and paraphrasing 4-23-3 by showing verticality is reaffirmed by virtue of having LGP but is not a prerequisite for getting a PC call. Sorry you got confused and cited only part of my post.

JRutledge Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 704286)
In the OP I was not intending to describe a player faking a foul. It's a player who knows he is going to get run over and so starts to lean fall back. The problem, for the official, is that this lessens the contact. So the question then becomes was there enough contact to gain an advantage, or did the defender's starting to fall mean that no advantage was gained?

I agree that makes it tough, but does not make it "illegal." I call the contact, not what the defender did to anticipate contact that they can do legally. If they fall back so far and I have to decide if contact was a foul, then that is a different story. But that is not quite what you said and the reason people wanted clarification.

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 704286)
I had this play last night and had a no-call, but then the offensive player basically fell on top of the defender on the floor, so we have a "crash" under the basket and a no-call looks suspect...

I think we need to stop worrying about what others think. Players fall to the ground all the time and no foul is warranted. Especially when a shooter jumps into a bigger player, I am not calling a foul in the bigger defender if they did nothing wrong or illegal. One of the reasons why courage is a big part of officiating.

Peace

Adam Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:30pm

Agree with Rut. You have to decide whether the contact caused the player to fall, or if the defender's own actions caused him to lose his balance. Generally, if the shooter lands on top of the defender, you can go ahead and call the PC. If the shooter lands just at the defender, and contact is slight, you have a decision to make.

mbyron Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 704288)
Sorry you got confused and cited only part of my post.

I wasn't confused at all. I agree with the conclusion of your earlier post, but you made a false statement in support of it. That's the part I quoted.

LGP and verticality seem to confuse a lot of people, and you won't clarify things by linking them.

Cobra Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 704278)
Not true: your requirement implies that verticality applies only to the defense, since only defenders can have LGP!

Every player in a legal position on the court has verticality, regardless of whether the player (offense or defense) has LGP.

Actually the definition of verticality states that it only applies to the defense and that legal guarding position must be obtained. There are restrictions on offensive players regarding being vertical but that is different from the principle of verticality.

A player in a legal rebounding position cannot violate verticality. Verticality requires legal guarding position, which only means getting in the way of an offensive opponent. But during rebounding action the try is in flight which would mean no team control nor player control so neither team would be on offense (an undefined term). But you can have basket interference or goaltending on the offense which can occur during a try. The legal rebounding position definition should be changed to remove the word verticality and replace it with something about remaining vertical as well as defining offensive and defensive teams. With the current wording it can be confusing.

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:44pm

From an old POE that still holds true...

Flopping: The defensive player or screener acting as though he or she has been charged by an opponent, when in fact he or she has not been, definitely has an impact on the game. It is detrimental to the best interests of basketball. The "actor" wants to create the false impression that he or she has been fouled in the charging/guarding situation, or while he or she is screening when in either case there is no contact or incidental contact. The "actor" falls to the court as though he or she was knocked down by the force of contact by the opponent. These actions are designed to have a foul charged to the opponent- a foul not deserved. The "flop" also incites spectators. The rules are in place to deal with such activity and must be enforced. A technical foul is charged to the "actor" in all cases. Coaches can have a positive impact by appropriately dealing with players who fake being fouled. It is not part of the game. Officials must penalize the act.

Try not to giggle at the notion of a coach giving one of his players crap for faking a foul. Far more coaches teach it than tsk-tsk it.

To sum up, it's always a judgment call. You first have to judge whether there was appreciable contact or not. No contact or minimal contact = no call or a "T". If there is appreciable contact, you then have to decide whether the contact was incidental or illegal. Incidental contact is a no-call. Illegal contact on which player is determined by the appropriate block/charge rule.

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 704302)
Actually the definition of verticality states that it only applies to the defense and that legal guarding position must be obtained. There are restrictions on offensive players regarding being vertical but that is different from the principle of verticality.

Actually you're completely wrong as per NFHS rule 4-45-5. Verticality applies to everyone on the court, including rebounding action when there is no offense or defense. And it applies to all legal positions, not just legal guarding positions.

There's nothing the matter with the rules verbiage. There obviously is a comprehension problem attached to the rules verbiage though.

