The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 01:51am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Nope, he caught it with one foot on the floor; in the front court. Then put his 2nd foot down in the backcourt.
Yup. A clear violation, although the coach thought the "three points" should apply.

Glad to see I made it to my second game of the season (this afternoon, boys varsity) before having to whack a head coach. Sigh. Now I get to file a report with the state.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Last night we had an inbounds pass near the division line and the player caught the ball and established frontcourt status with one foot (only) down in the frontcourt.
Caught it in the air and landed on one foot in the FC, or caught it on the ground with one foot in the FC?

(edit: never mind. I see it was answered later).
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 91
Yep... BillyMac should update this in the Misunderstood Rules post. His paragraph on this rule says it doesn't matter which foot comes down first... but it does. (9.9.1 SITUATION A)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 09:50am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post

Glad to see I made it to my second game of the season (this afternoon, boys varsity) before having to whack a head coach. Sigh. Now I get to file a report with the state.
I take it you need to file a report everytime you T up a coach? The coaches I've had so far have been pretty mild. Probably just the calm before the storm.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 10:44am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,064
Au Contraire, Mon Amie ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
BillyMac should update this in the Misunderstood Rules post. His paragraph on this rule says it doesn't matter which foot comes down first... but it does. (9.9.1 SITUATION A)
No, it doesn't.

Here's the paragraph from the list:

During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

Here's your case play:

9.9.1 SITUATION A: A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in
A's frontcourt
and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then
comes down in A's backcourt. RULING: Violation. Team control is established in
A's frontcourt when A1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when A1
subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3)

The paragraph from the list refers to an "airborne catcher". The case play refers to a a player who caught the throwin pass with one foot in the frontcourt. Apples and oranges.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 91
Whoops! I stand corrected. Apologies.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 11:21am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,064
IAABO Refresher Exam ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
Whoops! I stand corrected. Apologies.
Mr. Iowa: Your post gave me a good excuse to bring up an odd question from the 2010-11 IAABO Refresher Exam:

15. Defensive player B-2 leaps from his frontcourt and intercepts a pass from A-1 and lands on one foot in the frontcourt, jumps from that foot and comes to the floor in a stride jump stop with both feet landing simultaneously in his backcourt. The officials rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
Answer: No (9-9-3).

Did I get an easy question wrong? I guess that a legal landing is the same as a normal landing?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 04:30pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I guess that a legal landing is the same as a normal landing?
That must be the thinking behind the answer, but I admit that I would call a violation every time.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
I prefer, "It wasn't my area, coach."
Incidentally, coaches prefer that response too.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 08:47pm
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Mr. Iowa: Your post gave me a good excuse to bring up an odd question from the 2010-11 IAABO Refresher Exam:

15. Defensive player B-2 leaps from his frontcourt and intercepts a pass from A-1 and lands on one foot in the frontcourt, jumps from that foot and comes to the floor in a stride jump stop with both feet landing simultaneously in his backcourt. The officials rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
Answer: No (9-9-3).

Did I get an easy question wrong? I guess that a legal landing is the same as a normal landing?
Billy, does "stride jump stop" carry a specific meaning in IAABO vernacular?
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 09:05pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
There's a better way of saying the exact same thing:

"I was watching XXXXX," replacing the XXXXX with exactly what you were watching at that particular time.

Or even saying, "I was looking elsewhere" sounds marginally better than saying "it's not my area."

Or even saying, "I didn't see it, but I'll keep an eye out for it."

Coaches DO NOT CARE about areas or primaries or such.
This is all true, but they are going to accept that answer from me. Honestly I think we worry too much about how they are going to react to the truth. If I was not looking there I see no reason to lie. If I saw the play and did not judge the action to be a foul, then I will say so. If my partner had a better look on a play (or it was in their primary) I will tell them that.

When coaches or players are asking you to watch for something, it usually means "bail me out from myself." Often when a player thinks their being held they want to give that as the excuse for not making an attempt to get away. When a coach insists you look for something, they are saying "please help my team out because I need the call."

I tend to play the same game with them and say something or ignore them. When I usually say something like, "Well I did not see it that way" and I explain why, those comments tend to stop. I do not tell them how their job, they have no business telling me how to do my job.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach asks me to miss call ... 3afan Softball 14 Wed Oct 03, 2007 05:51pm
Coach asks catcher? bethsdad Softball 30 Thu Oct 09, 2003 01:49pm
Opposing Coach asks opposing player....... thumpferee Basketball 14 Fri May 16, 2003 10:17pm
Coach asks a question at pregame......? Gulf Coast Blue Softball 4 Mon Mar 25, 2002 01:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1