The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Unsporting Foul Enforcement (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59662-unsporting-foul-enforcement.html)

Spence Mon Nov 08, 2010 05:25pm

Unsporting Foul Enforcement
 
I'm out of town and I do not have my rulebook so...

In our online state clinic presentation a section was devoted to unsporting behavior and 2 scenarios were presented. The first invovled a player who was called for a foul going to the bench prior to the sub being summoned. The second centered around a team leaving the floor at the 2nd qtr horn while the other team was still shooting a free throw.

In both examples the presentation said an unsporting T was to be called. The explanations kept using the example of the player leaving "in disgust."

Does the rule require us to determine if there is disgust or is it written that it's a T if they leave the floor early regardless of their demeanor?

Adam Mon Nov 08, 2010 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 700018)
I'm out of town and I do not have my rulebook so...

In our online state clinic presentation a section was devoted to unsporting behavior and 2 scenarios were presented. The first invovled a player who was called for a foul going to the bench prior to the sub being summoned. The second centered around a team leaving the floor at the 2nd qtr horn while the other team was still shooting a free throw.

In both examples the presentation said an unsporting T was to be called. The explanations kept using the example of the player leaving "in disgust."

Does the rule require us to determine if there is disgust or is it written that it's a T if they leave the floor early regardless of their demeanor?

I can see the 2nd, but as far as the first one, really? I haven't heard of anyone calling a T when a subbed-for player hits the bench early. You going to do that if it's fifth, and he's just going to the bench because his coach told him he had four and to watch it?

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 08, 2010 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700022)
I can see the 2nd, but as far as the first one, really? I haven't heard of anyone calling a T when a subbed-for player hits the bench early. You going to do that if it's fifth, and he's just going to the bench because his coach told him he had four and to watch it?

See new case book play 10.3.6 on page 4 of the 2010-11 Case Book. That's where it came from.

The online clinic was only following new FED direction.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 08, 2010 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 700018)
Does the rule require us to determine if there is disgust or is it written that it's a T if they leave the floor early regardless of their demeanor?

If they leave the floor early, it's a violation for doing so anyway under rule 9-3-3. :D

I'd get clarification from the state office but you got one or t'other imo anyway.

Scratch85 Mon Nov 08, 2010 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 700018)
Does the rule require us to determine if there is disgust or is it written that it's a T if they leave the floor early regardless of their demeanor?

10-3-6(i) A player shall not commit an unsporting foul. This includes but is not limited to, acts or conduct such as; leave the playing court for an unauthorized reason to demonstrate resentment, disgust or intimidation. PENALTY: Player technical

10-5-5 The head coach shall not permit team members to leave the bench area and/or playing court for an unauthorized reason. PENALTY: Direct Technical foul charged to head coach

Both are new in the 2010-2011 Rule Book.

Cobra Tue Nov 09, 2010 01:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700022)
I can see the 2nd, but as far as the first one, really? I haven't heard of anyone calling a T when a subbed-for player hits the bench early. You going to do that if it's fifth, and he's just going to the bench because his coach told him he had four and to watch it?

If it is in disgust then yes. He is called for a foul and doesn't like it, 2 free throws are awarded. The guy knows there he is leaving the game but he can't just go sit on the bench because he is mad. Has to wait until before the 2nd free throw for the substitution to take place.

Adam Tue Nov 09, 2010 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 700072)
If it is in disgust then yes. He is called for a foul and doesn't like it, 2 free throws are awarded. The guy knows there he is leaving the game but he can't just go sit on the bench because he is mad. Has to wait until before the 2nd free throw for the substitution to take place.

Not in my scenario, he doesn't. The sub will take place as soon as the table tells me it's his 5th foul.

This is an interesting change, though. It'll be interesting to see if I see it enforced while watching the first half of the season.

jritchie Tue Nov 09, 2010 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700081)
Not in my scenario, he doesn't. The sub will take place as soon as the table tells me it's his 5th foul.This is an interesting change, though. It'll be interesting to see if I see it enforced while watching the first half of the season.



