The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dead Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59782-dead-ball.html)

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:32pm

Dead Ball
 
When A1 has a shot off in the air, what call will cancel the basket besides offense charge?

rlarry Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:35pm

The only time a shot in the air is cancelled, is when the foul is on the shooter(player control). If the shooter lands, then fouls the shot counts.

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:39pm

What if A2 fouls B1 while A1 shot is in the air?

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701782)
When A1 has a shot off in the air, what call will cancel the basket besides offense charge?

Goaltending or basket interference.

Adam Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rlarry (Post 701784)
The only time a shot in the air is cancelled, is when the foul is on the shooter(player control). If the shooter lands, then fouls the shot counts.

Not quite the only time.

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701785)
What if A2 fouls B1 while A1 shot is in the air?

Why would this cancel the basket?

bob jenkins Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701782)
When A1 has a shot off in the air, what call will cancel the basket besides offense charge?

Offensive elbow or leaving the court.

(I assume this is a "rules" question and not a "would you ever call this" question.)

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:47pm

Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701792)
Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

No, not if the shot is in flight.

Adam Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701792)
Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

<strike>Actually, reading the rule, I think you're right.
Rule 6-7-4 says it becomes dead if a player or team control occurs. No exceptions apply to this.

I'm not sure this isn't new.</strike>
Never mind.

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:50pm

So excessively swinging the elbows would back it dead immediatley and don't count the basket?

bob jenkins Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701792)
Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

When does the ball become dead? (Rule 6)

What are the exceptions? Do any apply here?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701795)
Actually, reading the rule, I think you're right.
Rule 6-7-4 says it becomes dead if a player or team control occurs. No exceptions apply to this.

And when does team control end?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701796)
So excessively swinging the elbows would back it dead immediatley and don't count the basket?

Yes, as it's a violation.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 701795)
Actually, reading the rule, I think you're right.
Rule 6-7-4 says it becomes dead if a player or team control occurs. No exceptions apply to this.

I'm not sure this isn't new.

WTF? You're better than this.

IS there PC or TC on a try?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:55pm

I think Snaq is just having a brain fart.

Adam Thu Nov 18, 2010 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 701802)
WTF? You're better than this.

IS there PC or TC on a try?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 701806)
I think Snaq is just having a brain fart.

Yep. Buried myself in the exceptions for a moment forgetting when TC ends.

justacoach Thu Nov 18, 2010 04:02pm

Back to Basics
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701792)
Wouldn't a foul by A2 cause the ball to become dead immediately?

Surehands, the answer to your stream of questions can be found on page 71 of this year's Fed Rules book. It has 19 other corollaries that will definitely enhance your scope of knowledge.....

13. A live-ball foul by the offense (team in control or last in control if the ball is loose) ,or the expiration of time for a quarter or extra period, causes the ball to become dead immediately, unless the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. The ball also becomes dead when a player-control foul occurs.

surehands Thu Nov 18, 2010 04:09pm

Rule 9-13-1 and pentaly says excessive swing of elbow, ball is dead innediately so the fouls by A2 would cancel A1's airborne shot.

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 18, 2010 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by surehands (Post 701817)
Rule 9-13-1 and pentaly says excessive swing of elbow, ball is dead innediately so the fouls by A2 would cancel A1's airborne shot.

Violations are not fouls; fouls are not violations. They are different beasts. Each has its own separate rule (rule 9 for violations, rule 10 for fouls). Each has a distinct penalty. You cannot mix and match. An excessive swinging violation by A1 would kill the shot, a foul by A1 would not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1