The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and Back (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59858-over-back.html)

loners4me Wed Nov 24, 2010 09:46am

Over and Back
 
Hey guys,a little help please... A ball is at A1s disposal for a throw-in in the front court. Throw-in is made and touches A2, then rolls into the backcourt. A2 runs it down and picks it up.

Is this a backcourt violation? Can you direct me to the case play? The closest I could find was 9-9

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 24, 2010 09:51am

Was team control ever established before the ball went into the backcourt?

SWMOzebra Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:27am

9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt is a violation.

If A-2 had backcourt status (either standing in the backcourt or in the air jumping from the backcourt), then the ball has not yet obtained front court status and anyone from team A may retrieve it in the backcourt.

26 Year Gap Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:28am

Sounds like team control was not established, so the exception applies. No violation.

Now what if A-3 retrieves the ball?

tref Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWMOzebra (Post 703031)
9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt is a violation.

If A-2 had backcourt status (either standing in the backcourt or in the air jumping from the backcourt), then the ball has not yet obtained front court status and anyone from team A may retrieve it in the backcourt.

Partially true... the touching of a throw-in pass ends the throw-in, but a mere touch does not equal player/team control.

Adam Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 703032)
Sounds like team control was not established, so the exception applies. No violation.

Now what if A-3 retrieves the ball?

Not quite, the exception only applies to the initial touch; not just a lack of team control

That said, it's not a violation because the ball never had FC status while TC was in place.

tref Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:43am

4.12.6 SITUATION:

During a throw-in by A1 from the end line by A's basket: (a) A2 is in the restricted lane area; or (b) the throw-in is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A3. RULING: There is no three-second count in (a) or a backcourt rule in effect in (b) during a throw-in. The throw-in ends in (b) when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control. (9-7, 9-8)

bob jenkins Wed Nov 24, 2010 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWMOzebra (Post 703031)
9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt

That's three of the four requirements. What about the fourth? (Team Control)

BillyMac Wed Nov 24, 2010 07:31pm

This Looks Like A Job For The Mythbusters ...
 
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

BktBallRef Wed Nov 24, 2010 08:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWMOzebra (Post 703031)
9.9.1SitE is as close as I can find.

The throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds, so the touch by A-2 completes the throw-in. Where was A-2 on the court when he touched the ball? If he was in the front court, then the ball has front court status and was last touched by someone from team A ... so A-2 first touching the ball in the backcourt is a violation.

If A-2 had backcourt status (either standing in the backcourt or in the air jumping from the backcourt), then the ball has not yet obtained front court status and anyone from team A may retrieve it in the backcourt.

It doesn't matter where A-2 was. There was no team control.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1