The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dead Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59782-dead-ball.html)

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:32pm

Dead Ball
 
When A1 has a shot off in the air, what call will cancel the basket besides offense charge?

rlarry Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:35pm

The only time a shot in the air is cancelled, is when the foul is on the shooter(player control). If the shooter lands, then fouls the shot counts.

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:39pm

What if A2 fouls B1 while A1 shot is in the air?

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701782)
When A1 has a shot off in the air, what call will cancel the basket besides offense charge?

Goaltending or basket interference.

Adam Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rlarry (Post 701784)
The only time a shot in the air is cancelled, is when the foul is on the shooter(player control). If the shooter lands, then fouls the shot counts.

Not quite the only time.

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701785)
What if A2 fouls B1 while A1 shot is in the air?

Why would this cancel the basket?

bob jenkins Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701782)
When A1 has a shot off in the air, what call will cancel the basket besides offense charge?

Offensive elbow or leaving the court.

(I assume this is a "rules" question and not a "would you ever call this" question.)

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:47pm

Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701792)
Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

No, not if the shot is in flight.

Adam Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701792)
Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

<strike>Actually, reading the rule, I think you're right.
Rule 6-7-4 says it becomes dead if a player or team control occurs. No exceptions apply to this.

I'm not sure this isn't new.</strike>
Never mind.

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:50pm

So excessively swinging the elbows would back it dead immediatley and don't count the basket?

bob jenkins Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701792)
Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

When does the ball become dead? (Rule 6)

What are the exceptions? Do any apply here?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701795)
Actually, reading the rule, I think you're right.
Rule 6-7-4 says it becomes dead if a player or team control occurs. No exceptions apply to this.

And when does team control end?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701796)
So excessively swinging the elbows would back it dead immediatley and don't count the basket?

Yes, as it's a violation.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701795)
Actually, reading the rule, I think you're right.
Rule 6-7-4 says it becomes dead if a player or team control occurs. No exceptions apply to this.

I'm not sure this isn't new.

WTF? You're better than this.

IS there PC or TC on a try?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1