JugglingReferee Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 704250)
I've heard numerous partners say this type of thing regarding a block/charge situation: If a player is starting to fall/lean back before contact is made, I call that a block."

How does one defend this statement by rule?

If the defender has established legal guarding position and then leans back, starts to fall before contact (into the torso) is made by the offensive player, shouldn't this still be a charge?

I usually stick with the PC/charging foul. My interp is that starting to fall back is akin to bracing for the impact.

I've never had an egregious case to warrant the unsporting T.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 704302)
A player in a legal rebounding position cannot violate verticality.

So what then does 4-37-2d mean when it says: "To obtain or maintain legal rebounding position, a player may not:...Violate the principle of verticality."?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 704309)
So what then does 4-37-2d mean when it says: "To obtain or maintain legal rebounding position, a player may not:...Violate the principle of verticality."?

I think you can only violate the principal of verticality when you move into another's space. Moving "away" from the other's space is legal.

Adam Wed Dec 01, 2010 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 704304)
Try not to giggle at the notion of a coach giving one of his players crap for faking a foul. Far more coaches teach it than tsk-tsk it.

I've actually heard a coach (maybe two) get on his player for not taking the charge.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 704312)
I think you can only violate the principal of verticality when you move into another's space. Moving "away" from the other's space is legal.

I think you are correct.

However Cobra was making a big point of stating that verticality can only apply to a defender with LGP. The rule book clearly disagrees, and specifically calls out that rebounders must also respect the principle of verticality in order to be legal. I probably edited the context out of what little bit of his post I quoted.

Cobra Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 704306)
Actually you're completely wrong as per NFHS rule 4-45-5. Verticality applies to everyone on the court, including rebounding action when there is no offense or defense. And it applies to all legal positions, not just legal guarding positions.

No, I'm not wrong. To have verticality legal guarding position must be obtained.

Verticality applies to a legal position. Following are the basic components of the
principle of verticality:
ART. 1 . . . Legal guarding position must be obtained initially and movement
thereafter must be legal.

The definition of guarding is "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent."

So in order in order to guard someone you must be on defense. The principle of verticality says legal guarding position must be obtained. The offense can't obtain legal guarding position so the prinicple of verticality only applies to the defense.

4-45-5 deals with the defender maintaining verticality and being fouled. It doesn't say anything about verticality applying to the offense.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 704306)
including rebounding action when there is no offense or defense

Then how can there be goaltending or basket interference on the offensive team? Team control is not the same as being on offense. You obviously didn't read my post as I said that the rules should be changed to correct these problems.

And you might not want to argue with me about definitions anymore. Last week you didn't know the difference between a common foul and a personal foul and then now you don't know the definition of verticality nor the guarding definition.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 704309)
So what then does 4-37-2d mean when it says: "To obtain or maintain legal rebounding position, a player may not:...Violate the principle of verticality."?

That is what I was saying. The rule states that a player cannot violate verticality and be in a legal guarding position. This is a problem under the rules as there is no team control during rebounding action so neither team is on offense or defense.

Offense and defensive teams need to be defined. The legal rebounding position needs to be changed to remove "verticality" and replace it with something about the vertical plane. The verticality prinicple could be changed instead but it would probably be easier to change the legal rebounding position rule.

justacoach Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 704300)
I wasn't confused at all. I agree with the conclusion of your earlier post, but you made a false statement in support of it. That's the part I quoted.

LGP and verticality seem to confuse a lot of people, and you won't clarify things by linking them.

The FED certainly has no compunction about doing so, specifically 4-23-3d, as amplification to your more generalized recitation. The OP was most certainly about guarding and that was the contextual basis for my mention of verticality.
And by failing to include the next sentence of my post you eliminated any sense of context.
I was simply trying to show that verticality was a result of gaining LGP and that not keeping a vertical position did not preclude a PC call in this sitch.

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 704324)
No, I'm not wrong. To have verticality legal guarding position must be obtained.

Verticality applies to a legal position. Following are the basic components of the
principle of verticality:
ART. 1 . . . Legal guarding position must be obtained initially and movement
thereafter must be legal.

The definition of guarding is "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent."

