The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double time-out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59591-double-time-out.html)

just another ref Tue Nov 02, 2010 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 699394)
Was the case play written for obstinant officials?

I said that it would cover both situations, but I really couldn't see where it covered anything else.

chseagle Tue Nov 02, 2010 08:30pm

How I am reading & understanding the case play, it's a JIC CYB.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 699421)
I said that it would cover both situations, but I really couldn't see where it covered anything else.


Adam Tue Nov 02, 2010 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 699421)
I said that it would cover both situations, but I really couldn't see where it covered anything else.

I personally think the idea that it was written for either situation is silly. There's no way they'd write a case play to deal with obstinant officials that doesn't tell them to figure out it. And again, the fact that the opinion is virtually unanimous is really all I need to know.
If it wasn't the intent, then the committee would have re-worded it in light of the unanimous interpretation of the case play.

just another ref Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 699434)
I personally think the idea that it was written for either situation is silly.

I agree. But I find it even more silly to require both fouls to be reported because of shoddy mechanics by the officials. This is especially true when, by definition, it is impossible that both calls are correct.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 03, 2010 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 699439)
I agree. But I find it even more silly to require both fouls to be reported because of shoddy mechanics by the officials. This is especially true when, by definition, it is impossible that both calls are correct.

This is where you have the whole thing wrong. It had nothing to do with shoddy mechanics. It is a matter two equally empowered officials having a different opinion of the same situation and both of them having communicated their opinion. Good mechanics just cover up that difference of opinion. It doesn't actually make the call results the correct call.

mbyron Wed Nov 03, 2010 06:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 699439)
I agree. But I find it even more silly to require both fouls to be reported because of shoddy mechanics by the officials. This is especially true when, by definition, it is impossible that both calls are correct.

This, too, is incorrect. A double foul is not impossible, so why not one where the offensive player happens to have the ball? (Or: show me which definition defines away a blarge.)

Not impossible, just highly unlikely.

just another ref Wed Nov 03, 2010 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 699453)
This is where you have the whole thing wrong. It had nothing to do with shoddy mechanics. It is a matter two equally empowered officials having a different opinion of the same situation and both of them having communicated their opinion. Good mechanics just cover up that difference of opinion. It doesn't actually make the call results the correct call.

If good mechanics cover it up, why would the mechanics which exposed it not be considered shoddy?

just another ref Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 699456)
This, too, is incorrect. A double foul is not impossible, so why not one where the offensive player happens to have the ball? (Or: show me which definition defines away a blarge.)

Not impossible, just highly unlikely.

4-7 Blocking/Charging How is it possible for both to happen at the same time?

mbyron Wed Nov 03, 2010 11:48am

B1 moves into A1's path without establishing LGP, and A1 shoves him in the chest as they collide.

I'm not saying this should be called a double foul. I'm saying it's not impossible by rule.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 03, 2010 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 699479)
B1 moves into A1's path without establishing LGP, and A1 shoves him in the chest as they collide.

I'm not saying this should be called a double foul. I'm saying it's not impossible by rule.

A block/charge/blarge is one point of contact that is viewed differently by two officials. What you're describing is two independent points of contact....not two opinions of the same contact. That is two different fouls....either a true double foul, or one foul which preceded the other and made the ball dead.

mbyron Wed Nov 03, 2010 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 699484)
A block/charge/blarge is one point of contact that is viewed differently by two officials. What you're describing is two independent points of contact....not two opinions of the same contact. That is two different fouls....either a true double foul, or one foul which preceded the other and made the ball dead.

Whatever. The double foul I'm describing might look like a charge to one official and a block to another.

Oh, and I'm delighted (and a little relieved) that you agree with me. ;)

just another ref Wed Nov 03, 2010 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 699479)
B1 moves into A1's path without establishing LGP, and A1 shoves him in the chest as they collide.

I'm not saying this should be called a double foul. I'm saying it's not impossible by rule.



The play you describe could not, by definition, be both a block and a charge.

chseagle Fri Nov 05, 2010 08:20pm

Let's just make the discussion easier for everyone. The first one to the table wins LMAO. :D:cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1