I see if it's his 5th, but if it's his 3rd foul in the first half and he is upset about it and goes over and sits down, and he knows he is going out, he still has to wait until after the first free throw! I'm going to T him up!

Adam Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie (Post 700085)
I see if it's his 5th, but if it's his 3rd foul in the first half and he is upset about it and goes over and sits down, and he knows he is going out, he still has to wait until after the first free throw! I'm going to T him up!

seems to me the new rule states it has to be in protest, "to demonstrate resentment, disgust or intimidation." Simply tucking his tail between his legs and heading to the bench wouldn't qualify here, IMO, unless you're instructed to enforce this without regard to whether he looks like he is showing disgust, resentment, or intimidation.

jritchie Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:41am

so would you call the violation then for leaving the floor for unauthorized reason? and take away the first of the free throws for the violation?? just wondering??

Adam Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie (Post 700098)
so would you call the violation then for leaving the floor for unauthorized reason? and take away the first of the free throws for the violation?? just wondering??

Even if you called the violation for leaving the floor, you're not taking the free throw away from the other team.
I'd do what I've always done: try to tell the kid to stay on the floor, but not go plumbing if he sits down anyway.
If it's the 2nd quarter, and the kid gets his third foul and proceeds to tuck his tail between his legs and head for the bench I'd have a hard time considering this unsporting.

Cobra Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700093)
seems to me the new rule states it has to be in protest, "to demonstrate resentment, disgust or intimidation." Simply tucking his tail between his legs and heading to the bench wouldn't qualify here, IMO, unless you're instructed to enforce this without regard to whether he looks like he is showing disgust, resentment, or intimidation.

10.3.6 SITUATION: With 4 minutes remaining in the second quarter, B1 commits
his/her third foul against airborne shooter A1; the try is unsuccessful. Team
B’s coach immediately sends B6 to the scorer’s table to replace B1 after A1’s first
free-throw. B1’s replacement may not enter the game until after A1’s first free
throw. B1, disgusted with the official’s call and realizing he/she will soon leave the
game, goes and sits on the end of Team B’s bench just after the official reports
the foul. RULING: B1 is assessed an unsporting technical foul for leaving the
court for an unauthorized reason to demonstrate disgust. A1 will attempt the two
shooting-foul free throws followed by any Team A member attempting the two
free throws for the technical foul.

Adam Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 700105)
10.3.6 SITUATION: With 4 minutes remaining in the second quarter, B1 commits
his/her third foul against airborne shooter A1; the try is unsuccessful. Team
B’s coach immediately sends B6 to the scorer’s table to replace B1 after A1’s first
free-throw. B1’s replacement may not enter the game until after A1’s first free
throw. B1, disgusted with the official’s call and realizing he/she will soon leave the
game, goes and sits on the end of Team B’s bench just after the official reports
the foul. RULING: B1 is assessed an unsporting technical foul for leaving the
court for an unauthorized reason to demonstrate disgust. A1 will attempt the two
shooting-foul free throws followed by any Team A member attempting the two
free throws for the technical foul.

I've highlighted the key portion that aligns with the wording of the rule. Based on the wording of the rule and the case play, the disgust is a requirement for proper enforcement. If your local and/or state authorities say different, so be it. I'll be checking with mine as well, but in the mean time, I would say the disgust would have to be obvious before I'd pull the Trigger.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 700109)
I'll be checking with mine as well, but in the mean time, I would say the disgust would have to be obvious before I'd pull the Trigger.

Just as long as you also pull the trigger on a (maybe delayed) violation by any player not showing disgust but leaving the court for an unauthorized reason, fwiw I personally don't have a problem with that.

The rule certainly does need some clarification imo also.

Multiple Sports Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:44pm

Instead of getting "T" happy, I really think we need to use some game management skills. Someone needs to make sure that he doesn't sit down.
I would even argue that a good lead official who can see everything, could see he sat down and not administer ft throws until he came back onto court.

Now if he is disgusted with your call and made a few comments and put a towel over his head...... all bets are off.

Delay of game warning - that just tells me that you read the rule book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1