So in order in order to guard someone you must be on defense. The principle of verticality says legal guarding position must be obtained. <font color = red>The offense can't obtain legal guarding position so the prinicple of verticality only applies to the defense.</font>

4-45-5 deals with the defender maintaining verticality and being fouled. It doesn't say anything about verticality applying to the offense.



Then how can there be goaltending or basket interference on the offensive team? Team control is not the same as being on offense. You obviously didn't read my post as I said that the rules should be changed to correct these problems.

And you might not want to argue with me about definitions anymore. Last week you didn't know the difference between a common foul and a personal foul and then now you don't know the definition of verticality nor the guarding definition.



That is what I was saying. The rule states that a player cannot violate verticality and be in a legal guarding position. This is a problem under the rules as there is no team control during rebounding action so neither team is on offense or defense.

Offense and defensive teams need to be defined. The legal rebounding position needs to be changed to remove "verticality" and replace it with something about the vertical plane. The verticality prinicple could be changed instead but it would probably be easier to change the legal rebounding position rule.

I'll stick with my original assessment. You don't have a clue what you're talking about. If you really think that verticality doesn't apply to rebounding situations where LGP isn't and never was a factor, then I doubt very much that it's worthwhile trying to explain anything further to you. Especially when you come up with a statement such as the one highlighted above in red. When you have an explicit rule that has already been cited (NFHS rules 4-45-5 and 4-45-7) that definitively state that verticality does apply to offensive players, and you still insist that the principle of verticality still only applies to the defense, it's kinda hard to take anything that you say seriously.

PS..it might also be a good idea to get somebody to read POE #5 in this year's rulebook to you, specifically 5E& 5G.

dsqrddgd909 Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:49pm

Do these two case book plays shed any light?


10.6.1 SITUATION A:

B1 takes a certain spot on the court before A1 jumps in the air to catch a pass: (a) A1 lands on B1; or (b) B1 moves to a new spot while A1 is airborne. A1 lands on one foot and then charges into B1. RULING: In (a) and (b), the foul is on A1. (4-23-5d)

10.6.1 SITUATION C:

B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1.
(4-19-1, 4-19-6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)

Camron Rust Wed Dec 01, 2010 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 704312)
I think you can only violate the principal of verticality when you move into another's space. Moving "away" from the other's space is legal.

Exactly...you don't violate your vertical space, you violate someone elses.

Cobra Wed Dec 01, 2010 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 704335)
I'll stick with my original assessment. You don't have a clue what you're talking about. If you really think that verticality doesn't apply to rebounding situations where LGP isn't and never was a factor, then I doubt very much that it's worthwhile trying to explain anything further to you. Especially when you come up with a statement such as the one highlighted above in red. When you have an explicit rule that has already been cited (NFHS rules 4-45-5 and 4-45-7) that definitively state that verticality does apply to offensive players, and you still insist that the principle of verticality still only applies to the defense, it's kinda hard to take anything that you say seriously.

PS..it might also be a good idea to get somebody to read POE #5 in this year's rulebook to you, specifically 5E& 5G.

The POE is just a copy of the definition of the verticality principle except for the last sentence. 5E (4-45-5) says "The offensive player, whether on the floor or airborne, may not “clear out”
or cause contact within the defender’s vertical plane; this is a foul."

Notice is says the contact was "within the defender's vertical plane". It does not say that the contact was "outside of the offender's vertical plane" because verticality does not apply to him.

5F (4-45-6) says "The defender may not “belly up” or use the lower part of the body or arms
to cause contact outside his or her vertical plane; this is a foul."

So it is the exact same thing as 5E except in reverse. Notice again that it makes no reference to the vertical plane of the offensive player.

If verticality applies to the offense then why does 4-45-1 say that LGP must be obtained first and 4-45-2, 3, and 4 all start with "the defender"? I know it is a little confusing but verticality only applies to the defense. If the offense fouls it is for illegal contact within the vertical plane of the defender. If the defense fouls it is for illegal contact outside the vertical plane of the defender. The offensive player's vertical plane means nothing, only the defender's plane matter under the verticality principle.

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 01, 2010 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 704378)
.

I know it is a little confusing but verticality only applies to the defense.

