The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2010, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 266
9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt is a violation.

If A-2 had backcourt status (either standing in the backcourt or in the air jumping from the backcourt), then the ball has not yet obtained front court status and anyone from team A may retrieve it in the backcourt.
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2010, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWMOzebra View Post
9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt is a violation.

If A-2 had backcourt status (either standing in the backcourt or in the air jumping from the backcourt), then the ball has not yet obtained front court status and anyone from team A may retrieve it in the backcourt.
Partially true... the touching of a throw-in pass ends the throw-in, but a mere touch does not equal player/team control.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2010, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWMOzebra View Post
9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt
That's three of the four requirements. What about the fourth? (Team Control)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2010, 07:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
This Looks Like A Job For The Mythbusters ...

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2010, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWMOzebra View Post
9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt is a violation.

If A-2 had backcourt status (either standing in the backcourt or in the air jumping from the backcourt), then the ball has not yet obtained front court status and anyone from team A may retrieve it in the backcourt.
It doesn't matter where A-2 was. There was no team control.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back judge - back pedal or turn and run stegenref Football 12 Sun Sep 12, 2010 08:23am
Over the back, ON the back RM article Nevadaref Basketball 32 Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:26pm
2 man to 3 man and then back. ripcord51 Basketball 9 Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:57pm
Look who is back CoaachJF Basketball 2 Mon Feb 24, 2003 09:18am
over and back? ohref Basketball 7 Sun Feb 16, 2003 05:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1