It ain't confusing at all. Your theorem is a pile of steaming doo-doo, rules-wise. :)

If you honestly think that the principle of verticality doesn't apply on rebounding or to a shooter, you really, really need to talk to a good rules interpreter.

Note that I said a good rules interpreter. Don't talk to bainsey's.

JFlores Thu Dec 02, 2010 02:29pm

Had this one happen on Monday. Young man pretty much braced himself for impact by starting to lean back, partner calls the charge. Coach screams out " That has not been called all year", my response " Not sure what to tell you coach, but today is a new day". But at halftime we went over it and he was ok with the call.

rwest Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:18pm

True
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 704258)
Unless you are vertical towards the opponent, then that is not illegal. A player can always absorb or brace themselves for contact.

Peace

This is a HTBT play. In my mind it all depends on the amount of contact and if the contact caused the player to go to the floor. If they are leaning back so far as to require minimal contact to go to the floor, I've got nothing or a block. The main reasons players do this is to draw a foul and that is an Unsporting T as one poster has already mentioned. You can still call a charge when the player is leaning back because as you say they are allowed to brace or move to absorb contact.

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 704781)
This is a HTBT play. In my mind it all depends on the amount of contact and if the contact caused the player to go to the floor. If they are leaning back so far as to require minimal contact to go to the floor, I've got nothing or a block. The main reasons players do this is to draw a foul and that is an Unsporting T as one poster has already mentioned. You can still call a charge when the player is leaning back because as you say they are allowed to brace or move to absorb contact.

Based on what rule?

Disagree. The main reason is to brace for contact. Besides, trying to draw a foul call is not an unsporting T, unless you think it's an attempt to "fake being fouled." They're not the same thing, necessarily. Allowing yourself to fall after contact is different, IMO, than faking being fouled.

rwest Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:38pm

To or Through
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 704789)
Based on what rule?

Disagree. The main reason is to brace for contact. Besides, trying to draw a foul call is not an unsporting T, unless you think it's an attempt to "fake being fouled." They're not the same thing, necessarily. Allowing yourself to fall after contact is different, IMO, than faking being fouled.

First of all let me clarify. I like to use the To or Through principle. Did the offensive player go through the defender, then it is a PC all the way regardless of whether the defender was leaning or not. If he went to the player, meaning minimal (read here incidental) contact then I believe a block can be a reasonable call if the offensive player falls to the ground because of the defender lying on the ground. In other words, if the offensive player fell to the floor because of the "flop", it can be a block.

I don't agree the main reason is to brace for contact. I believe the main reason is to fake a foul, hence the unsporting T.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 02, 2010 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 704792)
If he went to the player, meaning minimal (read here incidental) contact then I believe a block can be a reasonable call if the offensive player falls to the ground because of the defender lying on the ground. In other words, if the offensive player fell to the floor because of the "flop", it can be a block.

Faulty logic from a rules stand-point, as Snaqs pointed out. How can you possibly call a block on a player who has a legal guarding position? A defender can always legally move to maintain their LGP and that includes moving backwards.

Better re-think that one because you have absolutely no rules justification to ever call a block. A no-call or a "T" for faking a foul, yes. That's a judgment call. But never a block.

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 704792)
First of all let me clarify. I like to use the To or Through principle. Did the offensive player go through the defender, then it is a PC all the way regardless of whether the defender was leaning or not.

I agree with this part as a general rule.
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 704792)
If he went to the player, meaning minimal (read here incidental) contact then I believe a block can be a reasonable call if the offensive player falls to the ground because of the defender lying on the ground. In other words, if the offensive player fell to the floor because of the "flop", it can be a block.

By rule, not really. That player is entitled to the spot on the floor if he gets their first. If you're trying to send a message and that's what is accepted in your area, that's different; but there's no solid rules backing for making that call.
Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 704792)
I don't agree the main reason is to brace for contact. I believe the main reason is to fake a foul, hence the unsporting T.

If you think he's faking being fouled, then I'd say sac up and call the T. I've called one such T, in a 7th grade YMCA game. I'd warned the kid, then he did it again just as the dribbler got within closely guarded distance.

Had a JV kid last year try it once. I no-called the play, then warned him not to do it again on the way down the court. He didn't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1